Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wambaugh does it again
I can't praise this book enough. It is the third in a series (following Hollywood Station and Hollywood Crows and is similar to them in style and content, following a few days in the lives of police officers based, not suprisingly, in Hollywood (the repeated theme being that weird stuff happens all the time - because it's HOLLYWOOD!)

We also hear about the...
Published on 15 Jan 2010 by D. Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting tired
Wambaugh has always been a literary hero of mine, but I think it time he packed it in with his reputation intact. This book, ok, I finished it, feels as though he's writing because he never learned to sail or play golf. Do something else to stave off the boredom, Joseph!
Published 11 months ago by mike samuels


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wambaugh does it again, 15 Jan 2010
By 
D. Harris (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Moon (Hardcover)
I can't praise this book enough. It is the third in a series (following Hollywood Station and Hollywood Crows and is similar to them in style and content, following a few days in the lives of police officers based, not suprisingly, in Hollywood (the repeated theme being that weird stuff happens all the time - because it's HOLLYWOOD!)

We also hear about the machinations of a loose crowd of petty crooks - identity thieves: a rather pathetic would be actor, Dewey Gleason, doing the legwork for his (far cleverer, but bossy) wife Eunice. Though they sound a bit clichéd, they are compelling, though repellant, figures. Interwoven with both these strands is a darker theme, as a young and angry man finds he enjoys frightening and attacking women. All of this comes together in a dramatic climax. There's no "whodunnit" element in this at all - we know all along what's going on, just not how it will play out (though clearly it will end in tears).

So - much of the interest is in the interplay of the characters, especially the police, a number of whom reappear from the earlier books (if you haven't read the others there would be no problem starting with this one, though - but you'll want to read them afterwards) and in the bizarre anecdotes which Wambaugh clearly sources from real incidents (some of these might make potential visitors to LA think twice about going....

Highly recommended.

(Stop press: I think a sequel Hollywood Hills is in the works...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ENTHRALLING, ENTERTAINING - QUINTESSENTIAL WAMBAUGH, 1 Dec 2009
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Ever since Joseph Wambaugh, a former LAPD detective sergeant, burst on the scene well over 30 years ago with a startling thriller, The New Centurions, this author has been keeping readers engrossed and entertained, which is putting it mildly. With Wambaugh's background his stories have an unparalleled gritty realism fueled by shotgun dialogue - he knows cop-speak, which fires every page. His characters are sharply etched making us either shiver or laugh.

Apparently, there's a saying in Hollywood that a full moon brings out the beast not the best in those who make that city their home. It's surely true in HOLLYWOOD MOON as we're introduced to some of the most off-the-wall loonies imaginable. Unimaginable, yes, but in Wambaugh's hand very real.

Trying to look after the city's good and dreadful are some of the most realistically drawn officers in print. There's Dana Vaughn, a super savvy, self-assured woman officer known for having "the smartest mouth at Hollywood Station." She's partnered with Hollywood Nate, a wannabe movie star who's yet to be discovered. Nate doesn't much care for Dana because "she snarked him about his vanity."

There's also another team known as Flotsam and Jetsam, surfer cops. What a pair! "Flotsam wore his two-inch hair gelled up in front like a baby cocka-too, and Jetsam's was semispiked, both coifs streaked with highlights not provided by sun."

Out in the city there's Jakob Kessler, a pudgy, stoop shouldered frightening German who has dispatched runners throughout the city to steal credit cards. He's making piles of money. Thing is he's not German, he's not stoop shouldered and he's not Jakob Kessler. He's Dewey Gleason, an expert at disguise. One thing he's not expert at is handling his non-stop smoking wife, Eunice, who orders him around like a trained poodle.

There's also young Marcus, a handsome , curly haired young fellow who's about to explode with rage. Stuck in a dead-end job, he detests his mother and all other females.

Wambaugh carries readers on a dangerous path filled with twists, turns, up hill, down hill, and around Hollywood as officers respond to calls and criminals ply their trades. The chases are merry, mordant and many in this third installment of Wambaugh's Hollywood series. Movies are never this good.

Enjoy!

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another "bittersweet" book...., 12 Mar 2010
By 
Jill Meyer (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hollywood Moon (Hardcover)
I've been a fan of Joseph Wambaugh's writing since I read his first book years ago. "Hollywood Moon" is the latest - and hopefully not the last - book in his "Hollywood" series. Wambaugh's novels are not police procedurals. There are plenty of great writers who write plot-driven procedurals. Wambaugh writes character-driven novels that happen to be about police officers and the people and situations they run into while on duty. (And sometimes off-duty, too). In "Hollywood Moon", Wambaugh brings back many of the cops we're familiar with from past "Hollywood" novels. We meet again "Flotsam" and "Jetsam", two surfer-dude cops who'd much rather be riding the waves that patrolling the streets of Hollywood. And, "Hollywood Nate", a late-30's good-looking cop - with a SAG card - who's trying and trying to get into acting. Wambaugh also introduces new cops, and, of course, a new crew of villains, who spend most of their time and energy trying to dupe the good citizens of Los Angeles out of money, using a variety of methods and schemes.

Like most Wambaugh novels, this one has a bittersweet ending. Because Wambaugh is such a good writer, most readers feel like his characters are "real" and we feel invested in their lives. The cops and the criminals and the hangers-on are all interesting.

Wambaugh's writing is not for everyone. He's "politically incorrect" to an amazing degree, so if you're easily offended, don't read his books. For those of us who like a little "incorrectness", he's a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fabulous Read, 22 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. R. D. M. Kirby "Dick Kirby" (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the third in Joe Wambaugh's `Hollywood' series; the first two were great - this one is even better. Characters from the first two books reappear - Flotsam & Jetsam are, thank goodness, back again, as is "Hollywood Nate" Weiss. He teams up with a newcomer, the desirable Dana Vaughn and the two of them set to work tracking down the frighteningly psychotic Malcolm Rojas. But there are newcomers to Hollywood Station: the sleazy R.T. Gibney, the vulnerable Sarah Messinger and the rather inexperienced undercover officer Harris Triplett - all of whom I hope will resurface in future novels. The villains are top-notch: Dewey Gleason - failed actor and identity thief, the willing tool for the brains of the outfit, his dreadful wife, Eunice - plus two henchmen who attempt criminal sophistication with varying degrees of success.

The style of Wambaugh's writing has never been bettered; the conversations between the luckless Harris Triplett and the street workers are particularly hilarious and `The Oracle' is present at Hollywood Station to issue sound advice to the young coppers, from beyond the grave.

Whatever any other books you may miss, don't miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a story teller, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Moon (Kindle Edition)
Wambaugh writes so funnily and almost cynically about life in the police service in the USA he is a ex policeman's dream in that what he writes about is so comparable with what I experienced as a cop in the UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never Fails, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Moon (Kindle Edition)
Long been a fan of Joseph Wambaugh and in the process of re-reading and reading any titles that I missed, which to my surprise included this one, thoroughly enjoyed it and the story lines involved as I was in Hollywood at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Getting tired, 21 July 2013
By 
mike samuels (Stockport, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Moon (Paperback)
Wambaugh has always been a literary hero of mine, but I think it time he packed it in with his reputation intact. This book, ok, I finished it, feels as though he's writing because he never learned to sail or play golf. Do something else to stave off the boredom, Joseph!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say?, 28 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Moon (Kindle Edition)
Wambaugh's writing is top class and after a couple of chapters, you'll think you're in the back of the police car with some of his great characters. Buy this with certainty but be prepared to burn the midnight oil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Moon (Kindle Edition)
I'd recommend this book to everyone. Wambaugh writes with guts, spirit, & honesty, bringing social issues into his stories employing cops as his mouthpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wam, 13 Jun 2012
By 
This review is from: Hollywood Moon (Kindle Edition)
If you like the writing style of Wambaugh you will love this book. He writes in a contemporary US style, using all the vernacular language. I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hollywood Moon
Hollywood Moon by Joseph Wambaugh (Hardcover - 7 Jan 2010)
17.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews