Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read
This could indeed have been a very different sort of book - but I think this first hand description of a tremendously significant phenomenon - the birth of modern Israel - albeit a small-scale view through the eyes of someone who barely understands what she is seeing and has little or no sense of the historical background of where she finds herself, is at least as valid a...
Published 23 months ago by Mrs AG

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars New beginnings
Interesting story as I knew very little about Israel/Palestine. Not impressed with the writing however.
Published 2 months ago by megan cahill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Mrs AG (Winchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When I Lived in Modern Times (Paperback)
This could indeed have been a very different sort of book - but I think this first hand description of a tremendously significant phenomenon - the birth of modern Israel - albeit a small-scale view through the eyes of someone who barely understands what she is seeing and has little or no sense of the historical background of where she finds herself, is at least as valid a record of human experience as a much more serious, analytical account would have been.
Evelyn is in search of an identity but her adoption of Jewishness is complicated by her growing awareness that there are many kinds of Jew, and all of them are angry with the country she's just come from. When she arrives she's surprised to find that she feels more British than Jewish, but in Palestine she's surrounded by British soldiers and their wives with an innate sense of superiority and a misplaced sense of fair play wholly inappropriate to the prevailing cultural complexities.
The book begins in a deceptively lightweight sort of way and slowly gathers momentum. It's written in a simple, economical style that seems of a piece with Evelyn's personality, not literary but direct and engaging. It was good at conveying the contrast between the brash, modern city of Tel Aviv with it's white walls and straight lines, and the centuries-old instabilities inherent in a place where races and cultures mingle and refugees from the second world war are pouring in and expecting to find The Promised Land.
There's a great sense of place - the brilliant light of Palestine, under which you might think that it would be very hard to conceal anything - a light which, as she describes it, has a merciless quality which, together with the melting pot of cultures living under it, goes some way to explain the violence that rumbles around Evelyn as she goes about what she trusts will be the everyday business of doing the hair of middle class ladies and falling in love with a handsome young man.
I liked the portraits of her neighbours and of the British wives who come to her salon, done in quick sketches rather than in depth but vivid enough to seem real, mostly by way of reported conversations which made me laugh quite a lot - Mrs Linz with her diatribes against men and domesticity, Mrs Linz's child who is always referred to as "the child" (wonderfully enigmatic and very funny), Mrs Mackintosh, the ebullient Johnny, Blum the landlord and the complacent Boltons who turn out to be her escape route when things become very dangerous indeed.
I liked the way she puts herself firmly at the centre of it all, not just what she thinks and does, but what she feels, what her body feels - her physical relationship with Johnny, the weather on her skin, her periods - and her insistence on the reality of the interior life while her lover Johnny has nightmares although he claims he never dreams.
She moves through this new world rather as I feel I might have done, noticing everything, feeling herself to be the centre of everything, and only gradually becoming aware of the fact that she has been noticed, singled out for nefarious purposes by people with their own agendas. She notices everything but at the same time it's as if the external world is a little unreal to her - her interior world is her reality. Suddenly she is way out of her depth and in grave danger as she realises she's being used... And so with little warning to the reader, the book becomes a very different sort of story to the one it started out to tell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating personal odyssey, 24 Jan 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "tdawson735" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'When I Lived in Modern Times' is a beautifully written story of a young Jewish girl's search for her personal identity as she exchanges a post-war England for the last days of Palestine under British colonial rule.

The story moves from one of the original Jewish kibbutz to the brand-new city of Tel Aviv as Evelyn Sert attempts to reinvent herself as one of the new Jews. Her encounters with the English expatriates plus her involvement with the fringes of the Irgun and Haganah resistance movements are a complicated mixture of changing personal attitudes and an uncertainty as to where her future really lies.

The wheel goes a full circle and, many years later, her final visit to Tel Aviv underlines her original uncertainty over her role in the creation of Eretz Israel - and her near-disillusionment over what has actually been created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent perspective on the Middle East, 25 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
By writing a novel set at the beginning of the Israeli state, immediately after WWII, from the perspective of a young Jewish woman full of hope for the future, Linda Grant manages to highlight many of the issues that have caused such strife through the 20th century in a way that allows us to understand the behaviour of all involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When I Lived in Modern Times (Paperback)
She's a very good story teller, with very interesting subject matter. It's hard to put down. She writes very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the finest novels I have ever read, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When I Lived in Modern Times (Paperback)
Quite simply, one of the finest novels I have ever read, both entertaining and intellectually stimulating. I'm already pursuing other fiction by Linda Grant. She writes the way I've always wished I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars New beginnings, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When I Lived in Modern Times (Paperback)
Interesting story as I knew very little about Israel/Palestine. Not impressed with the writing however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting story of a somewhat forgotten episode, 14 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When I Lived in Modern Times (Paperback)
Well written account of pre-partition Palestine from a secular Zionist perspective although the plot of the novel seems a little artificial at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay from a historical perspective, 14 Sep 2012
By 
Gill Payne (North Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ploughed through this to the bitter end, although I did struggle with it a bit. I got bored with the storyline.

I kept on with it as it provided an interesting historical perspective into the birth of the modern Israel and I like to learn about things that are new to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 27 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book flows along nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A cheap kindle offer for me; but not as enjoyable to read as I had hoped...., 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got through this, but didn't enjoy it all that much to be honest; it felt like a chore to read. Although I'd advise you to read other reviews and don't be put off reading it by me. Others I know have enjoyed it and have it down as a classic. I just found the history a bit too clunky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When I Lived in Modern Times
When I Lived in Modern Times by Linda Grant (Paperback - 6 Jan 2011)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews