Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic thriller in unusual style
This is a classic international thriller in some ways, akin to the Le Carre of eg 'Little Drummer Girl' in its use of an 'ethical' conspiracy, multiple viewpoints, locations and countries. Peter Temple's book concerns a fragment of film showing an ambiguous but violent event in central Africa which may have been connected to American troops. When this film falls into the...
Published on 31 Mar 2009 by Jo Harris

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Story Difficult To Follow
The story in this book is interesting and a bit different from the norm however I found that the characters were difficult to follow and the writing was a bit fragmented in parts. Hence hard to get into...but worth sticking with.
Published on 29 Sep 2009 by Nautical


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic thriller in unusual style, 31 Mar 2009
This review is from: In The Evil Day (Paperback)
This is a classic international thriller in some ways, akin to the Le Carre of eg 'Little Drummer Girl' in its use of an 'ethical' conspiracy, multiple viewpoints, locations and countries. Peter Temple's book concerns a fragment of film showing an ambiguous but violent event in central Africa which may have been connected to American troops. When this film falls into the hands of an 'innocent' security guard with a dangerous but half-forgotten background, big forces begin to move to protect the secret. The atmosphere is swirling, a bit murky, with some digression, but very different from your typical big thriller. Some of the connections in the plot seem a bit clunky too (would such a vital bit of film really be passed around on a VHS tape?! in the modern world) but it's one of those books you forgive because you enjoy the story and you fear for the characters, ruthless though they are. Highly recommended as a different, very involving thriller, that stops itself just on the right side of being 'literary.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great discovery, 1 April 2008
By 
Ian M. Buchanan (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In The Evil Day (Paperback)
If you haven't discovered Peter Temple yet, then do yourself a favour and grab a copy of this -- or indeed any of his novels. The plots are great, but it is the characters that really stand out. No-one has a better ear for the Australian vernacular, particularly rural Australia. He has an incredibly dry wit that will make you laugh out loud even as your pulse races in tune to the suspenseful action. This particular novel is a thriller and something of a departure for Temple, but he handles it superbly - set in the UK, Germany and South Africa, it has all the global conspiracy ingredients one would expect. But if you prefer crime to thriller, then check out the Jack Irish novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 13 Mar 2009
By 
greatsmile "hjb" (Darmstadt, Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In The Evil Day (Paperback)
P.T.is a brillant writer, this is probably his best among a very good canon
of titles like "The Broken Shore", "Iron Rose" or the Jack Irish series.He was a real discovery for me,
desperate to find readable stuff in the following of Elmore Leonard, who
has obviously lost his (once magnificent) touch, as his last novels were poor(old
age,I suppose).Temple has a great ear for dialogue and idiom(Sth.African, German, British ), his characters are real and believable, his settings
in this international thriller are so true by own experience you could walk along the streets
of Hamburg, London or J.burg along with the action.His writing is pure quality, much more than "just"a crime novellist.Can`t wait for his next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "I've never met a nice South African", 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Evil Day (Paperback)
Very enjoyable and hard to put down like all of Peter Temple's other books, and as with the others there is a happy ending for most of the "good guys" including the "nice" South African, and the baddies get their just desserts eventually.
My only quibble would be that I'm not sure how many people go jogging with a bottle of Glenmorangie in a carrier bag but hey-ho I can forgive the odd preposterous plot device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly pitched for page-turning., 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Evil Day (Paperback)
Considering that this was far more masculine a book than I usually read - more weapons, more war, more groups of undercover ex-army terrorist types - I did enjoy it and found it hard to put down as the tension rose and the action hurtled from country to country. All credit to Peter Temple's writing which, while not so lyrical, was perfectly pitched for characterisations and page-turning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new favorite, 23 July 2007
By 
Bill Bell (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In The Evil Day (Paperback)
This is the same book as "Identity Theory" by Peter Temple, nevertheless it's a brillant book with a Le Carré feeling to it. And when it comes to action scenes he's as good as Lee Child! Well, what about it - Carré/Child in a very complicated but also rewarding thriller. His other books are as good. Pity when they have different titels for differnt countries. Can confuse you, n'est pas?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Story Difficult To Follow, 29 Sep 2009
This review is from: In The Evil Day (Paperback)
The story in this book is interesting and a bit different from the norm however I found that the characters were difficult to follow and the writing was a bit fragmented in parts. Hence hard to get into...but worth sticking with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read and a bargain!, 9 Jan 2007
By 
Robert (Uxbridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In The Evil Day (Hardcover)
I bought this for half price at WH Smiths on the off chance I would like it. In fact I almost put it back for something else. I am so glad I didn't.

For £[...] I got a tight plot, nice pacing, good characterisation (is that spelled right?) and an interesting story. It will probably appeal especially to men because there is lots of explanations of Hamburg in it.

All in all, I enjoyed it and on the srength of this I will buy some of his others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In The Evil Day
In The Evil Day by Peter Temple (Paperback - 5 July 2007)
£6.74
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews