Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glad I read it on my return from Colombia rather than before!
I had hoped to receive this book for Christmas and take it with me to Colombia when I travelled there in January this year to birdwatch. Fortunately I didn't buy it until after my return for although it is well written, it painted a very different Colombia from the one I found. Unlike some other reviewers, for me I found the links between his mother's illness and the...
Published 21 months ago by Pjhale

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad
Not bad. I enjoyed the description of the journey up the Magdalena and the characters and encounters Jacob's experienced along the way. Jaoob's intertwines the history of Columbia and the Magdalena well.

The element of the book that concentrates on Alzheimer's and flicks in and out throughout I found okay at first. Obviously very personal to Jacobs given both...
Published 9 months ago by Nico


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glad I read it on my return from Colombia rather than before!, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Pjhale - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Robber of Memories: A River Journey Through Colombia (Hardcover)
I had hoped to receive this book for Christmas and take it with me to Colombia when I travelled there in January this year to birdwatch. Fortunately I didn't buy it until after my return for although it is well written, it painted a very different Colombia from the one I found. Unlike some other reviewers, for me I found the links between his mother's illness and the Rio Magdalena, worked well. On a personal note, I too travelled near the Rio Magdalena at times and at one time was taken to the river bank by a friendly bus driver - "Mi tierra es su tierra". I did not travel as far south as Michael Jacobs did as I knew that area is still not safe. So enjoy this book but don't let it put you off visiting Colombia, much of which is now safe, friendly, beautiful and welcoming. Every Colombian I met asked me "How do you find Colombia?" I was travelling alone, much of the time by bus, staying in beautiful bird reserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memorable, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating and poignant book. It made me more determined than ever to visit Colombia - and to hang on to my memories as long as possible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, 8 Jan 2013
By 
Giles Edwards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Robber of Memories: A River Journey Through Colombia (Hardcover)
Michael Jacobs blends travelogue with literary, social, cultural and political history - as well as personal rumination on his mother's illness. It is beautiful, magical, transporting you to the very many places along the Magdalena which, having read it, you will want to visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars required reading for fans of Colombia, 24 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Robber of Memories: A River Journey Through Colombia (Hardcover)
As someone who knows Colombia well, I can recommend this book. I am hoping to visit the area Michael covers in the Spring of next year, when I go again on holiday. I have followed parts of the Magdalena when journeying from Medellin to Bogota and it really is magical country.
To anyone who is thinking of going to Colombia, I say : "Go!" Leave your prejudices behind. It is a beautiful land; the people are warm, open and hospitable and it is safe. The present, and previous, governments of Presidents Uribe and Santos have moved heaven and earth to end the civil conflict, and it is happening now.
You will be safe......and stunned by the country!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Robber of Memories: A River Journey Through Colombia (Hardcover)
I've never been to Colombia so wasn't sure that this book would have much traction for me: how wrong I was. It's a terrific read, a wonderful portrayal of the country, its tragic recent history and political incompetence, of its great river and touchingly of the author's Colombian friends and acquaintances. It had me reaching for flight timetables - until the last section of the book which describes FARC's tragicomic attempt to improve its public image. Two small reservations. The reflections on memory and its loss added little, despite the subject's obvious personal significance for the author. And, a shame (as so often with books grounded in a particular geographic location) that the sketch map is inadequate. But, nonetheless, superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars stuart, 2 Jan 2013
By 
Stuart Lamb "swl582001" (Astrakhan russia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Robber of Memories: A River Journey Through Colombia (Hardcover)
Having lived in Colombia, and knowing this river it was a great read for me, also the part about his mothers illness was sad for me as my aunt had just gone through a similar period of life and then pasted away, all in all a very heart rendering read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Robber O Memories:, 7 Dec 2012
If you like travel books this is a mustread, Colombia is shown to be such a fantastic country. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Robber of Memories: A River journey through Colombia, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Robber of Memories: A River Journey Through Colombia (Hardcover)
I rate this book highly because it was easy to read, interesting, gave me an insight into a country I know quite well. It was a journey that could not have been undertaken unless one was a fluent Spanish speaker. It had a good deal of suspense and the ending when they reached the headwaters of the Magdalena was tense in the extreme. The theme of Garcia Marquez' memory loss, its connection to both his parents who were suffering with the same afflication gives an insight into a worldwide problem of Alzheimer's - and yet we were still rolling along on a travel story along the Magdalena river. Fascinating to learn that in one region through which the river passes, entire populations have been stricken with a rare strain of early onset Alzheimer's. A touching meditation on the nature of forgetfulness and forgetting woven into an exhilarating travel account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More than a travel book, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice story when you are interested in Colombia. Traveling towards the source of the Magdalena river is a interesting and sometimes strange and even a dangerous trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful travel journey!, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very enthusiastic, well written, personal travel journey. A combination of passion for traveling, writing, and literature. It shows how important culture and art are in reflecting our daily lives, the environment we're living in and to ourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Robber of Memories: A River Journey Through Colombia
The Robber of Memories: A River Journey Through Colombia by Michael Jacobs (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2012)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews