Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simply stunning book
This is a seriously beautiful book - probably the largest astronomy book I've ever seen, and the reproduction on the images is simply brilliant - I'm amazed at the level of detail in some of them (especially double-page stunners such as the Orion and Helix nebulae. The design is stylish without being overfussy, and as the previous reviewer said, it benefits immensely from...
Published on 6 Dec 2006 by SpaceBoy

versus
11 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a shame !
No wonder the price of this book was reduced so quickly: it is full of typing mistakes and, the icing on the cake, pages 10-11, on the illustration of the internal part of the solar system, the second orbit around the Sun is empty, while Venus and the Earth share the same orbit... You have to see it to believe it...
Published on 11 Nov 2006 by Arif Kayikcioglu


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simply stunning book, 6 Dec 2006
By 
SpaceBoy (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cosmos: A Field Guide (Hardcover)
This is a seriously beautiful book - probably the largest astronomy book I've ever seen, and the reproduction on the images is simply brilliant - I'm amazed at the level of detail in some of them (especially double-page stunners such as the Orion and Helix nebulae. The design is stylish without being overfussy, and as the previous reviewer said, it benefits immensely from being printed on black.

The text also seems well-written and informative (okay there's a handful of typos that I've noticed, but it all seems factually accurate and up to date, which is ultimately more important). And the diagrams look beautiful, for the most part - I must say that I looked straight through the Venus orbit error at first glance and had to go back and check when I saw it pointed out here. Bit of a "D'oh!" moment, definitely, and I'm sure those responsible are kicking themselves, but it's such an obvious howler that it can't possibly have been intentional. It would be good if they get that sorted out for a reprint, but you only get to rate these things once, and I'm not going to let it ruin my enjoyment of an otherwise beautiful book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most spectacular astronomy photo book currently available, 12 Oct 2007
By 
Mark Walters (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cosmos: A Field Guide (Hardcover)
I have the Dorling Kindersley book "Universe" and thought that was pretty stunning and difficult to beat, but then I read a review of this book on one of the astronomy forums and had a look on Amazon. Having read the reviews below I was assured this would be worth the purchase. The reviews did not lie!! This is quite simply the best photographic astronomy book out there at the moment. If you just want one book to inspire people and make them gawp at the awesomeness of what lies beyond our atmosphere this is surely it. The only problem I have now is finding shelf space for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning visuals, 1 Dec 2006
This review is from: Cosmos: A Field Guide (Hardcover)
I have more "coffee table" books on Astronomy than I do surface area on my coffee tables. This book makes it so I could get rid of all the rest as it is not only more complete but more beautiful than the rest combined.

There are some errors in it that make absolutely no sense why they were made (spelling and the Venusian orbit issue listed above). However... the science is solid and more importantly for a book like this, the images are unmatched in print.

Just like any book of this type, fingerprints on the pages are inevitable and annoying against a black background, but I wouldn't trade for white backgrounds because these images need the black to really show their visual range.

The information is also very current. Pluto is not considered a planet, the idea of neutrinos contributing to Dark Matter, and a host of other relatively recent developments are included. The progression is also very clean and straight forward starting at earth and progressing out to the large scale of the universe, which is something most of these books don't spend enough time on despite it being one of the most fascinating developments in cosmology recently.

If you want to learn the science, this isn't quite the book you're looking for. It's awkward to hold for long reading sessions due to the size, and not exceptionally in depth. However, the images can't be beat (not until Hubble's replacement goes live in a few years) and the science is comprehensive enough to let you know what you are looking at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Stunning Book, 8 Jan 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cosmos: A Field Guide (Hardcover)
Yes, it has it's inaccuracies and typos, but this is an absolutely stunning book. It's meant to be a book to enable us to sit back and amire the fraction of the Universe we know in all it's glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly oustanding, 14 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cosmos: A Journey to the Beginning of Time and Space (Hardcover)
This spectacular book comes within an ace of being a truly superb volume.

It falls short of the mark with some mildly moronic page designs where pictures are separated from their captions quite unnecessarily and impractically, especially when given the adequacy of the space available. That text boxes are plonked over critical image segemeents (when they are not floating disconnected on others) suggests strongly that the book was designed by people with little feel for the subject.

Although not a professional astronomer, author Giles Sparrow's overall grasp of a extensive subject is quite commendable. However, the book is marred in places where his lack of expertise does shines through with instances of indifferent text and a failure to deliver clinching insights - something that could easily have been rectified with more proficient and knowledgeable editors.

Similarly, in addition to errors already mention in other reviews, some of the 'facts' vary uncomfortably, as with the distance of Betelgeuse stated as 427 light years distant on one page and 440ly on another. Andromeda is worryingly described in one single caption as being 200 000 light years in diameter and 250 000 light years across just a mere 6 lines later. Its stellar population as stated at 400 billion stars is way short of the accepted value of 1 trillion stars..... and so on.

Generally, the choice of pictures is superb, but one may quibble that better Lunar and Mars photos are available from the same sources, and that too much space was devoted to nebula purely on the basis of prettiness.

But the real excellence of this book lies in the technical brilliance of the printing and image transfer. It is formidably superb. (The Chinese printers are advised to have their name printed in future editions.)

In terms of sheer volume, ink on page and stunning images, Cosmos is unbeatable, especially at this Amazon price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 31 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Cosmos: A Journey to the Beginning of Time and Space (Hardcover)
I must have a re-print of this book because the venus orbit error is not present in my copy. However, there are still a few numerical errors here and there. In one of the paragraphs the author states that Earth traverses a circular orbit with a diameter of 300 million km and then puts in brackets (186,000 miles). Last time I checked 300 million kilometers was 186 million miles. It's unfortunate but superficial as a whole.

This book has the most amazing photography I have ever seen on this subject, that alone is worth the purchase. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding book., 28 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Cosmos: A Field Guide (Hardcover)
The photographs are superb, and with a little contemplation, inevitably mind-blowing. I also found the structure of the book very helpful to understand the context of all the phenomena. My copy certainly doesn't have the graphical errors on pp10-11 described in other reviews, and I haven't come across any obvious typos yet, so maybe there were some early editions out there? (although mine is not described as a reprint or anything like that).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Photography, 8 Nov 2007
By 
jcmacc (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cosmos: A Journey to the Beginning of Time and Space (Hardcover)
This book is an excellent introduction to the basics of astronomy and cosmology in that text is minimal - the beautiful images tell all and just drag you in.

The scale of the photographs moves from a close-up of an astronaut's footprint on the lunar surface all the way out to the famous "ultra deep field" photograph taken by the Hubble space telescope of galaxys forming "just" after the Big Bang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb images, superb value, 2 Nov 2006
By 
J. Saville (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cosmos: A Field Guide (Hardcover)
I've seen many astronomy books that purport to illustrate our universe from the solar system outwards, and usually been disappointed. Too often they feature outdated pictures, or have poor reproduction.

To be honest, the blurb does this book a slight injustice. This isn't a field guide (although it is comprehensive in the subjects it covers) - if you didn't know what a globular cluster was before purchase, you probably won't afterwards either. Accompanying text is informative but fairly brief.

This is astronomy porn. This book reproduces, with superb detail and clarity, huge format (36 x 44cm) up-to-date images from Hubble and the latest crop of solar system probes, including Cassini and the Mars rovers. Even the microwave background image is from WMAP. All bases are covered, from the planetary satellites to 2MASS and the Hubble ultra deep field.

The cover price is actually UKP50, making this an absolute bargain. Many of the pictures are printed full-page, and I'm very tempted to buy a second copy to use as a bargain source of astronomy posters...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind-blowing..., 13 Sep 2007
This review is from: Cosmos: A Field Guide (Hardcover)
This is a gorgeous book. If you are looking for a gift for someone who's into astronomy this the perfect book- it was a Christmas present given to me and I absolutely love it. In terms of beauty there is no better book you can find, amazing pictures and lots of information- which is easily absorbed and not too dry or difficult to understand. Absolutely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cosmos: A Journey to the Beginning of Time and Space
Cosmos: A Journey to the Beginning of Time and Space by Giles Sparrow (Hardcover - 20 Sep 2007)
£17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews