Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff
WordPress has gone from strength to strength since it was released in 2003, and much of its success is due to the open source community's commitment to plugin development. Take a look at the WordPress Plugin Directory, and you'll see thousands of plugins that extend the WordPress core to do almost anything you can imagine.

Packt Publishing's WordPress Plugin...
Published on 31 May 2010 by Mr. Shane Porter

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not particularly in-depth
I bought the ebook version of "WordPress Plugin Development Beginner's Guide" through work as I wanted to expand my WordPress skillset for an ongoing project.

I didn't feel the book made any attempt to go into detail about the basics of plugin development and how WordPress uses hooks, functions etc, instead choosing to just share basic examples. There were a...
Published on 13 Dec 2010 by J. Turner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not particularly in-depth, 13 Dec 2010
By 
J. Turner (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WordPress Plug-in Development (Beginner's Guide) (Paperback)
I bought the ebook version of "WordPress Plugin Development Beginner's Guide" through work as I wanted to expand my WordPress skillset for an ongoing project.

I didn't feel the book made any attempt to go into detail about the basics of plugin development and how WordPress uses hooks, functions etc, instead choosing to just share basic examples. There were a few basic coding errors too.

The WordPress codex is much more in depth and I would recommend this as a starting point for developers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 31 May 2010
By 
Mr. Shane Porter "shaneporter66" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WordPress Plug-in Development (Beginner's Guide) (Paperback)
WordPress has gone from strength to strength since it was released in 2003, and much of its success is due to the open source community's commitment to plugin development. Take a look at the WordPress Plugin Directory, and you'll see thousands of plugins that extend the WordPress core to do almost anything you can imagine.

Packt Publishing's WordPress Plugin Development is written by Vladimir Prelovac, a WordPress expert and developer of WordPress plug-ins such as Smart YouTube and Plugin Central. Part of Packt's Beginners Guide series, the book focuses more on experimentation and learning by doing, and develops 6 real-world plugins throughout its 270 or so pages.

Chapter Overview

1. Preparing for WordPress Development
2. Social Bookmarking
3. Live Blogroll
4. The Wall
5. Snazzy Archives
6. Insights for WordPress
7. Post Types
8. Development Goodies

Aimed at developers who are familiar with PHP, the book wastes little time getting straight into coding. Chapter 1 gives an overview of plugin development, and details the six plugins that are developed throughout the course of the book.

1. Digg This

The first plugin simply shows a Digg button in blog posts. It's a good first plugin, since it shows the reader the fundamental Plugin concepts such as the WordPress API, filters and actions.

2. Live Blogrool

This plugin works at making the basic Blogroll a little bit more exciting. I enjoyed this chapter since it talked about integrating jQuery and AJAX into plugins.

3. The Wall

The Wall is a plugin that creates a shoutbox on your blog's sidebar, where users can leave comments and shouts. This chapter introduces widgets and the WordPress database.

4. Snazzy Archives

This plugin beautifies blog archives, and hooks into posts and the administration panel.

5. Insights

The insights plugin increases blog post writing productivity by offering quick access to common information in the Write Post screen.

6. Post Types

This plugin works closely with the WordPress back-end, and extends the platform's CMS capabilities. Despite WordPress 3.0's core functionality being extended in this area, it's still a useful chapter.

As fantastic as WordPress is, a real sense of power can be gained from extending it. I particularly enjoyed this book, since it got straight `down to business' and focused on the core concepts and practices that enable developers to create reliable, useful plugins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just hope the paperback version isn't the same as the eBook version, 29 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: WordPress Plug-in Development (Beginner's Guide) (Paperback)
First things first, I bought the eBook version of this book so I am not totally sure if the process of checking the book for errors in the copy andd the code examples is the same process for an eBook as it is for a normal paperback book.

Based on the assumption that it is then this book contains multiple errors within the code examples - for example the first plugin you try to create is a Digg This button to include in your posts - and the example doesn't work at all for version 2.9.1 of wordpress, so this doesn't really set a good example for the rest of the projects contained in this book.

In the coded examples some of the wordpress functions aren't explained so you aren't sure why you need them - the code examples either aren't complete or have errors that don't allow the code to work.

I would save your money and just research on the internet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wordpress Developmpent the beginners guide, 9 July 2009
This review is from: WordPress Plug-in Development (Beginner's Guide) (Paperback)
This book will do exactly what it says on the tin,

If you want to learn more about the actions, filters, hooks used in wordpress plugin development, this book will get you off on the right foot,

including developing real world plugins, learning new wordpress functions and how to put these to good use through out your plugin development life cycle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A plethora of wordpress API examples. A new plugin per chapter, awesome, 31 May 2009
This review is from: WordPress Plug-in Development (Beginner's Guide) (Paperback)
This is a great book to introduce you to the wonders of programming plugins for the greatest blogging system ever - Wordpress.

It is written by Vladimir Prelovac and published by Packt Publishing.

Vladimir has written numerous popular plugins and even had time to write this, it took me through creating simple plugins using functions, Wordpress template tags, shortcodes, localization, errors, settings pages and just about everything you would need to make your own custom plugin.

Hats off to you Vladimir! I really used your book until the ears got all coffee stained!

Having a plethora of usage examples of the major Wordpress API commands has been a real time saver and a fantastic launching point for future WP projects.

I recommend this book to Wordpress junkies or anyone with a bit of curiosity on how plugins work with wordpress, the knowledge contained within could seriously improve your wordpress site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars starts well but then fades out, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WordPress Plug-in Development (Beginner's Guide) (Paperback)
I was really interested in plugin dev. As a beginner the examples helped a lot but it was quite difficult for me to apply to what i wanted to do. I eventually did not finish reading the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WordPress Plug-in Development (Beginner's Guide)
WordPress Plug-in Development (Beginner's Guide) by Vladimir Prelovac (Paperback - 31 Jan 2009)
24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews