Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the fibromyalgia healing diet
This book starts from the beginning and explains all about fibromyalgia and how by changing your lifestyle, changing your eating habits and taking specific vitamins you can see an improvement in your health. it includes some recipes, and suggests food to avoid and those that are beneficial to you. my wife suffers from fibromyalgia and was looking for ways to improve her...
Published on 27 April 2011 by keef

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars nothing works long term - until you address the real cause
To me, it's shocking that almost no mainstream doctors and so few "experts", much less writers of books like this, are aware that fibromyalgia/M.E./CFS symptoms are all symptoms of low thyroid (hypothyroid), often adrenal fatigue (linked with sometimes hidden copper toxicity) and sometimes also B12 deficiency. Shocking.

There are no lab tests for many causes of...
Published 3 months ago by D&D


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the fibromyalgia healing diet, 27 April 2011
This review is from: The Fibromyalgia Healing Diet New Edition (Paperback)
This book starts from the beginning and explains all about fibromyalgia and how by changing your lifestyle, changing your eating habits and taking specific vitamins you can see an improvement in your health. it includes some recipes, and suggests food to avoid and those that are beneficial to you. my wife suffers from fibromyalgia and was looking for ways to improve her condition other than prescribed drugs from the doctor. this book was really insightful and helpful and since reading it and following the advice we have seen improvements in her health. we would recommend it to anyone who had the condition or who wanted more information on the subject.The Fibromyalgia Healing Diet New Edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real glimmer of hope for fibros, 24 Sep 2012
By 
H. R. Ashe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fibromyalgia Healing Diet New Edition (Paperback)
My life has completely stopped due to fibromyalgia and the pain and fatigue it comes with. I'm only 24 so the future looked very glum. I read this book and everything that is written makes sense and everything is do-able. I cannot wait to start my new life with fibro under control. Brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In depth, accurate, cheerful and optimistic, 18 Mar 2002
This is the best book i have read on fibromyalgia so far! it gives in depth information on all vitamins and herbs taht should be taken, exactly what we need to know! and it gives us a manageble de-tox plan that is sensible and acheivable...and the best bit! the brilliant recipe section - which looks yum! i highly recommend this book....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Insight, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fibromyalgia Healing Diet New Edition (Paperback)
Would recommend this book. Very clear and concise. Lots of helpful hints to guide recently diagonised people. Good stuff! Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars nothing works long term - until you address the real cause, 18 Jun 2014
By 
D&D - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fibromyalgia Healing Diet New Edition (Paperback)
To me, it's shocking that almost no mainstream doctors and so few "experts", much less writers of books like this, are aware that fibromyalgia/M.E./CFS symptoms are all symptoms of low thyroid (hypothyroid), often adrenal fatigue (linked with sometimes hidden copper toxicity) and sometimes also B12 deficiency. Shocking.

There are no lab tests for many causes of low thyroid, so at least 80% of us are mis-diagnosed, because your doctor will only treat lab tests, not you. More than 50% of us have low thyroid yet mainstream medicine claims only 5% of us are hypothyroid.

Of course I don't expect you to believe me, see for yourself with a very simple home self-test: the FREE basal (at rest) temperature self-test is THE gold standard for low thyroid problems and - with your symptoms - means more than any lab test (although most conventional doctors, including endos, won't agree but then they're not trained to understand thyroid problems - thyroiduk[dot]org[dot]uk offers a list of the very few thyroid sympathetic doctors in this country).

"Fibromyalgia" and "ME/CFS" are just names, not diagnoses. A real diagnosis means there is a cure (something that has been brushed away since medicine has so few cures - just synthetic drugs that oppose symptoms, all of which have "side" effects, meaning damage they don't want you to think about). Physicians have little or no way to heal or cure chronic health problems, or to provide adequate pain management. This failure means they are becoming obsolete.

The basal temperature home self-test will pick up conditions that current lab tests don't, such as thyroid resistance. Most digital thermometers are not accurate so find a good basal digital thermometer, the kind used by women to identify their fertile days.

The stopthethyroidmadness (STTM) website has excellent instructions for this self-test, as well as several for adrenal fatigue, which often goes hand-in-hand with low thyroid. The two most common health problems worldwide, they're rarely diagnosed or treated by clueless doctors, including endos. The STTM book puts most doctors to shame.

(I'd always suspected a thyroid problem but it was not until, after 20 years of being told all my lab tests were "normal", that Dr Durrant-Peatfield, the only Broda Barnes trained doctor now in the UK, finally put me on the road to recovery. A year after I insisted my cousin also see this doctor, she said I'd saved her life.)

I also suggest:

- "The Metabolic Treatment of Fibromyalgia" by Lowe, a very expensive book of more than 1,000 pages, essentially explaining how fibromyalgia is successfully treated with thyroid supplements;

- `Hypothyroidism Type 2' by Mark Starr ("type 2" meaning the thyroid problems for which there are no lab tests and therefore they don't get diagnosed) explains how all chronic pain is linked to low thyroid, including those involved with fibromyalgia, diabetes, heart problems, both bleeding & blood clots (including strokes) and some cancers. If you have any kind of chronic pain, you need to know that some are calling low thyroid the silent epidemic (silent because officially denied);

- "Hypothyroidism, Health & Happiness: The Riddle of Illness Revealed" by Steven F. Hotze a good introduction;

- As there is rarely more than a brief mention of the benefits of iodine in thyroid books, I also suggest "Iodine, Why You Need It and Why You Can't Live Without It" by David Brownstein MD. The latest edition is available as an ebook from drbrownstein[dot]directfrompublisher[dot]com

- Platt has some interesting comments and suggestions about fibromyalgia in his book "The Miracle of Bio-identical Hormones: How I Lost My Fatigue, Hot Flashes, ADHD, ADD, Fibromyalgia, PMS, Osteoporosis..."

- "Could it be B12?: An Epidemic of Misdiagnoses" by Pacholok and Stuart. Also, many with health problems also have high homocysteine levels in the body (a sign of high toxicity - but the NHS apparently will only test for homocysteine after a heart attack!) and one of the best supplements for that is HomocysteX Plus, which includes high doses of both B9 and B12 in the right forms(B9 and B12 must be supplemented together as they are partners and supplementing just one can mask a deficiency of the other, creating further problems). B12 lab tests are inaccurate and the best way to identify a deficiency is to take high dose B12 and B9 for a month.

- Why Am I Always So Tired by Gittleman: the many reasons most of us have too much copper in our bodies and how this causes adrenal burnout and fatigue.

- "The Calcium Lie II" is an intriguing book claiming to explain the root cause of most illnesses.

Also, those with fibromyalgia type symptoms experience a significant reduction in their symptoms when taking a melatonin supplement and melatonin can reduce some symptoms of IBS, such as abdominal pain. Melatonin increases the conversion of precursor thyroid hormone T4 to the active T3 form. It can reactivate the important but much-ignored thymus gland, which degenerates almost completely over the years. It also improves zinc absorption, which in turn boosts several immune functions. Melatonin therapy also helps spleen recovery, another immune-system component which declines with age. Its ability to improve sleep and dreaming is a tremendous boon to memory. It is one of the most powerful antioxidants made by the body. Melatonin has been made illegal to sell in this country (only!) and NHS doctors are only allowed to prescribe a maximum of 2mg because it's been made so expensive (just like T3). Yet it is freely sold everywhere else in the EU and also in the US (try Amazon.com although there will be a customs charge when it arrives here).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one step at the time, 29 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Fibromyalgia Healing Diet New Edition (Paperback)
as a therapist I have found helpfull information that will contribute to a feeling of improved wellbeing for fybromyalgiapatients
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good value, 14 Dec 2013
this book was in reasonable condition and was very informative. the diet section was easy to understand and very practical..so far i feel better.. thanks morag
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The fibromyalgia healing diet, 14 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Fibromyalgia Healing Diet New Edition (Paperback)
This book is great, just been took I've got fibromyalgia , and it goes in to detail what you should avoid to eat and what is the best to eat! Still reading it but recipes look good .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars diet, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fibromyalgia Healing Diet New Edition (Paperback)
great book, very interesting and helpful recipes and other diet tips.i would recommend this book to other people with the same problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent explanations and advice, 13 July 2013
By 
Scott Waterhouse "marbleEye" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fibromyalgia Healing Diet New Edition (Paperback)
My recovery started the second week after following this, after a year of no progress. Excellent explanations and written clearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fibromyalgia Healing Diet New Edition
The Fibromyalgia Healing Diet New Edition by Christine Craggs-Hinton (Paperback - 21 Nov 2008)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews