Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever and thought-provoking
Julian Baggini considers, very thoughtfully, the way we produce, process and consume food and the morality of various positions such as vegetarianism, locavorism and fair trade. What makes this book so valuable is that it unpacks the standard articulation of each issue and probes into the evidence and possible alternatives. Should we eat more locally and less...
Published 9 months ago by Bookwoman

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit idiosyncratic
Not the book I was looking for so maybe I'm being a little unfair - it shouldn't have the work think in the title as it is really just about food.
Published 9 months ago by Hamish


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever and thought-provoking, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Julian Baggini considers, very thoughtfully, the way we produce, process and consume food and the morality of various positions such as vegetarianism, locavorism and fair trade. What makes this book so valuable is that it unpacks the standard articulation of each issue and probes into the evidence and possible alternatives. Should we eat more locally and less organically? Does being a locavore mean we shun fair trade? What is refreshing is the lack of finger-waving and tutting. Moral questions are considered but without recourse to rants or evangelical sermonising. Everyone, particularly our latte-drinking urban-based politicians, should read this book and then think about what they put into their mouths. If this book teaches anything, it teaches the reader to think carefully about food and to think again. One of the best books I have read on food production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Bluebell (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this an interesting book, especially the early chapters that discussed such things as the carbon footprints of foods based on the geographical sources, with some surprises, and the ethics of different dietary regimes, such as vegetarian v. omnivorous. The author is on shakier ground when he ventures into the medical/nutritional aspects of eating. I found the later chapters less good and rather long-winded with less substance, but overall I enjoyed the book and found it worth-reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very Interestng, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virtues of the Table: How to Eat and Think (Paperback)
totally advise this book, the subject is really actual and author not trying to demonize any of the parts. go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the virtues of the table, 7 Feb 2014
By 
David Jaques (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virtues of the Table: How to Eat and Think (Paperback)
an excellent read, natural common sense as usual provided by Julian Baggini - how to eat sensibly and enjoy proper food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit idiosyncratic, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the book I was looking for so maybe I'm being a little unfair - it shouldn't have the work think in the title as it is really just about food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Virtues of the Table: How to Eat and Think
The Virtues of the Table: How to Eat and Think by Julian Baggini (Paperback - 2 Jan 2014)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews