Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational - a must have in the collection!!
I was almost floored when I got it in the mailbox. Awesome work, the graphics is top notch, some pictures never seen. It's like a bible through the journey of Queen (but easy to read).
And especially all the old posters, press kits, pictures squeezed between the informative text by Harry Doherty makes it a treasure.
And like Brian May said on the release night:...
Published on 5 Oct 2011 by Magnus Rouden

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So So...
We've had so many Queen bio's over the years and whilst this isn't really an in depth look at the band by any means, it does have something interesting bits and pieces. Very short and very official version of events.
Published 3 months ago by alan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 49 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST FOR ALL QUEEN FANS, 15 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 40 Years of Queen (AN OFFICIAL PUBLICATION) (Hardcover)
Not so much a book, more a treasure chest.

To quote Brian May from his Foreword 'Harry is probably one of the very few people I trust to speak the truth as he sees it... I know that it will all have come from a place of goodwill, and a spirit of sharing his thrills'.

The writing of Harry Doherty is affectionate and informative. I'd never really looked closely at the Queen Emblem (crest) before but now know its background and how Freddie drew it to represent the star signs of the Members a Virgo (Freddie); two Leos (John and Roger) and a crab for Brian (being a Cancer). As for Freddie originally 'warming up for that future with his own alter ego, Larry Lurex, with a cover version of the Beach Boys' classic."I Can Hear Music"...' I suspect Freddie would have rather we hadn't known that one!

The book is divided into chapters split by Albums and Members and other Sections such as 'The Legacy Continues' All allow you to dip in and out of the Group's history in bite size chunks.

Talking of dipping in and out, the use of wallets and other clever book inserts containing reproduced posters and other rock memorabilia such as the Band Aid Stage Pass is a delight!

The book is large and contained within a box sleeve making it even more stylish. The photos are great and it is exceptional value for money if wanting to buy a Queen Fan something special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must have!, 31 May 2012
This review is from: 40 Years of Queen (AN OFFICIAL PUBLICATION) (Hardcover)
One of the best ever xmas presents. The perfect gift for any Queen fan! A beautiful book that has been thoughtfully and perfectly put together. Loads of fab extras too ....one of the best for me was that letter from Freddie....to read that on xmas day was quite something.....

A fantastic celebration of 40 years of the mighty Queen and a book to be treasured and dipped into over and over!

Don't hesitate to buy it and explore it's delights for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow! An amazing item!, 27 May 2012
This review is from: 40 Years of Queen (AN OFFICIAL PUBLICATION) (Hardcover)
It was great to see amazing (never seen before) pictures of Freddie, Brian, John and Roger! I really couldn't stop reading because it was so interesting! I really enjoyed it and if you're a Queen Fan, it's a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of My Dreams, 12 April 2012
By 
R. Tharp (San Antonio, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 40 Years of Queen (AN OFFICIAL PUBLICATION) (Hardcover)
My book arrived today and I nearly wept with joy. I live in America but ordered this from the U.K. as I read it would include an audio CD of band interviews and a slipcase not available in the U.S. edition. I have been a Queen fan for over twenty-five years and had to add this 40th anniversary gem to my collection. I LOVE this book. Actually, it's less a book and more a scrapbook. Never before seen pictures, tons of reproductions of album covers, concert tickets, posters and joy of joys, handwritten lyrics: Brian's Hammer To Fall; Freddie's It's A Hard Life; John's I Want To Break Free and Roger's Radio Ga Ga. It contains bio's of each band member and includes behind the scene information on the making of every Queen album, including Made In Heaven. The chapter on Made In Heaven contains poignant memories by Brian and Roger of Freddie's courage in the recording studio.

Thank you Queen, for publishing this wonderful book and for all your music which has added joy to my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great souvenir, 14 Feb 2012
This review is from: 40 Years of Queen (AN OFFICIAL PUBLICATION) (Hardcover)
I bought this as a present for my husband. I was very pleased with it and so was he - an excellant present for any Queen fan and good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40 Years of Queen, 12 Feb 2012
This review is from: 40 Years of Queen (AN OFFICIAL PUBLICATION) (Hardcover)
Fabulous book containing loads of interesting stuff. Bought for my Husband for his birthday as he is a massive Queen fan. He loves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40 years of Queen, 10 Nov 2011
This review is from: 40 Years of Queen (AN OFFICIAL PUBLICATION) (Hardcover)
Fantastic book ! A must for music fans , not just queen fans ! 4 amazing musicans ! Best band on the planet ever! Lots of items inside the book !
Seeing is believing !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars husband really enjoyed this, 9 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 40 Years of Queen (AN OFFICIAL PUBLICATION) (Hardcover)
I bought this as a present for my husband who is queen man and he really enjoyed it. He would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun, 7 Nov 2011
This review is from: 40 Years of Queen (AN OFFICIAL PUBLICATION) (Hardcover)
As a long-term Queen fan I had a chance to read many different books describing the band activity, their lifestyles and... history. Thanks to this book you, the reader, can become an "interactive" participant in their lives. It's packed with many exciting facts and memorabilia many of which are shown here for the first time ever. Besides it's really nicely printed and good-looking layout. The band hardly ever support publications telling of themselves keeping in mind some of them could be fairy tales with lies, half-truths or completely foolish comments, but this book is a unique, only-in-its-kind piece of work, well-written and enjoyable. It's a must for all Queen fans and a brilliant gift for Xmas. All in all it's really worth buying by all who are interested in music history. 40 Years of Queen (AN OFFICIAL PUBLICATION) is really official and can't be missed!. I'm sure you'll love reading it, folks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen masterpiece, 6 Nov 2011
This review is from: 40 Years of Queen (AN OFFICIAL PUBLICATION) (Hardcover)
I BROUGHT THIS FOR A CHRISTMAS PRESENT AND ON RECEIPT I WAS THRILLED WITH IT. ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL BOOK WITH SO MANY PHOTOS AND INFORMATION. WELL WORTH BUYING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 49 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

40 Years of Queen (AN OFFICIAL PUBLICATION)
40 Years of Queen (AN OFFICIAL PUBLICATION) by Queen (Hardcover - 24 Sep 2011)
20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews