Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting and easy to read
I bought this book as i had enjoyed Barbara Demick's book on North Korea. I found that as well as giving me more insight into the Bosnian/Serbian war, it showed the impact on the people who lived there and how difficult it was for civilians living in Sarajevo. As it is based on a collection of articles, there is some duplication of bits of information which could have...
Published 8 months ago by Moggiemiss

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disjointed and lacking cohesiveness
Very interesting and thought provoking to read about what people under siege have to live though to survive. Also about the very real danger that any moment you or someone you love might be killed, seemingly arbitrarily. However. The contents of the book to me lack real planning and flow. One moment it's this, then it's that. One family, then another, then back to the...
Published 7 months ago by Ginny W


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disjointed and lacking cohesiveness, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Besieged: Life Under Fire on a Sarajevo Street (Paperback)
Very interesting and thought provoking to read about what people under siege have to live though to survive. Also about the very real danger that any moment you or someone you love might be killed, seemingly arbitrarily. However. The contents of the book to me lack real planning and flow. One moment it's this, then it's that. One family, then another, then back to the first family? Or is it? Being unfamiliar with the language structure, people's names become little more than semi-familiar patterns in the text and it got very confusing about who was who, had they had part of the narrative previously, how? Also seemed to jump around all over the place in terms of topic.
For me, I needed more signposting by timeline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting and easy to read, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Besieged: Life Under Fire on a Sarajevo Street (Paperback)
I bought this book as i had enjoyed Barbara Demick's book on North Korea. I found that as well as giving me more insight into the Bosnian/Serbian war, it showed the impact on the people who lived there and how difficult it was for civilians living in Sarajevo. As it is based on a collection of articles, there is some duplication of bits of information which could have been avoided with better editing but for all that it is well written and you commect with the people she writes about,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only book to read about Bosnia, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Besieged: Life Under Fire on a Sarajevo Street (Paperback)
I am a really big fan of the author due to her book "nothing to envy" about North Korea. This book was another well written account of life in Bosnia when the terrible conflict was going on. I would recommend the book for anyone who is looking to understand the impact the war had on families and the wider communities and how the conflict left societies view on each other. It took me days to read because I couldn't put it down. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and haunting account of Sarajevo siege from a single street, 3 Jun 2012
By 
J. Coulton "Julia Coulton" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Besieged: Life Under Fire on a Sarajevo Street (Paperback)
It has always been an incredible thought for me that a relatively well developed city like Sarajevo, which only ten years prior to the war with Serbian was hosting stars like Torville and Dean in the Winter Olympics, was subjected to a horrifying siege for forty four months. American journalist Barbara Demick has just published an intimate account of the events of that time, through the experiences of the residents of a single street in the Bosnian capital. And her account of exactly what it was like to live through the siege in Logavina Street brings the horrors of war to life in a way no normal historical or political account could do.

Logavina Street is six blocks long, and at the time of the siege housed mainly Muslim families, although people from all ethnic backgrounds also lived there. Demick spent a couple of years amongst the people there, and tells from firsthand experience how their homes and lives were shattered by the incessant bombardment from Serbian guns in the hills around the city. It is also a story of proud resistance, as the inhabitants developed ingenious strategies to get by, and refused to give into the Serbian bullies.

Each day was a constant battle to get the basic necessities for living, like power, water, and what food could be had, which was not much at all. Some people managed to escape, most chose to stay and fight. And some of the little details here are the most powerful, like the women who made sure they went out with their hair dyed and make up in place, before dodging the snipers' bullets. Recounting such small acts of defiance are what makes this book an extraordinary read.

It's also shocking to read again about how long the Serbian army was allowed to continue to massacre the civilians of Sarajevo, while other nations looked on. As the trial of Serb leader Radovan Karadzi' for war crimes rumbles on, the book is an important reminder of just what happened to ordinary, innocent people in Bosnia as a result of his and others' actions. It is almost impossible to put down - Demick brings the full horror to a vivid reality by relating it to the everyday experiences of the men, women and children who had to live through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving, excellent read!, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Besieged: Life Under Fire on a Sarajevo Street (Paperback)
This was a fantastic idea - to focus on one street and people living on it. You will get attached to these brave individuals and be stunned of how determined and courageous a normal city dweller can become in times like this. This is a very straight forward book, it shows that the wold is not just black and white and everyone deserves to live with dignity but many people will never have this opportunity. It shows how useless big western armies can be and how heartless big organizations like the UN are
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you are visiting Bosnia - read this first!, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Besieged: Life Under Fire on a Sarajevo Street (Paperback)
This is the first book I read twice. I read prior to our trip to Sarajevo. The focus of the book is based on ordinary people living extraordinary lives who live on a particular city centre street. The book both moved and horrified me and I was appalled at the way these people had to live and the horrors they endured. During our visit, I needed to visit this street and photograph the street as it is now. When I returned, I immediately read the book again and I was more horrified than the first time. I put together a photobook re Bosnia and referred to this street with my powerful images.
A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very informative. Shows a world that was once peaceful and charming - and is now shattered. Extremely sad., 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Besieged: Life Under Fire on a Sarajevo Street (Paperback)
Very good book but I didn't get into it. Not personal enough unlike Demick's previous book. Very informative though. A difficult book. Enjoyment is not exactly the word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Besieged: Life Under Fire on a Sarajevo Street (Paperback)
I'm visiting Sarajevo this year so was interested in this account of how residents survived the seige of the early 1990s. While the author pays tribute to their courage and endurance, and clearly empathises deeply with them, she just does not bring them to life as three-dimensional characters. I had to keep looking back at the "dramatis personae" list at the beginning of the book, to remind myself who was who! Her style is very flat and too much like unimaginative reportage. If you compare this book with Katherine Boo's fully-realised portrait of a troubled community in "Behind the Beautiful Forevers", it's very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Besieged: Life Under Fire on a Sarajevo Street, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting read to have this conflict told by people who had to live through the bombings and sniping and also to suffer the near starvation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Astonishing Account of Ordinary People's Extraordinary Experiences, 8 April 2013
This review is from: Besieged: Life Under Fire on a Sarajevo Street (Paperback)
This is the fascinating true story of 10 families living on one street in Sarajevo, Logavina Street, during the siege. Demick certainly chose a great street - Logavina Street was home to Muslim, Croat and Serb families, including a couple of mixed families. It was also home to one of Sarajevo's most famous Serbs, General Jovan Divjak, a man who identified himself as an `Orthodox Bosnian' and who left the Yugoslav People's Army to defend the city he loved by helping build the fledgling Bosnian Army.

This book provides countless quotidian details about life during the siege as well as detailing the people of Sarajevo's courage, endurance and black humour (for example, one of the bleakest jokes of that bleak time, after the besiegers cut off the gas many Sarajevans relied upon for cooking and heating, was: What's the difference between Sarajevo and Auschwitz? Answer: Auschwitz had gas.) The book also includes siege recipes, for example, for meatless schnitzels (basically, grind up some stale bread, shape it into patties and fry it).

In this edition, Demick returns to Sarajevo in 2011 and catches up with the surviving residents of Logavina Street, as well as offering a sober assessment of Bosnia's future. Throughout the book, Demick's depictions of the people she interviews are sensitive and insightful. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Besieged: Life Under Fire on a Sarajevo Street
Besieged: Life Under Fire on a Sarajevo Street by Barbara Demick (Paperback - 5 April 2012)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews