Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful piece of scholarship, 19 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: The Landmark Herodotus: The Histories (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book, not least because of the accompanying information, maps, appendices and photos of artifacts that all swell the readers understanding of the locations and context of this fantastic writer.

It is ideal for novices and experts alike, with very modern translation that has been painstakingly researched.

This is about as good as it gets. Its not very portable though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly outstanding, 19 May 2009
By 
A customer (Asturias) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Landmark Herodotus: The Histories (Hardcover)
One of the problems with Herodotus is that there are numerous locations metioned inhis books and one has to constantly use a reference atlas to fully understand the chapter.

This great volume has solved the problem by adding superb black and white maps to every couple of pages with all the locations mentioned in the chapter ,along with drawings and ,when possible ,BW photographs.

The book has also a useful glosary and dictionary and full referrences.

The volume is printed in high quality paper and the cover is very nice, it feels far more expensive than it really is.

5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Historian. What More Need I Say..., 3 April 2011
By 
Arch Stanton (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Herodotus is often called the first historian. His book is mostly an account of the wars between Persia and the Greek City-States in the Fifth Century BC. It also includes an account of the history of the world (At least Greece and the Middle East) up till that point as well as comments on the customs of various peoples. The section on the Persian Wars is very compelling since he wrote about them at a point in time where he could still talk to people who witnessed these events. The first half of the book is rather more hit and miss, being mostly a collection of myths about various regions passed off as truth. The book is probably at its most fascinating when it's dealing with his descriptions of various cultures. Some of these observations are fascinating indeed. At its best these parts of the book read like a travel guide through the ancient world. A common complaint about Herodotus is his tendency to go off on long tangents. That is something that you will either love or hate. For my part I love it. I often find these side points more interesting than the main topic.

Now for the book itself. Without a doubt this book is the best copy of Herodotus found anywhere. It includes an excellent new translation that reads very naturally. The biggest advantage of this edition is that it is filled with maps, diagrams and annotations by historians to explain unclear statements and fill in background knowledge. A lot of these notes are quite useful in understanding Herodotus since society has changed so much in two and a half millenia. The only downside is that (at least in the printing I got) the pages were messed up. The paper used is very thin and tears and creases easily and when they were printed and cut many were folded or crumpled leaving the text somewhat messed up. Apart from that problem (which may well be fixed by now) it was very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful edition, 24 Feb 2010
By 
William (Castlewellan, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Landmark Herodotus: The Histories (Hardcover)
I had attempted to listen to this as an audiobook and found it quite difficult, so decided to go for this edition of the printed version, and I am truly glad I did. If you are interested in reading Herodotus then you really have to treat yourself to this edition. The very many helps make all the references Herodotus makes to places and people so much more easier to follow. Excellent, truly excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent edition in an excellent series, 15 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Landmark Herodotus: The Histories (Hardcover)
Books like this are one reason why I have decided not to buy an eReader.

I tend to buy the best editions of books because I appreciate them as much for their pure aesthetics as their content. This book, and indeed this series, are simply beautiful objects in their own right.

Each page it seems is lavished with notes written in the margin as well as diagrams and maps to give the classics student a better understanding of the events on the narrative. If I were at university studying Herodotus I would want this book simply as a reference, and buy a cheap copy for note taking.

Th print quality is excellent and the paper has a good feel and is not too thin.

Highly Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Landmark Herodotus, 20 July 2009
By 
Jonathan Ewing "Jonathan" (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Landmark Herodotus: The Histories (Hardcover)
juat as described in the advert, a most interesting book all the better for the way that the maps relate to the paragraphs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real pleasure, 5 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Landmark Herodotus: The Histories (Hardcover)
Well presented and well edited with good clear maps and notes. A great book both to own and to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent translation offering a readable text that you will go ..., 21 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Landmark Herodotus: The Histories (Hardcover)
The Chinese say that "anyone with one eye on the past is blind in one eye, but anyone with no eye on the past is blind in both". If you regard yourself to be a history buff, then your library is incomplete until your have a Herodotus. If you're unfamiliar with the text it is an eye opener. An excellent translation offering a readable text that you will go back to time and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Historian. What More Need I Say..., 3 April 2011
By 
Arch Stanton (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Landmark Herodotus: The Histories (Hardcover)
Herodotus is often called the first historian. His book is mostly an account of the wars between Persia and the Greek City-States in the Fifth Century BC. It also includes an account of the history of the world (At least Greece and the Middle East) up till that point as well as comments on the customs of various peoples. The section on the Persian Wars is very compelling since he wrote about them at a point in time where he could still talk to people who witnessed these events. The first half of the book is rather more hit and miss, being mostly a collection of myths about various regions passed off as truth. The book is probably at its most fascinating when it's dealing with his descriptions of various cultures. Some of these observations are fascinating indeed. At its best these parts of the book read like a travel guide through the ancient world. A common complaint about Herodotus is his tendency to go off on long tangents. That is something that you will either love or hate. For my part I love it. I often find these side points more interesting than the main topic.

Now for the book itself. Without a doubt this book is the best copy of Herodotus found anywhere. It includes an excellent new translation that reads very naturally. The biggest advantage of this edition is that it is filled with maps, diagrams and annotations by historians to explain unclear statements and fill in background knowledge. A lot of these notes are quite useful in understanding Herodotus since society has changed so much in two and a half millenia. The only downside is that (at least in the printing I got) the pages were messed up. The paper used is very thin and tears and creases easily and when they were printed and cut many were folded or crumpled leaving the text somewhat messed up. Apart from that problem (which may well be fixed by now) it was very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality and a must read for lovers of ancient history, 19 Nov 2013
By 
C. Clancy (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Landmark Herodotus: The Histories (Hardcover)
This is more a product review rather than a review of the content. Others on here have far better reviews than I could ever write about the content. The quality of this book is excellent, the print and paper are of a high standard. This is going to be a present for someone so I am confident that they will really enjoy it.

P.S. The maps are very interesting and a great addition to the actual historical information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Landmark Herodotus: The Histories
The Landmark Herodotus: The Histories by Herodotus (Hardcover - 4 Sep 2008)
Used & New from: £48.41
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews