Customer Reviews


356 Reviews
5 star:
 (144)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (65)
2 star:
 (49)
1 star:
 (45)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Thoroughly Enjoyed This
Originally I was never going to read this book, after all it was the Booker winner and one person had led me to believe that it was about astrology. With that in mind I was rather dumbfounded why it has been one of the top ten bestselling books at my local bookshop for quite some time, and thus decided to give it the benefit of the doubt and actually read it. I did find...
Published 2 months ago by M. Dowden

versus
311 of 333 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A slave to its structure
The Luminaries is a tale of lies and deceit, fraud and vengeance, set amongst the goldfields of Western New Zealand in the 1860s. It was a time when men had dreams of getting rich very quickly based as much on luck as on hard work. But just as some are content to rely on the odds, others are willing to change the odds in their favour by nefarious means.

So when...
Published 11 months ago by MisterHobgoblin


‹ Previous | 125 26 2736 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winner, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Luminaries (Kindle Edition)
Fabulous book beautifully written with language used at it's most efficient! I can see exactly why it won and award!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars powerful narrative, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Luminaries (Kindle Edition)
A wonderfully authentic and mature style which conjures up both a strong sense of place and the early days of colonial expansion, with intriguing characters and a lively interaction between them, using frequent changes of narrator. The length of the book is only daunting to begin with, but the strongly woven tapestry soon wraps around one, and engenders a hope that the book will go on forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating book, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Luminaries (Kindle Edition)
Wasn't originally sure whether the style of the writing was going to prevent me from reading to the end. Fortunately however the story was gripping and in the event the style became one with the plot and the author succeeded in melding them into a wholly fascinating and addictive plotline. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the luminaries, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Graham Barks "cuffy" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Luminaries (Kindle Edition)
I am halfway through this novel and believe that it could have been shortened to be around this length in total. I have yet to read a booker prize winning novel that reaches expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Luminaries, 3 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Luminaries (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read! A worthy winner of the Booker Prize 2013! A great murder mystery novel. A bit slow to start but well worth it in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars five star......excellent reading, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Luminaries (Kindle Edition)
I do no wish to write a review
Thank you very much.......I wish to read another book which I just purchased.
Five star. Excellent reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG, I know why she won the Man Booker Prize!, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Luminaries (Hardcover)
When this book arrived from the lovely Amazon I wondered if I had made a dreadful mistake because the size of the book is rather off-putting to a full-time working mum of 2( 3 if you count hubby).
I decided to press on and give it a go, well done me, it's brilliant.
Buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting new read, 1 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Luminaries (Kindle Edition)
Not read all yet, but straight into story, has the feel of victorian britain so far and feels quite dark, not unlike jeykll and hyde. looking forward to funding out were this wil go. excellent read so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top read, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Luminaries (Kindle Edition)
It is a top read and deserves the accolade that it has received, would recommend to all that love reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe the hype ..., 23 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Luminaries (Hardcover)
I must admit to being a little daunted by the size of this novel but the Booker nod and stream of rave reviews definitely intrigued. To reassure, this is great literary writing, but it is also an infectious page turner and one of the most enjoyable novels I've read in a long time. If it goes all the way with the Booker I wouldn't be at all surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 125 26 2736 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Luminaries
The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton (Hardcover - 1 Aug 2013)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews