Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story about a case about a story about a case.
Story:
In the 1983 convicted killer Jeffrey MacDonald sued author Joe McGinniss for writing a biased account of his case ('Mcginniss Joe : Fatal Vision (Signet)'). He nearly won.
Janet Malcolm takes a psychoanalytical into what caused half the jury to vote in favour of a man who had just been convicted of murdering his pregnant wife and two children...
Published on 17 Feb. 2011 by JAKE MCAULEY

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the detective story I thought it was!
More factual than I was expecting but some interesting arguments, explores a real case and considers the motivations of the participants
Published 18 months ago by J MCEWAN


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story about a case about a story about a case., 17 Feb. 2011
Story:
In the 1983 convicted killer Jeffrey MacDonald sued author Joe McGinniss for writing a biased account of his case ('Mcginniss Joe : Fatal Vision (Signet)'). He nearly won.
Janet Malcolm takes a psychoanalytical into what caused half the jury to vote in favour of a man who had just been convicted of murdering his pregnant wife and two children.

Despite pulling out all the psychoanalytical stops for her investigation into the case, this book is exceptionally accessible to all.
Starting off her analysis of the whole debacle, Malcolm begins by creating analogies between those who open up to journalists and the subjects of Stanley Milgram's famous obedience experiments. It seems like a huge leap but Malcolm strongly believes that when we are in the presence of writers / journo's, we all tend to loose a our self control and become subservient to those throwing the questions - just as Milgram's subjects gave up their self control and followed the order to torture. In a nutshell Malcolm believes subjects are putty in the hands of their manipulative writers, therefore the journalist has a responsibility to deliver the truth without bias.

And this is the springboard for Malcolm's own journey.

Malcolm's investigation leads her on an expedition to find the bias in 'Fatal Vision' and prove her point (that Joe McGinniss was manipulative and deceitful in his account), but in doing so she is be becoming more and more partizan. It seems at one point 'the jokes on her'.
In the end Malcolm acknowledges her own predilection, but uses this only to prove her initial point that the writer a has all that power - which inevitably leads to corruption.

So yes writers are naughty with the facts, but they really can't help it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cleave the tautology of 'journalistic ethics', 21 Sept. 2005
In this beguiling work, Malcolm ascribes to the journalist-subject relationship the phenomenum which Heisenberg, working in atomic physics, characterised as the uncertainty principle: namely that through the process of observation, the observer alters the outcome.
To explore the question, she studies a curious legal case in which a triple-murderer successfully sued an author who reported his case: the jury ruled that the writer had wilfully and maliciously misled the convict to such a degree that he was liable, to the tune of $350k, for his subject's wounded feelings.
Malcolm, in forensic detail, attempts to determine the point at which journalistic licence becomes outright lying; and the point at which humouring a subject in order to extract a story becomes manipulation.
Although at times dry, and at others veering towards being sanctimonious, any working journalist who is not too proud or too self-deluded will at least feel uncomfortable pangs - even if they are not finally persuaded that their trade is 'morally indefensible.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars strongly recommended, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journalist and the Murderer (Paperback)
This is a deeply provocative work - in the best sense of the term - and one which raises some basic questions about the trade of journalism. It is also extremely well-written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the detective story I thought it was!, 21 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
More factual than I was expecting but some interesting arguments, explores a real case and considers the motivations of the participants
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant analysis of an incredibly strange, 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant analysis of an incredibly strange, morally complicated relationship between a journalist and a convicted murderer. The real thrill of it is that Janet Malcolm, despite her careful tone, clearly hates Joe McGinniss. She's a journalist as well mind you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars janet malcolm - new journalism, 7 Sept. 2013
By 
Rudi "Lion" (the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journalist and the Murderer (Paperback)
An article in a weekly magazine portrayed three female writers of New Journalism (1960s) so I browsed and ordered some recommended work, one of which this book. It does illustrate very well the trappings a wrter / journalist may face. Enjoyed it thoroughly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well packaged, timely delivery, 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journalist and the Murderer (Paperback)
I'm quite happy with the punctuality of my delivery!

I was recommended this book in one of my journalism classes and it's a great read so far! Definitely makes you think about the media, crime and the fascination with it all! Must-read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Dec. 2014
By 
sookycat (Fife/ Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journalist and the Murderer (Paperback)
fantastic read for any book enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is total rubbish, 13 Jun. 2011
This book has to be the worst purchase I have ever made just pure trash and a waste of money I cannot for the life of me figure out that they found a publisher to print it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Journalist and the Murderer
The Journalist and the Murderer by Janet Malcolm (Paperback - 7 Jun. 2012)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews