Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Instant History
The authors have now written three of these books - one for each term of the Labour government. This is the best; naturally, because it has the extra perspective of the fall of Labour. The book maintains the focus of the previous books, on what was done by government and on its effect on us, the voters; and is is all the better for that.

So, if you're looking...
Published on 2 Jan 2011 by Tufnell Paul

versus
17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A very poor book
This is one of the worst books I have read in a long time. It purpose it's to provide a verdict on Labours record in government but it delivers way off the mark. A complete lack of narrative (yes, even non-fiction should have one), contradicting points, poor editing, a complete lack of sources and incomparable data all contribute to this being a total waste of time and...
Published on 29 Sep 2011 by Iain Delworth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Instant History, 2 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The authors have now written three of these books - one for each term of the Labour government. This is the best; naturally, because it has the extra perspective of the fall of Labour. The book maintains the focus of the previous books, on what was done by government and on its effect on us, the voters; and is is all the better for that.

So, if you're looking for the answer to the two monster questions of the Labour in power (Why did TB, who was clearly so conscious of his place in history, squander all his political capital on a quixotic escapade in Iraq? And, why did GB, who fought so long and hard to get to Number 10, arrive there with no plan whatsoever?), you'll have to look elsewhere.

What do we get? An exhaustive catalogue of the scattershot initiatives addressing primary, secondary and tertiary education, poverty, the health service and other Labour red button items. The authors just about make sense of things in education, primary at least, and health, but coherence and focus are harder to discern in law & order, poverty and foreign policy.

Many good things happened between 1997 and 2010, but the authors are never certain whether they would have happened anyway. For example, the crime rate went down in all over the western world, not just in the UK. Nor are the authors clear whether most of the good was being done with borrowed money - borrowed by the government itself, on and off balance sheet, borrowed by the public on the back of a property bubble, or borrowed (or worse) by the City and then handed over to the government in the form of taxes.

The economy is the weakness of the book. The authors don't feel able to take a position on this. Perhaps it's just too early to do so. The other gap is Iraq. Perhaps we will never know whether we are more or less safe in our beds as a result of the invasion of Iraq.

Still I was sleeping easier as a result of what labour did to primary schools and the health service. Now the barbarians have taken the citadel, I rest less easy.

Please read this book. It's clear, objective and fair-minded. It's not complete, but there is a lot historical analysis to go yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A very poor book, 29 Sep 2011
By 
Iain Delworth (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the worst books I have read in a long time. It purpose it's to provide a verdict on Labours record in government but it delivers way off the mark. A complete lack of narrative (yes, even non-fiction should have one), contradicting points, poor editing, a complete lack of sources and incomparable data all contribute to this being a total waste of time and money. I really enjoy reading Polly Toynbee in the Guardian but this book was a complete let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Weak, Weak, Weak left wing drivel!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Verdict, 9 July 2012
By 
M. Illingworth (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting book with one or two controversial views expressed. Well worth reading if you like this sort of political book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A whitewash, 25 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: The Verdict: Did Labour Change Britain? (Paperback)
I was bought this. I read it and it was awful. It cherry-picked through the Labour years making everything rosy. The Labour politicians were the best we have ever had; the decisions they made were brave and crusading and shown later to be totally correct in every way etc etc. It gets very tiresome after a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Helping Polly Stick to her Principals, 8 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. David R. Bates (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Verdict: Did Labour Change Britain? (Paperback)
Do not buy this book - on BBC R4 Any Questions? on Fri 7th Dec Polly pointed out she was boycotting Amazon. Please help her in her quest for righteousness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The New Labour socialist revolution, 21 May 2013
Sugar coated propagandistic drivel from Polly the champagne socialist.Do we expect a fair assessment from a woman who said the New Labour was the best government of her life time? No of course not. New Labour was a terrible tide of destruction which accelerated the decline and decay of this country.

The destruction of civil liberties, revolutionary changes to the constitution, the end of the neutrality of the civil service, government based on spin, 90 percent increase on spending on the welfare state (the road to serfdom), "education, education, education" said Mr. Blair only to further erode the quality of our education system, the consummation of the conversion of our police force from public servants there to prevent crime to massive bureaucracy there to protect the state and solve crime statistically after the fact, two absolutely disastrous wars which have failed miserably to achieve anything of worth, CCTV spread onto every street and avenue, attempt at introducing ID cards to make us serfs,the hugely irresponsible fake credit boom and subsequent economic collapse, the bloated state slithering its tentacles into every area of our lives....

I can't go on, it makes me too angry. This book is a disgraceful attempt to sugar coat just how bad the 13 year New Labour reign was by a ideologue extremist left wing journalist who is unscrupulousness and utterly dishonest and hypocritical, she hones her dogmatic socialist ideals from her holiday home in Tuscany and cares not a jot about that great unthinking mass 'the working class' that she constantly patronises and who she knows nothing of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant analysis, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent, balanced and honest account of events. Should be required reading for everyone, particularly when you see what the present Tory-led government are doing to our country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They most certainly did!, 1 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: The Verdict: Did Labour Change Britain? (Paperback)
Labour really did change the face of the UK during their time in power. They deliberately allowed millions of poor people to come and settle in Britain, live off benefits, all in exchange for their votes. That is why the country is in the mess it finds itself in today, millions more mouths to feed and people to house, educate etc etc. The last Labour administration, Blair, Brown etc will go do in history as the men that destroyed Great Britain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD SERVICE, 4 Sep 2011
Bought this as a Christmas present, but think I might have to buy it again! A great read for anyone involved in regeneration throughout the labour period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Verdict: Did Labour Change Britain?
The Verdict: Did Labour Change Britain? by David Walker (Paperback - 6 Oct 2011)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews