Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scapegoat Badger
It took me quite a while to read Patrick Barkham's book Badgerlands not because it is a bad book but the chapters on the cruelty, persecution and culling inflicted on badgers was upsetting and just made me put it down and try again in a few days. There are uplifting chapters on the descriptions of people being badger watchers and feeders. I am also glad that Mr. Barkham...
Published 13 months ago by Mr. D. Barker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Stuff
The Badger is one of the UKs largest native mammals, and it is also an animal that people have early seen because of its nocturnal habit. The most common sighting is a twisted corpse alongside a road. bark ham has never set eyes on a live one and the book starts by him visiting a couple of setts at night with the hope of glimpsing one of these enigmatic creatures. He...
Published 5 months ago by Half Man, Half Book


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scapegoat Badger, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. D. Barker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Badgerlands: The Twilight World of Britain's Most Enigmatic Animal (Hardcover)
It took me quite a while to read Patrick Barkham's book Badgerlands not because it is a bad book but the chapters on the cruelty, persecution and culling inflicted on badgers was upsetting and just made me put it down and try again in a few days. There are uplifting chapters on the descriptions of people being badger watchers and feeders. I am also glad that Mr. Barkham has at last been able to engage with badgers and his descriptions are also uplifting.
One professional reviewer describes Barkham's last chapter as superb. I agree. I was wondering if I was really going to get anything from the book because as an ecologist I was hopefully waiting for a positive dénouement. There it was in the final chapter. In 2006 when we then lived in Somerset we wrote to the National Farmers Union about the poor standards of animal husbandry that we were witnessing in Somerset. The response from the Director of Communications was that the standard of animal husbandry was an area of concern. He also said the NFU "did not normally give advice on husbandry to its members as traditionally that have been the province of Defra." He continues "However, we are actively considering the possibility of introducing a professional qualification for people who describe themselves as "farmers" with the object of raising standards and sorting out the bad apples".
Well seven years later there still seems to be a lot of "bad apples" out there and Barkham quotes six professional vets who insist that intensive dairy-farming has produced "mutant cows" unable to resist TB because of the appalling conditions and breeding they are subjected to. So we have made the badger the scapegoat for a deplorable situation. I have as much sympathy for farm animals as badgers and I don't wish to see any animal destroyed needlessly but the solution is not the random culling of a wild animal. Surely time for supermarkets to cough up some of their profits and pay farmers to ensure the welfare of their cows and raise standards and sort out the "bad apples". Politicians also need to understand this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot recomend this enough, 16 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Badgerlands: The Twilight World of Britain's Most Enigmatic Animal (Hardcover)
I had heard lot about this book, having followed the recent tragedy in our countryside where so many badgers have been needlessly killed, and I was not disappointed. It is absolutely beautifully written, weaving the reader into the spell of the countryside and night time vigils so you could almost feel you were there, but as other reviewers have said, it is done in an incredibly balanced way so that the reader can see the picture from all sides, to understand the perspective of both badger lovers and haters. Again like others, a couple of chapters I found very hard and upsetting to read regarding torture and persecution these wonderful animals have had to experience from humans for hundreds of years, but Patrick has done an excellent job at trying to keep any of his own sentimentality out, whilst still expressing the deep passion of 'badger feeders', and the conviction of the scientists and vets as to the real causes behind the cruelty inflicted and the issues of bTB. Even if you are someone who has had little interest in badgers I don't believe you could fail to learn and enjoy this book and realise the importance of these enigmatic creatures. The bTB issue is even more poignant now, as unbeknown at the time the book was written, the statistics on levels of disease have now been proven to have dropped far more than ascertained at the start of the badger cull, due to errors in the Defra computer system.

Any lover of wildlife and/or our countryside will find this a wonderful read, and those that aren't - well may just change their minds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid and sad, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Stewart M (Victoria, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Badgerlands: The Twilight World of Britain's Most Enigmatic Animal (Hardcover)
There are very few creatures that capture the mystery of the British countryside better than the badger – red squirrels and otters being the only other contenders.

So, a book about the place on Earth that has more badgers per square foot than anywhere else is almost certainly going to be a winner. The only thing that could hold back a book like this would be poor writing and dull characters.

This book has neither.

Starting with a consideration of why badgers hold such a special places in the imagination, then moving to their biology, with an entertaining section on those badger lovers who have often literally taken them into their homes. Finally (and probably) most importantly to the bovine TB issue, this book looks at many aspects of Badgerland.

Mr. Badger from Wind In the Willows is a main player in the first part, biological scientists in the second and mildly (OK, deeply) eccentric badger feeders also play their part.

We often meet the scientists again in the consideration of Bovine TB and badgers. It must be almost impossible to write a balanced account of this issue – but Barkham comes very, very near.

If the earlier sections on badger baiting do not make your blood boil, then the apparent way in which science (and its scientist) are being misused to bolster some form of political campaign probably will.

An excellent, sometimes saddening, occasionally amusing book.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FANTASTIC BOOK!!!!, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Badgerlands: The Twilight World of Britain's Most Enigmatic Animal (Hardcover)
I didn't know what to expect from this book, but I was captivated by it from start to finish. MARVELLOUS!
It is full of facts, figures, knowledge of the BADGER from someone (Patrick Barkham) who knows what they are talking about.
All "Wild Animal" lovers should read this and that should include David Cameron and his 'mates'!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars eye opening, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Badgerlands: The Twilight World of Britain's Most Enigmatic Animal (Hardcover)
a wonderful book its eye opening how the badger has been treated over the years .why should any one want to harm these beautiful animals ;it all so gives a very enlightening chapter on btb in cattle a must for wild life lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A topical read., 12 Nov 2013
By 
ledette (Welsh Coast) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Badgerlands: The Twilight World of Britain's Most Enigmatic Animal (Hardcover)
Bought this for someone who could not get to the extermination sites in Glos. & Somerset. The book is both factual and at the same time a very important work for anyone with an interest in these persecuted ancient inhabitants of the British isles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent and well balanced read on a very tricky subject. Very sad at times when looking at the persecution Badgers face, but overall you get drawn into the wonderful world that is Badgerlands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful. Touching but unsentimental., 7 Jan 2014
By 
TheParisien (Paris , France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Badgerlands: The Twilight World of Britain's Most Enigmatic Animal (Hardcover)
If you havent read Barkham's previous work "The Butterfly Isles" then you might not be expecting this book to be quite this great. Barkham writes in a magically enthusiastic way about the British countryside, without becoming sentimental, and it is this that allows him to investigate our relationship with the badger in such a readable way. He succeeds in making this account just as personal as the Butterfly Isles. One can only hope that he continues to find topics which inspire him to write more. If you read this you ll find yourself emploring other people to do the same. It's the type of book which you want other people to have read too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars badgerlands badger bible, 14 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. J. D. Wantling "empress of britain" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Badgerlands: The Twilight World of Britain's Most Enigmatic Animal (Hardcover)
Patrick Barkham has done a great job here in covering the secret life of the badger and the book is easy to read and flows along smoothly. Plenty pages on bovine TB issue which is what I bought it for in the first place being as I wrote an article on Rochdale Online titled 'TB Not Infectious' which covers the shabby science and the shabby translation of a test result. It a pity that Patrick Barkham never covered the none-infectious theory in this book although perhaps he was not aware of it at the time. John Wantling, Rochdale, UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved and hated in equal measure, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Badgerlands: The Twilight World of Britain's Most Enigmatic Animal (Hardcover)
A timely publication which reviews the quintessential icon of the British countryside, loved and hated in equal measure? Barkham analyses the evident and attempts to understand the rationale of the non-scientific badger cull with no aftermath monitoring authorised by Owen Paterson, recently departed Minister for (or against) the Environment. His very readable style has a way of transporting the reader out there into the twilight which is this enigmatic creatures world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Badgerlands: The Twilight World of Britain's Most Enigmatic Animal
Badgerlands: The Twilight World of Britain's Most Enigmatic Animal by Patrick Barkham (Hardcover - 3 Oct 2013)
£15.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews