Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 November 2014
I am half irish and so are the contents of this book. Some of the idioms are pure cockney and would never be uttered in the emerald isle except by those who have spent considerable time in england.
I think the people most in need of this book are on the far side of the atlantic and have recently come in contact with 'Mrs. Browns Boys' or are still puzzling over sayings from 'Father Ted.
The most glaring omission is no explanation of 'eejit' which baffles some people not knowing it is derived from the mispronunciation of 'idiot'.
The Irish recipes are a help to understand a nation that seems incapable of cooking anything but desserts without the inclusion of potatoes.
The full lyrics of songs that plague all Irish gatherings had the glaring omission of 'Macalpines Fusileers'
Having made those complaints the book is a perfect example of the self deprecating humour of the nation and an irreverent glimpse of the more ludicrous parts of its mores and history.
I will be buying more books by the authors.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
Bought this for my father who has Irish roots. He absolutely loved it and said that he will be taking it along with him, on his annual trip to canada, to show his brother.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
I gave this as a table present at Christmas and he loved it... very good read and lots to laugh at... I would thoroughly recommend this as a purchase.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2011
This book is funny in places, but has too many so called Irish expressions which I have never heard an Irish person say; having had an Irish mother and loads of Irish relatives; but if anyone doesn't understand what Irish people are saying, the book could come in handy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
Watching Mrs Browns boys inspired both me and my wife to read this book and it never fails to brink a smile, and makes good conversation with all our Irish friends
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
Gave this to a Canadian friend who absolutely loved it. He has now passed it round all of this friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
Bought this book for myself, found it really funny so got my dad a copy as well. You grow up with a lot of these quotes and sayings but never quite know what they mean or where they come from, so this book is good for making sense of and having a laugh about all those things... Has the words to those songs you never quite understood, as they were always mumbled drunkedly in the pub late in the evening. It means you can now sing along with the best of them...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
not bad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
Laughed out loud late into the night,tried several recipes and found them delicious. have lent the book to friends to enjoy.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)