Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious Punning
The great thing about Filthy Shakespeare is the way the author shows how Shakespeare used extreme sexual puns for a serious purpose. Most of them are not there to titillate the audience. Kiernan demonstrates how he entertains the audience in order to encourage them to question their assumptions about the big issues such as moral hypocrisy,political corruption,the human...
Published on 28 Sept. 2007 by R. Laurance

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Academic Delight
My old tutors at Hull Uni raved about it - and anything that they say is good is fine by me.
Published 21 months ago by Dan Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious Punning, 28 Sept. 2007
By 
R. Laurance - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The great thing about Filthy Shakespeare is the way the author shows how Shakespeare used extreme sexual puns for a serious purpose. Most of them are not there to titillate the audience. Kiernan demonstrates how he entertains the audience in order to encourage them to question their assumptions about the big issues such as moral hypocrisy,political corruption,the human cost of war and so on. The introduction alone makes it worth the money - I have never read anything that brings Shakespeare's world so alive. I think the fact that she is a dramatist as well as a scholar makes the book such a good read - she explains quite difficult things in an easy-to-read way. The extracts where she shows how Shakespeare uses sexual undertomes to make the scene more intense or poignant were a revelation to me. I think she has achieved what she says she hoped to - to give us the chance of hearing the sexual meaning behind the words that his original audience would have heard,and shown how this enriches our experience of the plays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Filthy but good!, 4 July 2010
By 
Mr "Mike J-J" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Filthy Shakespeare (Paperback)
A fascinating and comprehensive review of sex in Shakespeare which arrived with indecent haste and in virgin condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shake that spear, 2 April 2007
By 
While we may have sniggered at his name and Hamlet's reference to 'country matters' at school, this book goes much further. The author has, in a rigourously academic manner, completely untied the laces of Elizabethan satire and revealed the jokes, from the carnal chrismas cracker variety to the most subtle inuendo, contained in almost every one of Shakespeare's lines. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 May 2014
By 
Dodo "Spara Fugle" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Filthy Shakespeare (Paperback)
This book was an eye opener for me as I never realised just how filthy Willie was. It is a good laugh and educational as well. It gives one a novel view of the plays. I even learned some new words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Academic Delight, 17 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Filthy Shakespeare (Paperback)
My old tutors at Hull Uni raved about it - and anything that they say is good is fine by me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Opportunistic, 28 July 2007
By 
D. A. Wright (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Filthy Shakespeare (Paperback)
The authoress may well be a respected academic, but this book reads like the product of an overheated mind. For a short while, it is rather smuttily amusing, but soon becomes simply pornographic and 'boring' - which is a word containing the letter 'o' representing female genitals and the letter 'i' representing the male, thus the whole word is a pun on copulation. Yeah, right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Filthy Shakespeare
Filthy Shakespeare by Pauline Kiernan (Paperback - 7 Jun. 2007)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews