Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading
If you're relatively new to the world of digital photography, or about to purchase a digicam, then you NEED this book - it's jam-packed with useful stuff! Starting off with what equipment you'll actually need, it looks at effective photo techniques for a range of subjects, together with creative tips to help enhance the resulting shots. There's an in-depth look at digital...
Published on 6 Mar 2006 by WigBilly

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but some reservations - out of date information
Cheaper than many books, and just about small enough to take with you on a holiday when you might use the camera, but there are several fairly obvious problems:

In the section about about "How many megapixels", the pictures used to show larger images aren't very informative - the picture suitable for 5x7 prints is about 1.75x2.25, and the one that's apparently...
Published on 7 Oct 2009 by Peter Biddlecombe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beginners guide, 11 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Digital Photography Handbook (Paperback)
I am new to digital photography. I was given the gift of a digital camera with no idea how to use it. Bought this as a guide to get me started. As a first step book it it very informative. I will need to go to a class to understand more of the jargon, but I am pleased with this as a starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jack of all Trades, 16 Sep 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perhaps this book is aimed at compact camera users, or should be as it is very much a beginners book. But as a DSLR newbie I found it too time consuming to read as it's rather basic and repetitive, talks about presets which I've no interest in and is rather dull reading for someone with prior knowledge. Could be good for someone who is completely new to photography.

I bought it as it was suggested as a good accompaniment to the Scott Kelby book. The Kelby book is incredibly useful, fun to read and succinct, exactly what I wanted. I don't think this book was a good suggestion for pairing together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Digi book, 6 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. E. Goody (Haverhill UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Digital Photography Handbook (Paperback)
Another book that is excellent if only I could be bothered to read and digest it! Pictures are good, though and worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars book, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book and I found it very useful to read. it arrived on time and in good condition.

This book proved useful during my photography course. It arrived on time and in good condition. This is an ideal book for those just setting out in photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good book keeping up to date - just., 20 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Digital Photography Handbook (Paperback)
I feel that books with a title like this one must be strictly kept up to date. The author of this one is doing OK just now but he needs to keep his eye on the ball from now on. This book needs to be revised by the author every year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Present, 18 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Digital Photography Handbook (Paperback)
I bought this as a Xmas present for my son. He was very pleased with the book. I must add he is quite an experienced and creative photographer. And for him to thank me for the "Very useful book" is praise indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Digital Photography made accessable, 23 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: The Digital Photography Handbook (Paperback)
Unfortunately a bit too big for your back pocket but Doug Harman's clear explanations take the mystique out of the Digital Camera scenario. He inspires the reader with confidence and like all good teachers is an enabler rather than attempting to impress with his skills and knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Digital Photography Handbook, 29 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: The Digital Photography Handbook (Paperback)
Good practical book which covers all areas of setting up and taking pictures digitally

Handy size to have with you

It goes into equipment and software and setting up for different professional engagements

Also mentions having websites and presenting protfolios
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Digital Photograpy Handbook, 7 Nov 2009
By 
GKMN (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Digital Photography Handbook (Paperback)
Excellent book; concise, well illustrated and easy to read and all at a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Introduction to Photography, 19 Jun 2009
By 
G. Ingram (dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Digital Photography Handbook (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyed reading this book as it went into enough depth for me to get to grips with beginning in photography. Is a good book to sit and read with a cup of coffee and to check over as a reference when out taking photographs.

Covers most of the different types of photographs most beginners would take and give tips and advice on composition, aperture, shutter speeds etc.

Would recommend buying this book first if beginning photography then moving on to something a bit more substantial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Digital Photography Handbook
The Digital Photography Handbook by Doug Harman (Paperback - 19 Dec 2007)
5.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews