Customer Reviews


193 Reviews
5 star:
 (170)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completion of the Perfect Trilogy
Mr. Brendan O'Carroll has created with, "The Mammy", "The Chisellers", and, "The Granny", a trilogy that is exceptionally well written, a joy to read, and an alternative Irish Tale. I differentiate this work from the more familiar read about an Irish Family, for while the life of this Family is far from perfect, it is not extreme in its...
Published on 27 Jan 2003 by taking a rest

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Granny
Not as good as his previous books, in fact at times it was depressing, but I did finish the book.
Published 18 months ago by trouty


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completion of the Perfect Trilogy, 27 Jan 2003
By 
taking a rest - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Granny (Paperback)
Mr. Brendan O'Carroll has created with, "The Mammy", "The Chisellers", and, "The Granny", a trilogy that is exceptionally well written, a joy to read, and an alternative Irish Tale. I differentiate this work from the more familiar read about an Irish Family, for while the life of this Family is far from perfect, it is not extreme in its portrayal of the darker sides of people, be they Irish, or in the case of this book, French or Jewish as well. Of the three books this could be noted as the one that brings events together too neatly, especially when a given outcome is positive. I believe this appraisal would be unfair, as the Author balances the experiences of his characters, and even if he had favored the positive, why would that be deserving of scorn?

This book does bring certain threads of the story to a conclusion. The Author could easily continue the stories of this Family, or a given member, but the trilogy; I believe should stand by itself.

Once again the third book takes place when additional time has passed. The Browne Children are children no longer, and with offspring of their own the cycle begins again with the newest of the Browne's. Agnes transitions from Mammy to Granny, as her children take their place as Mammies and Dads to children of there own. Some of the new Families are traditional, some less so, however as in the previous two books while ignorance and the ugly behavior it breeds is not hidden, and overall acceptance and tolerance are great virtues of this man's work.

The three works are as close to faultless storytelling as I have read, and I hope I can look forward to many more books by this Author. He will have a tremendous challenge to repeat this success, but as he has done it three times in succession, waiting for additional novels should not be a wait in vain.

If you come to the end of this book and your eyes are not at least full, see your Doctor. Your tear ducts are clogged.
Mr. O'Carroll my sincere thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Granny, The Chisellers, The Mammy, 13 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Granny (Paperback)
Have become fascinated with the work of Brendan O'Carroll and the ease of which I found his written works on Amazon was wonderful. From finding his book titles and recieving them has taken no time and I am now a big fan of Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy them all!, 14 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Granny (Paperback)
I loved them all! I laughed out loud at every other page. Ripping good yarn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i've never laughed and cried so much at the same book., 19 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Granny (Paperback)
having just read all three of the browne boys books in quick succession I can only marvel at the genius of mr o'carroll. Never have I been moved so much by a book. Please write more brendan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Granny (Kindle Edition)
Having read the whole series was a pleasure to read and can't wait for the nexted one to come out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the granny, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Granny (Paperback)
this book is the last in a series of three, and perhaps the best. It is not a comical book like an eposide of mrs. brown's boys so do not expect to be laughing all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The gateway to tears and snot, 10 Aug 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Mirfield, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Granny (Paperback)
Brendan O'Carroll is not going town any prizes for writing fantastically put together prose, or conjure colourful imagery with flowery poetic writing. However what he can do is tell an engaging story with heart.

This is the concluding part of the Agnes Browne saga, and as I read it was difficult not to see the characters made famous by the television series. After the darkness of the second book this one is much more hopeful. It seemed a bit contrived and rushed in some places but it sees several threads drawn together and by the end of the book all strands have been neatly tied up and there is a happy ending all round. Sort of.

I'm a 43 year old man, and perhaps I've mellowed and just become so much more sentimental, but I have to admit that for the last 30 or so pages I found myself blubbing like a little girl with a box of tissues as several of the main characters found their situations happilly resolved. Dublin Airport is described as the Gateway to Tears and snot since this is where so many sad farewells take place. That also describes my experience as the story drew to a close...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars alleyc888, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Granny (Kindle Edition)
This book was a great wee read, it made me laugh out loud and cry like a baby. would recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Granny, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Granny (Kindle Edition)
Not as good as his previous books, in fact at times it was depressing, but I did finish the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have enjoyed this and all the books within the "Mrs Brown" ..., 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Granny (Kindle Edition)
I laughed, cried and laughed some more. Brendan O' Carrol has the rare ability to make you want more on the life of Mrs Agnes Brown. I have enjoyed this and all the books within the "Mrs Brown" collection. If you are a fan of the series, buy this book, it will give you so much more about the life of the queen of Dublin Town.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Granny
The Granny by Brendan O'Carroll (Paperback - 18 Nov 2011)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews