Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for vintage fans
I bought this for my daughter who is very much into the "vintage" look! She was highly delighted with it so all is well!
Published 20 months ago by twizzy

versus
42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware: This is the same book as 'Vintage Fashion'!
Whilst this is a decent and very affordable book on Vintage Fashion, customers need to be aware that this book contains EXACTLY the same content as the book Amazon is telling you to 'buy it together' with - 'Vintage Fashion' the one with the Foreword by Zandra Rhodes and author listed as Emma Baxter-Wright. The authors of this book are named as 'Special Contributors' to...
Published on 24 May 2011 by Captain Sensible


Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware: This is the same book as 'Vintage Fashion'!, 24 May 2011
This review is from: Vintage Fashion Sourcebook (Paperback)
Whilst this is a decent and very affordable book on Vintage Fashion, customers need to be aware that this book contains EXACTLY the same content as the book Amazon is telling you to 'buy it together' with - 'Vintage Fashion' the one with the Foreword by Zandra Rhodes and author listed as Emma Baxter-Wright. The authors of this book are named as 'Special Contributors' to 'Vintage Fashion'.

The content in this cheaper book is just a much pared down, affordable version of 'Vintage Fashion' but all/any text and images used are the same. Had this been made clear somewhere I wouldn't have bought it, as I already have 'Vintage Fashion'.

If you don't already own the other book then this is nice enough, albeit a brief overview (only three double pages per decade)looking at fashion shapes and styles from 1900s to 1980s. There's also glossary of designers and fashion terms at the back. With Amazon's offer and free posting it made it good value for money.

If you are already a vintage aficionado then there won't be anything new for you here and if you already own the far superior but accordingly more expensive, 'Vintage Fashion' then there is definitely no need to buy this.

I do think it's a bit of a swiz to not to tell you that it is a rehash of another book and to list it under different authors so you can't even work it out for yourself before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 22 Sep 2011
This review is from: Vintage Fashion Sourcebook (Paperback)
Good price, but when reading through the Shopping Guide it started referring to charts on page 217 etc. the book is only 64 pages plus covers. Soon became apparent it had been rehashed from a larger book. Unfortunately that was the kind of detail I was after. Very quickly realised when looking on Amazon - via the reviews - that it was Emma Baxter-Wright Vintage Fashion: Collecting and Wearing Designer Classics that it has been taken from. Could have had the decency to edit it properly - shoddy - begrudgingly will now have to buy the 'parent' book to get the information I require, so not a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for vintage fans, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Fashion Sourcebook (Paperback)
I bought this for my daughter who is very much into the "vintage" look! She was highly delighted with it so all is well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing vintage fashion source book, 13 Feb 2012
This review is from: Vintage Fashion Sourcebook (Paperback)
I ordered this item and recieved it this morning even though it was meant to arrive on wednesday 15th feb it came 2 days early which is pretty cool !. The book shows various images and information of fashions through the decades and definetly worth buying if your a fashion student like me :D!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Helpful, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Fashion Sourcebook (Paperback)
Helpful, thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for A-level textiles, 13 Jan 2012
This review is from: Vintage Fashion Sourcebook (Paperback)
I bought this book as a Christmas present for my friend. It's really useful as she's doing A-level textiles and the book looks at fashion through the decades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vintage Fashion Sourcebook
Vintage Fashion Sourcebook by Mark Butterfield (Paperback - 12 May 2011)
£4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews