Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, unique, hysterical and kids love Stitch Head
What an absolute cracker of a book. The whole family have read Stitch Head and we're all agreed that it's hysterical. Stitch Head is a little "creation" and we follow him through the corridors of Castle Grotteskew as he fights against a wicked ghost who's after his heart. I don't want to tell you much more because the book's quite short and I don't want to give too much...
Published on 23 Nov. 2012 by JK

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult themes and quite violent.
The story begins with Stitch Head cast in a play. This is used to deliver some luvvie jokes, which I suspect are not likely to be appreciated by most readers. There is a lot of dialogue delivered in diverse voices, which makes it challenging if you are not into acting out voices yourself.

Shy Stitch Head has a fierce human friend Arabella which gives you two...
Published on 12 Feb. 2013 by Prof TBun


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, unique, hysterical and kids love Stitch Head, 23 Nov. 2012
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Ghost of Grotteskew (Stitch Head) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What an absolute cracker of a book. The whole family have read Stitch Head and we're all agreed that it's hysterical. Stitch Head is a little "creation" and we follow him through the corridors of Castle Grotteskew as he fights against a wicked ghost who's after his heart. I don't want to tell you much more because the book's quite short and I don't want to give too much away and spoil it for you. If you imagaine a darkly comical, up-to-date Frankenstein you'll be moving in the right direction.

Visually, Stitch Head is unique. They've made the book look old and battered by darkening the edges of the pages and keeping it all black and white, no colour, which adds a spooky feel. There are lots of illustrations, by Pete Williamson, and they've used a variety of different print styles which adds another dimension, makes for a more interesting read. Stacks of characters to meet up with; Professor Erasmus Erasmus, Mawley Crackbone, the Monster, the Creature, Stitch Head, Ivo, Arabella and set in a place called Grubbers Nubbin in Ye Olden Days (some time before Yesteryear). If you enjoy a dark, funny, Gothic horror story then this could well be for you.

Obviously Stitch Head in aimed at younger children and they'll deal with the ghoulish, haunting, creating aspects of the story with no trouble at all but; it's probably not suitable for the very young as they might find the themes of spare/missing body parts, electricity, death, ghosts and other creepy bits and bobs too much to handle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stitch Head battles monsters and secrets, 6 Nov. 2012
By 
Jo Bennie (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Ghost of Grotteskew (Stitch Head) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Stitch Head, the small patchwork first Frankensteinesque creation of mad scientist Professor Erasmus faces a new threat. To his home in gothic Castle Grotteskaw, to his friends the almost-living creations of Erasmus, and to his only human friend the fearless Arabella from the nearby village of Grubbers Nubbin. As he lies on stage trying to remain motionless playing his part as the dead body in the Creative Creations Collective Amateur Dramatics Society's murder mystery production he hears a voice. And no one else is hearing it. Arabella identifies a haunting but as they follow the voice through the castle unusually for her she becomes terrified. The ghost is the spirit of Mawley Crackbone, a fiend who terrorised Grubbers Nubbin. The villagers colluded with Professor Erasmus and he agreed to poison Crackbone in return for his body to experiment on after death. And Stitch Head has something Crackbone wants back. His heart. Oh, and revenge on the people who had him killed. The discovery of a new creation deep under the castle leads Stitch Head to make a terrible deal with the ghost of Crackbone and mayhem is unleashed.

Guy Bass' text is accompanied on every page by Pete Williamson's evocative cartoony black and white drawings and the whole is an immersive experience, bits of text in spooky fonts, chapter pages with hilarious insane quotes from Professor Erasmus, diagrams and maps. A wonderful book for any reader with a taste for the ghoulish, probably suitable for 7 to 9 years old. My 9 year old loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Story & Fantastic Illustration, 30 Nov. 2012
By 
Susman "Sussman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Ghost of Grotteskew (Stitch Head) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When selecting this book my nephew was drawn to the cover art by Pete Williamson. I believe like some adults, children are drawn to book covers first before sampling said narrative contained within. That said my nephew was not disappointed and enjoyed the story, but it he thought Mr Williamson's pictorials were superb and really added to the feel and texture of the story. He was not fazed by the tale containing spare limbs, ghouls and such like. Other reviews have done a good job encapsulating the key story points, no point rehashing them here. He enjoyed the humour and wants me to get the rest of the books in the series. As my nephew puts it well worth ten gold stars! What an endorsement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't realise it was a sequel, 9 Feb. 2013
By 
Tim Roast (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ghost of Grotteskew (Stitch Head) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I read this book to my 6-year-old over a few bedtimes. First thing to say is that I didn't realise it was a sequel until I looked on Amazon for Stitch Head and found it was the third book in the series. That is a plus as it means it is self-contained story not relying on knowledge from the other books, although obviously having read those too would be an advantage as characters appear in all of them.

Stitch Head is a creation made by Professor Erasmus Erasmus, but it turns out that the heart used in creating him was the wicked heart of Mawley Crackbone, a notorious criminal from ye olden days. Well Mawley returns as a ghost to reclaim his heart, convincing Stitch Head to give him control of his body, leading to disaster. But all turns out well in the end.

Despite the ghosts and the Frankenstein-like creations in this book it isn't scary and young kids should be fine with it. And there are plenty of well put together black-and-white pictures to accompany the story too, plus short chapters that should make it ok for young `uns to listen to and maybe read too, although it hasn't been dumbed down meaning there will be some hard words as well as made up words from the likes of the creation Pox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Book!, 6 Jan. 2013
By 
T. Walker (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ghost of Grotteskew (Stitch Head) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Stitch Head is appropriately named - he's the Frankenstein-like creation of Mad Professor Erasmus. Add in other "creations", like the one-eyed Creature, the monkey-bat Pox, Ivo (only one metal arm) and their human friend Arabella and you have an interesting combination. Throw a homicidal ghost, Mawley Crackbone, into the mix, plus the professor's latest creation, a lightning breathing giant, you can imagine the potential mayhem - and you get it!
A fast-paced tale ideally suited to young readers, the books just over 200 pages long. The type's fairly large though, and the book is very well - and lavishly - illustrated by Pete Williamson, so the word count isn't as high as the page numbers suggest.
My grandson Joseph, who's 8 years old, was delighted with the book.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little book with a lovely message to take away, 19 Jan. 2013
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ghost of Grotteskew (Stitch Head) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Stitch Head is the first creation of Mad Professor Erasmus and he lives in a castle with all the subsequent creations and monsters. As a Frankenstein-style creation he has been made from various bits and pieces and when a ghost comes to reclaim his heart, he has a fight on his hands.

I enjoyed this book; it's very much in the style of Tim Burton, as are the wonderful illustrations. It has some great characters (I especially liked the creature who is directing the amateur dramatic production in the castle) and it has a great message at the end; `You decide what you do and that makes who you are.'

Some of the verbal play might be missed by younger readers so it might be a good one to read and discuss together. Very enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A spirited adventure, 18 Nov. 2013
By 
R. C. McGinlay (Ilford, Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ghost of Grotteskew (Stitch Head) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With so many entertaining, mock-scary children's books on the market right now, such as the "Monstrous Maud" range, the "Undead Pets" books and this series, I almost wish I was a kid again. At 200-odd (very odd!) pages, "Stitch Head: The Ghost of Grotteskew" looks surprisingly chunky, but the type is large and there are illustrations on every other page, so it need not be off-putting to youngsters who are getting to grips with reading by themselves.

Writer Guy Bass and illustrator Pete Williamson (whose style you might recognise from the Flora ads on TV, not to mention the "Dinkin Dings" and "Raven Mysteries" books) populate the story with strange and silly characters who would not look out of place in a Tim Burton animation. These include the sewn-together Stitch Head and all manner of fellow creations with extra or missing body parts, such as a one-eyed, three-armed and rather dim creature called, um, the Creature.

This might sound like a book that is more likely to appeal to boys than to girls, but the latter may latch on to the character of Arabella, a human girl who lives in the nearby village of Grubbers Nubbin and who is not afraid of anything... well, hardly anything.

After the straightforward piratical adventure of the previous book, "The Pirate's Eye", this one is more of a collation of diverse story elements, involving a ghost, spiritual possession and an electricity-spewing beast. A bit of a Frankenstein's monster, then, but very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stitch Head: The Ghost of Grotteskew, 3 Mar. 2013
By 
S. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Ghost of Grotteskew (Stitch Head) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was exactly the same as another reviewer in that I didn't realise this was the third in a series until after reading the book and having a look at the product page. I too would say that this is a definite bonus as it means the story is self contained and you don't have to read the rest of the books in the series (like so many other series) to enjoy the book. The book starts off with the Ballad of Hawley Crackbone to set the scene and mentions a curse upon Nubbin town where the book and I would imagine the series takes place. It follows Stitch Head who is a re-animated creation of the mad Professor Erasmus and tells how a ghost believes that he has his heart and sets out to take control of Stitch Head. As with all good Frankenstein type themes it's set in a creepy castle overlooking a village which in this case is Castle Grotteskew and the village Nubbin Town. The wording of the book is in quite big font and has lovely illustrations on most pages along with detail in the font such as larger bold writing for booming voices and shouting. I especially liked the sort of tombstone type setting for the chapter titles and the pictures of the monster creations so that the child knows what they are supposed to look like and doesn't get carried away imagining too grotesque a monster. I think its a bit obvious that this is a sort of child version of Frankenstein and very understandable considering all of this type of theme seems to be popular at the moment such as Frankenweenie and Hotel Transylvania. A really good story and book which my nephew really enjoyed however I think the age for this depends on the child as at 8 years old he does get a little bit jumpy at spooky themes so I'd judge it on your child rather than the age recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The very heart of Stitch Head, 26 Mar. 2013
By 
David Spanswick (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ghost of Grotteskew (Stitch Head) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having been a teacher for a very very long time I know only too well how gruesome the little people are when it comes to scary stories. I am relieved to see that after the sickening sophistication of the pale vampires ~ endlessly bloodless tales of romance and kissing ~ and the hijacking of zombies just about everywhere (how can you tell?) it is brilliant to find that the man-monster creations of the wonderful Dr. Frankenstein are having a turn in kiddy fiction, and the wonderful Stitch Head is beyond all expectations ~ and sooo cute too. I may well name my next cat after him.

Discovering that he is the new owner of Mawley Crackbone's heart ~ an evil man poisoned by the villagers of Grubbers Nubbin, whose body is bought up by the maddest of mad professors Professor Erasmus ~ our young hero Stitch Head (brilliant name and owes a little of his creation to Tim Burton) must fight for his very existence as the evil Crackbone wants his heart back!! Any more and I will be spoiling the story for you.

This new mythology is a revelation and a joy to read and will keep agog any young person still loving a bedtime story to scare him or her into duvet snuggling and night light gazing. Terrific
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is 3rd Book, 4 July 2013
By 
A. Williams "Barry Fan" (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ghost of Grotteskew (Stitch Head) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
On reading this book to my little grandson I hadn't realised this was the 3rd book in the series.

Stitch Head is as small patchwork FrankenSteinesq creation of a mad scientist professor Erasmus, but he faces a new threat to his home Gothic Castle. Groteskaw and his friends, the almost living, and to his only human friend fearless Arabella from the village Grubbers Nubbin. As he lies on stage trying to remain motionless, playing his part as the dead body in the Creative Creations collective Amateur Dramatics Society, Murder Mystery production he hears a voice no one else seems to have heard. Arabella identifies a haunting. As they follow the voice through the castle she becomes terrified, the ghost is the spirit of Mawley Crackbone who terrorised Grubbers Nubbin.

The discovery of a new creation under the castle leads Stitch Head to make an awful deal with the Ghost of Crackbone and mayhem is unleashed.

A good read for a child keeps them engrossed but wish I had realised it was the 3rd book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ghost of Grotteskew (Stitch Head)
The Ghost of Grotteskew (Stitch Head) by Guy Bass (Paperback - 1 Sept. 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews