Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One to store in the head, 28 May 2010
This review is from: Breverton's Nautical Curiosities (Hardcover)
Those au fait with the nautical appellation of the WC will understand why I put this in the to read while on the bog category. Fascinating, arcane, revelatory, morbid, precise, pedantic, etc. etc. - well really stuffed full of stuff, especially nautical stuff. You wouldn't want to read it in one sitting. Mind you in extremis, perhaps it would keeping you going for hours. A great pick up and comment, 'Did you you know that....' tome. Lovely cover, nice design. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breverton's Brilliant Book of the Brine - Nautical Curiosities Captured., 8 Aug. 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breverton's Nautical Curiosities (Hardcover)
I really enjoy these sort of books but this has to be one of the finest I have ever had the pleasure of discovering.
In each of its 384 pages it has dozens of amazing facts and information.
Not a single page is wasted including the index.

I pride myself on being well read which is short hand for being an know all but I can honestly state hand on heart that over 80 per cent of the facts and figures were new- and so dammed fascinating in reading them - new to me.

The closest I can get to how good it is that it is a written version of televisions QI.

It is well written. This is not a glib phrase I use but I really mean that the author Terry Breverton has really written the book very well indeed.

I had, as an Englishman, thought Britain and her navy tradition would be to the fore in a book about the sea but was presently surprised that the Americans do well out of this too.

The book covers everything to do with the sea from famous battles and ships to fish and cetaceans (whales). From chapters on Ports harbors and bays to Famous pirates, Maritime weapons and Mutiny- nothing that is connected to the seas and that is 'Quite Interesting' is not part of its subject matter.

This simply is a wonderful book that is a joy to read.

If you have any relative or friend that is one of those people who love to dip in and out of a book then this s the book for them.
Recommended 100 per cent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting book which really spiked my interest in certain stages of maritime History. It's broken into a load of very detailed sections with a comprehensive glossary which is very important in this type of book. I did like the beginning much better than the end, as it went into marine biology territory and I wasn't really keen on learning about that. This book in general was concise, information and gave interesting facts in academic-lite paragraphs but like so many books wrote for the layman, it had some gruesome details in there to keep it interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breverton's Nautical Curiosities, 25 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breverton's Nautical Curiosities (Hardcover)
A friend loaned me this book two days ago.I was so impressed that I ordered a copy this morning. Beautifully produced with a stylish cover. An immense amount of most interesting information. A veritable bargain at the price. Buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third book I have of Brevertons and I am hooked. Can't wait for more to be released. I love the format and the stories are short and too the point so you don't get bored. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sea Curiosity Solved, 20 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed Terry's book both for its concept, and for the many surprises of trivia within its pages. A hearty well done, and a book that will not disappoint. thank you Terry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good in Parts, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting light reading. I found some chapters more quality than others, but perhaps that is just me. Overall must recommend in view of price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nautical Books, 11 Jan. 2013
By 
Norice Millen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breverton's Nautical Curiosities (Hardcover)
This is an excelent guide for all nautaical sayings, slang and many other interesting anecdotes relating to the sea. Many interesting and historical facts included in this handsome book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent. And well packaged and fast delivery, 3 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Breverton's Nautical Curiosities (Hardcover)
I couldn't put it down! Just packed with information at every turn, excellent. And well packaged and fast delivery, and great price too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of nautical facts!, 4 April 2011
By 
Gareth O'Flaherty (Newbridge, Ireland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breverton's Nautical Curiosities (Hardcover)
This book is an aladdin's cave of facts and figures relating to all things nautical. Each entry in the book is relatively short, thereby allowing one to dip in and out of it at one's leisure. It's the perfect book to read on a lazy Sunday afternoon, or indeed anytime!
I would recommend this book to anyone who has even a passing interest in the sea.
Very well written, researched and illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breverton's Nautical Curiosities
Breverton's Nautical Curiosities by Terry Breverton (Hardcover - 1 April 2010)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews