Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kerry Walks
I completed all of the suggested walks in the Dingle section of the book in April 2010. Out of all the walking guides on the Dingle peninsula (and there are quite a few) this is by far the best. The love and knowledge that Mr Corcoran has for of the history, flora and fauna of the land is apparant on every page. His hand-drawn maps and wildlife drawings add to the warmth...
Published on 1 May 2010 by Cunorix

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars ~A little overrated
Have to say when I got this book I was looking forward to using it and we had a couple of glorious days on the Dingle Peninsula. We took the boat out to Great Blasket and tried to use the book for a walk around the island. The description of the circular walk was poor and we put the book away and proceeded on foot using our eyes and experience. Any attempts to gauge our...
Published on 30 Oct. 2012 by P. G. Foxe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kerry Walks, 1 May 2010
By 
Cunorix (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I completed all of the suggested walks in the Dingle section of the book in April 2010. Out of all the walking guides on the Dingle peninsula (and there are quite a few) this is by far the best. The love and knowledge that Mr Corcoran has for of the history, flora and fauna of the land is apparant on every page. His hand-drawn maps and wildlife drawings add to the warmth and charm of the guide and I can honestly say that the book enhanced my enjoyment of walking in Kerry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warm and informative book, 29 April 2010
By 
Paul Delaney (Grays,Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bought this book for a last minute walking holiday in Kerry.I found the book really informative and invaluable.Completed three of the walks in the book in the five days that I stayed in Kenmare,Co Kerry.The nature of the walks (which included information about the fauna and flora in the area)were very descriptive.A lot of these walks were off the beaten track and I never saw a soul!!.The walks were well defined and each had a suitability rating of either casual,moderate or tough.I thoroughly enjoyed the informative nature of each walk given by the author.I would definately recommend this book.Let the doggies buy their own books!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Discoverying natural Ireland, 20 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kerry Walks (O'Brien Walks) (Paperback)
We used this walk book to discover wild kerry and we were not disapointed. It's a great way to get a feel of what natural Ireland is all about away from the tourist crowds. It was our first visit to Ireland and without this book our visit would not have been as rich and varried as it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ~A little overrated, 30 Oct. 2012
By 
P. G. Foxe "Gan Ainm" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kerry Walks (O'Brien Walks) (Paperback)
Have to say when I got this book I was looking forward to using it and we had a couple of glorious days on the Dingle Peninsula. We took the boat out to Great Blasket and tried to use the book for a walk around the island. The description of the circular walk was poor and we put the book away and proceeded on foot using our eyes and experience. Any attempts to gauge our pace and identify the landscape with the book didn't really work well at all. Perhaps some of the other walks are better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and usefull guide, with a friendly style., 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kerry Walks (O'Brien Walks) (Paperback)
I was not familiar with the south west of Ireland, and found this book very accurate and helpful. I only completed one of his walks, Torc Mountain, but it gave me confidence in understanding the terrain. I will be back, and I'll take this book with me :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Charming, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kerry Walks (O'Brien Walks) (Paperback)
I bought this charming little book before a holiday in Co Kerry. Although many of the walks would have been beyond us and our young family, I found it a lovely read. Kevin is enthusiastic and knowledgeable about local flora and fauna.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kerry Walks (O'Brien Walks) (Paperback)
EXCELLENT ITEM,fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a book for dog walkers!, 7 Aug. 2007
By 
K. Smith "Dog lover" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I purchased this book to take my dog for walks around Kerry. I assumed this book would be suitable but I was rather disappointed as soon as I read the preface of this book, Kevin Corcoran has a very negative attitude towards dogs and dog walkers in general. He assumes all dog walkers are irresponsible and do not keep their dogs under control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kerry Walks (O'Brien Walks)
Kerry Walks (O'Brien Walks) by Kevin Corcoran (Paperback - 7 Mar. 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews