Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Edwardian to Eighties
Although subtitled "collecting and wearing designer clothes" this is really more a comprehensive study of twentieth-century fashion, but that is certainly not a criticism. With a careful survey of each decade and a useful summary showing all its main elements, iconic photographs of key looks and close-ups of intricate detail, there is something here for everyone from the...
Published on 4 Oct. 2011 by Lulu

versus
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars vintage fashion - collecting and wearing designer classics
I found this book very disappointing as it does not closely follow its title. It is an overview of 20th century fashion decade by decade, which I already have in other books, but the 'collecting and wearing designer classics' sections is just a few very sketchy pages at the back and hardly scratches the surface of the subject. Christa Weil's books are far, far more...
Published on 9 May 2009 by Frances Youel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Edwardian to Eighties, 4 Oct. 2011
By 
Lulu (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Vintage Fashion (Paperback)
Although subtitled "collecting and wearing designer clothes" this is really more a comprehensive study of twentieth-century fashion, but that is certainly not a criticism. With a careful survey of each decade and a useful summary showing all its main elements, iconic photographs of key looks and close-ups of intricate detail, there is something here for everyone from the vintage enthusiast to the fashion student. The illustrations are, of course, glorious, and many will want this book just for the sake of the pictures, but the text is witty and perceptive too. As I was a teenager in the Seventies I am especially glad that Biba and Ossie Clark are given the attention they deserve, but my mother, who wore the New Look when it first appeared, is equally pleased with the 1940s and 1950s sections. A lovely resource for endless inspiration or for when you just want to lose yourself in fabulousness for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vintage fab, 6 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Vintage Fashion (Paperback)
This book is a must for any one interested in vintage fashion but it is also a great book to leave on your coffee table for any one to look at. The illustrations are beautiful,you will want to look at them again and again,there is also a lot of reading in the book which makes it good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for aspiring designers, 14 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Fashion (Paperback)
I am looking for inspiration for creating my own vintage style clothes and this is perfect, it's got some fabulous images in and gives lots of useful info on the main elements and features of each ear without being too wordy. Thoroughly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 31 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Vintage Fashion (Paperback)
Always judge a book by its cover and this is what made me look twice at this book.
The cover says it all, a visual delight.The quality and content of this book was worth the price. I was looking for inspiration as I am working on a vintage collection of designs and it has been invaluable. But more than that I just love looking at the wonderful photos it takes me back to an era of glamour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fashionista's 'extra' Dictionary!, 15 Mar. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book....not only if you want to collect or wear 'designer classics'....but a wealth of information for anyone who adores every detail of designer fashion (& how it evolves) through decades. Also, an excellent basic book for any fashion student or aspiring designer.....as it's so full of information, plus masses of superb & detailed photographs! From 1900 to the 1980's ...you'll be mesmerised!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vintage fashion, collecting and wearing designer classics., 2 Sept. 2010
Very impressed with the layout and prints in the book. Whatever era you are interested in you will find excellent information. I am particularly interested in the 1940's era and was very pleased with that section. A book certainly worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Fashion at it's best., 28 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Fashion (Paperback)
For those who have a passion for vintage fashion i would highly recommend this book. The perfect coffee table book. Beautifully written and the pictures are gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars vintage fashion - collecting and wearing designer classics, 9 May 2009
I found this book very disappointing as it does not closely follow its title. It is an overview of 20th century fashion decade by decade, which I already have in other books, but the 'collecting and wearing designer classics' sections is just a few very sketchy pages at the back and hardly scratches the surface of the subject. Christa Weil's books are far, far more detailed and helpful. It is good in covering the styles of the 1970s & 80s, which older books of course don't do, but if you are looking for solid info on collecting & caring for vintage garments, this is not the book to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply fabulous darling!, 28 Mar. 2009
Anyone interested in fashion through the ages,buying vintage or fashion photography will enjoy this book. I bought for inspiration for my own work and am loving both the photos and the text. It has definiely given me some more ideas.
There is just enough for each era (and important designers of the time) to give you a taste of what the key elements of clothing for that time. I would then recommend that when you know when or who you would like to know more about you can delve deeper by getting books that relate specifically to them.
Alternatively I'm sure it'll look fab on any coffee table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars for anyone interested in fashion, 14 Jun. 2010
This book is excellent for anyone who is interested in fashion and past trends. This book has every era which has been influential in fashion and has brought us to where we are now from boho, hippy, space-age ect. A must buy for anyone who needs inspiration. Being at university doing essays all of the time, this really gives me any quotes and information for anything that you need to know about the history of fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vintage Fashion
Vintage Fashion by Kate Mulvey (Paperback - 5 Aug. 2010)
Used & New from: £22.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews