Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Upstairs & Downstairs - a child's perspective
Enormously interesting story of life for a young girl in a pre war country house environment and its impact on her life.She felt immensely priviledged to have had such a happy childhood in a world long since vanished and her stories from a child's vantage point of the "upstairs & downstairs" world are not to be missed.To me it is the genuine article warts...
Published on 8 April 2002 by geoff@geoffreydalton.com

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I was looking forward to this so much after having read various reviews some time ago, but was hugely disappointed. It is well written, but the subject matter became mundane and boring at times.
Published on 22 Mar 2012 by Pughie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Upstairs & Downstairs - a child's perspective, 8 April 2002
Enormously interesting story of life for a young girl in a pre war country house environment and its impact on her life.She felt immensely priviledged to have had such a happy childhood in a world long since vanished and her stories from a child's vantage point of the "upstairs & downstairs" world are not to be missed.To me it is the genuine article warts and all! Very well written and absorbing I read it thru at one sitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yesterday Morning - a very English childhood., 21 July 2009
By 
jan s (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely loved reading this book. It is beautifully written - literary, but not too erudite. It would appeal to those who enjoy social history, as well as auto-bios. As the author is in her eighties, her life spans an interesting historical period. It is an excellent "holiday" book" - I read it, whilst away, in a couple of days. I have now bought and read a later book, concerning her older life, by the same author which I enjoyed equally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yesterday Morning, 16 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved reading this elegantly written account of the childhood of Diana Athill. She writes with great honesty and kindness and she made me laugh. I look forward to reading all her other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fluently written and memorable, 10 Jan 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed this glimpse into a childhood which, although the author had material wealth, there lurked sadness under the surface - her parents' marriage was not a success. The descriptions of day to day life at her grandparents' 20 bedroom mansion were fascinating. This is not a book that I would normally have bought - but I would highly recommend it for its fluent and confident style and glimpse of a world long since gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 22 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was looking forward to this so much after having read various reviews some time ago, but was hugely disappointed. It is well written, but the subject matter became mundane and boring at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharply observed, 23 Jan 2012
By 
Bookie (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ms Athill's prose flows so easily, it's a joy to read. Her memory and account of events which took place more than 80 years ago are so lively and fresh. She makes them sound as if they happened yesterday.

Her memories are vivid and detailed giving the reader a priviliged view into a world long since disappeared. As social history her depictions of life, influences and events within her family and close circle are shrewdly accounted without affectation. She is honest, sharp and more than anything, amusing. She has such joie de vivre and sparkle. A truly fine book by a wonderful lady. I'm about to start on her two most recent works (Stet reviewed below covers her publishing years) to complete the circle of a most remarkable life. Thank you Ms Athill for sharing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Diana Athill's childhood memoir, 22 Feb 2014
By 
M. J. Stewart (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although quite a bit of this is repetitive if you've read "Instead of a Letter", I much enjoyed this book and her clear memory of what it was like to be a small girl, living much of the time in her imagination. She's very clear headed about her privileged life and the attitudes of those around her - which she fully overcame as an adult!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 24 Feb 2013
By 
J. R. Miles "Music novice" (sleaford england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yesterday Morning (Paperback)
What an amazing writer Diana is so consistent and extreemy vivid writing
I love the way you write please write more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good pleased ( i will not write words that I do not want to write even to make it 17 words)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost a Gentle Story, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On the surface this is about someone who has lead a very privileged childhood, but many of the occurrences will translate into the general experience of growing up for all levels of society. Diana is very honest about her experiences and this all adds up to a very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yesterday Morning
Yesterday Morning by Diana Athill (Paperback - 6 Oct 2011)
6.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews