Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tally-Ho!, 1 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Commando: Battle of Britain - Scramble!: The Ten Best Commando Battle of Britain Comic Books Ever! (Commando 70) (Paperback)
All these Commando collections are a treat, but those featuring aircraft stories are especially welcome.

This one has a Battle of Britain theme, but you could just as easily say the common factor is great story telling and fantastic artwork, the latter having astonishing levels of attention to detail on the aircraft. Plane spotters will not be disappointed, but neither will action fans for the dog-fight sequences truly fly - something hard to achieve even with movies and special effects, never mind a few black and white line drawings.

As with all such collections this one is printed 25 per cent bigger, giving the artwork space and ageing eyes a helping hand.

My strong suggestion is to buy this and the Ron Goodwin theme music CD to listen to as you read.

Scramble!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Achtung Spitfeuer!!, 16 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Commando: Battle of Britain - Scramble!: The Ten Best Commando Battle of Britain Comic Books Ever! (Commando 70) (Paperback)
Bought this for my 11 year old son, and he loved it! I spent my youth absolutely engrossed in these little books, and knew he would enjoy them too. A great bargain, considering each singular book currently retails for 1.45, comes in a thick hard back cover, and are printed in a larger print than the individual books.
Couldn't help having a read myself and all the old memories came flooding back!!
A great book for any children (or adults!) who enjoy reading all action war adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to childhood, 17 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Commando: Battle of Britain - Scramble!: The Ten Best Commando Battle of Britain Comic Books Ever! (Commando 70) (Paperback)
This is a product which groups a lot of things together for me, I collect these Commando books and it is good to get them in a bigger batch.
If you like these books then this is a great acquisition, it contained Commando books I had never read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If it gets a boy to try and read....., 12 Oct 2010
This review is from: Commando: Battle of Britain - Scramble!: The Ten Best Commando Battle of Britain Comic Books Ever! (Commando 70) (Paperback)
It is not until you re-read these Commando stories that you perhaps reailise how things have moved on since the 60s and 70s. Those of politically correct sensitivities should steer clear of any of these collections in other words. It is also easy to spot the same storyline threads too - dislike of one leading to respect by the end, arrogant types reforming etc. But these 'comics' are not targeting those who consider Booker Prize nominees lightweight. They are a bit of fun and an easy read for those who do not like reading. My son got his first volume when he was nine and it has helped him to read. He enjoys the artwork and likes to point out the small details that separate the better illustrated stories from the rest. Any war is horrible, but a child reading with an adult may learn a thing or too, even if its is only Donner und Blitzen! For me its five stars for nostalgia and five stars as an encouragement to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Commando: Battle of Britain - Scramble!: The Ten Best Commando Battle of Britain Comic Books Ever! (Commando 70) (Paperback)
Gift for my other half, he was suitable surprised and delighted with the book and curious to know where I had located it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not disappointed, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Commando: Battle of Britain - Scramble!: The Ten Best Commando Battle of Britain Comic Books Ever! (Commando 70) (Paperback)
Was worried about buying as a gift in case they were not in the original format but this did not disappoint and my partner was surprised and delighted to receive them for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Battle of Britain, 21 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Commando: Battle of Britain - Scramble!: The Ten Best Commando Battle of Britain Comic Books Ever! (Commando 70) (Paperback)
This is the best way of reading war stories."History" Great value for money, and cant wait to buy the others in this series. Chris cig
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Achtung! Spitfuer!, 15 Nov 2011
This review is from: Commando: Battle of Britain - Scramble!: The Ten Best Commando Battle of Britain Comic Books Ever! (Commando 70) (Paperback)
I got this about 2 years a go and now I have 5 more big books and about 60 normal comics! The story lines are good and the drawings excellent. Another added bonus is that the drawings are very easy to copy and this also gave me a confidence boost in my drawing skills. If you're interested in ww2, the story lines will keep you reading, but if your a fan of comics, get this anyway. You won't be dissapointed.
Schnel! Get this now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Aug 2011
This review is from: Commando: Battle of Britain - Scramble!: The Ten Best Commando Battle of Britain Comic Books Ever! (Commando 70) (Paperback)
This was as stated and exactly what I bought excellent And would use supplier again it arrived on time well packed and in good condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Battle of Britain, 15 Jan 2010
By 
A. Roberts "aenr" (northeast england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Commando: Battle of Britain - Scramble!: The Ten Best Commando Battle of Britain Comic Books Ever! (Commando 70) (Paperback)
Good stories- excellent artwork, with very good aeroplane drawings.Possibly rather too many evil and nasty Nazi pilots in the stories. Most stories feature Spitfires, Hurricanes and Bf 109's but some stories have Defiants,Junkers 87 and other types as the main aeroplane type. Overall very good and far better than the 'Battle' book of aeroplane stories that I previously bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews