Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brief review
Well written in a quickly digestible form. Should appeal to those whose knowledge of genetics has not kept pace over the years and to lay people. Good value for money and merits its title.
Published on 1 Jun 2009 by M. E. Hanson

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Henderson owns the skill of translating complex genetic concepts into intriguing reads BUT....
Henderson owns the skill of translating complex genetic concepts into intriguing reads for people who don’t necessarily share a scientific background. He also touches on some of the most fascinating topics of the discipline, making this book a stimulating read. I found his work remarkable until the point I reached the GMO chapter, a subject I know well enough to...
Published 9 months ago by A. Metaxa


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brief review, 1 Jun 2009
By 
M. E. Hanson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 50 Genetics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Hardcover)
Well written in a quickly digestible form. Should appeal to those whose knowledge of genetics has not kept pace over the years and to lay people. Good value for money and merits its title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The genetic blueprint for success, 24 Jun 2009
This review is from: 50 Genetics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Hardcover)
If there's a gene for writing great popular science books, Mark Henderson must have it. Fans of his Times column will not be disappointed by this snappy and informative book. Henderson cuts through the pseudo-science surrounding genetics to deliver clear, sane and highly readable insights into what is today possibly the most cutting-edge field of scientific endeavour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clarity at last .............Darwin -> Mendel-> Crick & Watson, 30 Sep 2013
By 
I. A. Peden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Genetics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Hardcover)
Having unsuccessfully tried to read, many genetic books, where the author "makes no apology" for the Latin biological verbiage that obscures any understanding of the subject, I was taken aback by the simplicity and elegance of the language of this book!

This book answered many questions:
1: My brother has the same parental DNA as me , why then, are we not identical?

2: Why are only 20 proteins coded from the 64 combinations available from four bits?

3: Why SEX ? all that sweat....for what?

4: If Mendel's pea genes program for discrete colour or height, why are we not graded into discrete sets by height , or personality?

Great wee book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 3 July 2010
This review is from: 50 Genetics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Hardcover)
This is the 1st of the "50" series I've read. Since then I've bought many more. Its a great read, a book where everytime I'd read a chapter I'd think, just one more before bed! If you have any interest in this area, even casual, I'd highly recommend you read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50 Genetic Ideas, 13 Mar 2012
This review is from: 50 Genetics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Hardcover)
This book is written by a professional science reporter and is very well laid out with simple explanations, summaries of key ideas, adequate repetition of information for the layman and a useful glossary. In short I can't fault it as an introduction and perhaps more to the key ideas in the rapidly expanding field of genetics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A clear introduction to a complex subject, 23 July 2014
This review is from: 50 Genetics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Hardcover)
This is the kind of book I read to learn basic things about a subject I do not know much about. When it is a scientific subject as with this book I often gain only partial understanding and generally address only those areas of interest to me. This book seems to me a respectable introductory work. I had long worried about human cloning but this book suggests that the practical difficulties along with the moral objections mean it is not going to move ahead in a real way in the foreseeable future. The book also dispels simplistic single gene to trait theories and provides a more complex understanding of how gene interactions operate. It is written in a clear and interesting way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50 Genetic ideas you really need to know, 8 Nov 2009
This review is from: 50 Genetics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book written for the layman about a difficult subject in terms that are understandable but not patronising. Some scientists and those in the medical profession would find it useful too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you., 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Genetics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Hardcover)
Awesome, everything you wanted to know in very reasonable sections. This is the book I've been searching for, explains everything without a need for another source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Learned Much From This Excellent Book, 10 Oct 2013
By 
Andy (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 50 Genetics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Hardcover)
Fifty topics on genetics are discussed in this excellent, highly readable work. Entries are grouped by them - molecular genetics, nature and nurture, the genome, some ethical stuff etc. - and each of the topics is set out on exactly four pages. You could skip sections here and there if you wanted to, and I doubt you'd have difficulty with later material. There's a glossary of jargon at the end if you do miss something.

The volume is presented in an attractive hardback cover with a nice picture of Dolly on the front.

My only possible reservation is that 50 Genetics Ideas... (part of a series?) was published in 2008, so may not be fully up-to-date in what is a very fast moving field.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why did I order this book?, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Genetics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Hardcover)
My daughter is a young geneticist. 3 months ago she had done her Ph.D. thesis.
This book will be a present for her!
Sincerely yours,
Elena
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

50 Genetics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews