Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bite-sized
Overall I enjoyed this book. The idea of using a hypothetical scenario as an introduction to a great philosophical idea or problem is a good one as it does not require the reader to have any previous knowledge or understanding of the subject. This means that anyone can pick this book up and immediately be introduced with ease to a subject they previously knew nothing...
Published on 31 Oct 2005 by Cold_Water

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars The arguments that don't want to be expanded
In principle, the book is great. 100 chapters with a scenario-based thought experiment in each. However, the undertaking is too great for such a short book. Each chapter has a great set-up where it puts forward a theoretical scenario. In the majority of cases, the page or so of discussion fails in most instances to effectively engage in enough depth with the key issues...
Published 2 months ago by PhilipStirups


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bite-sized, 31 Oct 2005
By 
Overall I enjoyed this book. The idea of using a hypothetical scenario as an introduction to a great philosophical idea or problem is a good one as it does not require the reader to have any previous knowledge or understanding of the subject. This means that anyone can pick this book up and immediately be introduced with ease to a subject they previously knew nothing about.
The wide range of scenarios and ideas presented is also useful as it means if you are not interested in one thing on offer there is likely to be something else for you. As well, it also means that if you have read about something before and know a bit about it this book does not feel like re-visited territory. The sceanarios that are linked to each other are referenced at the end of each segment so if you are interested in that specific theme then you can go straight to the next thought experiment without having to read through a load of others first, which is another useful feature.
The only thing about this book I was vaguely dissatisfied with was the because of the huge number of ideas presented here sometimes it felt like you were just being offered a taste of a much larger subject when you wanted to know more about it. Because of the very nature of the book I realise that this should be the way the ideas are presented but occasionally this meant it was slightly unfufilling to read.
However, it has prompted me to go on and read more about those areas I was interested in so perhaps it did a great job after all! If you do not know much about philosophy and are keen to get a broad, easily accessable overview then this book is excellent. However, if you already know what you are interested in and like to learn about in it any great depth this book is not designed for you. Pretty good though - interesting and provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't read this in one sitting, 5 April 2006
By 
Stephen A. Haines (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Douglas Adams posed many a philosophical question in his works. For some, the most hilarious - or disturbing, was the meal that introduced itself and recommended certain portions for consumption. In a society fully detached from the processing of living flesh into oven-ready tidbits, Adams portrayal of "the pig that wants to be eaten" seems outlandish. Yet, is there truly a moral issue in developing a food that not only embraces the opportunity to be consumed, but has the capacity to help the diner choose the more desireable cut. ?
Julian Baggini poses this and ninety-nine other questions in this tantalising collection. Many of the topics he raises have been with us for millennia - remaining unresolved today. The author draws the old questions to centre stage, clad in modern finery and make-up. The new appearance helps bring the reader into the questions with a greater sense of comfort, one hopes. But when the last line has been read, it's clear that this isn't just an entertaining recasting of old conundrums, but of serious issues we confront daily. Reading them all in one go could be dangerous to your mental health!
Many readers will have encountered these issues previously: if your brain is transplanted to another body, are you still you? Or if that bastion of "consciousness" is instead placed in a vat of nutrients and wired into a computer that feeds it sensory information, are you still "real"? If your ATM grants you ten thousand dollars when you asked for a hundred, are you "morally bound" to return it [assuming the bank's auditors can't track where it went]? On a lighter note, we might consider whether a sculpture produced by Nature is a work of art. If it is, who sets a value on it? How much would you pay for it?
Baggini manages to prompt us with [mostly] plausible circumstances and definitely important questions. He does it in a couple of pages dedicated to each, and never provides a satisfactory answer to any of them. That's right and proper, since the questions posed must be applied by the reader to their own circumstances. He raises questions of who can pollute and the options confronting us all on how far our committments can reach in an increasingly interconnected world. The author's style is that of a fellow commuter on the bus or train every morning. The reading is easy, the format is simple. And each question generates long periods of reflection or exchanges over a beer. Few are resolved easily. [stephen a. haines - Ottawa, Canada]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Think for yourself!, 16 Dec 2009
By 
J. Vernon (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a book of a 100 `thought experiments' to provoke us into thinking - thinking about moral and philosophical issues. Each chapter presents a story, often developed from the ideas of a famous philosopher such as Plato, Descartes, Berkeley, Rawls or from more populist authors such as Philip Dick and Douglas Adams. Baggini then discussed the issue raised in a few paragraphs, so that each chapter is exactly 3 pages long and the book 300 pages long.

I first met Julian Baginni at a `Sea of Faith' conference - or rather I heard a talk of his on `Selfhood', without talking to him personally. His lecture was entertaining and approachable, yet touched on profound issues. So I was inclined to buy one of his (several) books when browsing in a bookshop a few months ago.

The format of the book encourages you to pick it up and put it down at short intervals, while one digests the individual chapters. At first I thought it slightly lightweight. Some of the thought experiments did not quite work for me - maybe I chafed against the necessary restrictions and unreality of artificial, fanciful `thought experiment' situations. I could see that some raised important and tricky issues, but then felt unsatisfied by the mere few paragraphs that Baggini used to cover the issue, leaving many things unresolved. I even put the book down for a few weeks (though that is a common thing I do, since I often read many books in parallel).

When I picked it up again, I found familiar issues returning with a fresh perspective, and further commentary. I started to follow the connections to other chapters he suggests, and re-read earlier ones. I started to make notes on the book. Themes started to emerge from the mist. Baggini deliberately jumbles up the themes - but ultimately you realise that they are all related. So the book gained depth and weight, as I read backwards and forwards. I became more and more interested, and appreciated his self-restraint in limiting his commentary in each chapter. Instead a more resonant meta-commentary was emerging. I realised the author is an eternal questioner and is forever prising apart our `rationality' our `morality' our `common sense'. He does not propose evangelical solutions, but leaves a huge, sparkling scepticism hanging in the air, like stars in the night sky.

As an example, thought experiment #89 is titled `Kill and let die'. Here a man at a junction box knows a runaway train is going to kill 20 men in a tunnel, but he can divert the train to another track where he knows for certain it will kill only 5 men. What should he do? The Benthamite philosophy of the greatest good for the greatest number would dictate he flicks the switch to kill only the 5 men, rather than let the 20 men die. Doing nothing causes the greater harm, but flicking the switch requires an act on his part which is tantamount to choosing to kill the 5 men on the other track.

The thought experiment rules require that we introduce no excuses about uncertainty or a third way; by remorselessly focusing on this dilemma it forces us to decide and clarify our fuzzy, contradictory thoughts. So Baggini is charmingly slamming us up against a brick wall with a loaded gun to our heads, and forcing us to think, to work things out for ourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can philosophy really be fun? Yes, it can!, 20 Aug 2005
By 
Dr. George L. Sik (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If, like me, you agree that 'philosophy's a clever word for not enough to do' (Mitch Benn) or believe that 'philosophers spend their time giving advice to people who are happier than they are' (Tom Lehrer), this book will shatter your preconceptions. It's fun, thought-provoking and great for dipping in and out of. All the 'biggies are there' from Descartes to Zeno, from Jean-Paul Sartre to Bertrand Russell, but it is the clarity, simplicity and humour of the book which sells the subject, bringing in everything from Coronation Street to Big Brother to the ultimate nightmare England manager Glenn Robson-Keeganson. It not only makes philosophy, morality and ethics enjoyable but - and this sounds barely believable - succeeds in making them seem relevant...easier said than done in today's world. The expression 'it makes you think' has been reduced to a cliche these days, but here it really does apply. Buy it - you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Philosophy made easy and interesting, 1 Sep 2005
By 
K. Mcdougall "keithmc" (Wokingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Came across this book by chance in a review in the Sunday Times and went online to order it. When it came I could hardly put it down - truly fascinating and thought provoking.
Julian Baggini has pulled together 100 stories that make you think about your own perception of the world, right and wrong, your own morale's without forcing one view or opinion on the reader. The format of the book makes it very easy to pick it up whenever you have 5 mins free and just read one or a couple of the stories.
I have used the stories with my friends and I have recommended the book to many friends and colleagues. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a simple yet thought provoking book, or wondering what philosophy is all about or simply curious to find out if a tree falls down in a forest with no-one around whether it makes a sound or not - it doesn't ;) (or does it...?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant!, 3 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pig That Wants to be Eaten: And Ninety-Nine Other Thought Experiments (Paperback)
Finally I have found a suitable introduction to philosophy. After much searching and frustrated struggling through complicated books fulls of philosophical jargon this book came as a breath of fresh air.

Complicated philosophical and ethical problems and ideas are presented in bite-sized, easily digestible chunks. Most importantly, I feel, each problem is presented along with a (mostly) real life example. This was immensely helpful for illustrating complicated philosophical concepts, especially things such as "the true nature of reality" and "the subjectivity of experiences" et cetera. There are, of course, some things that are simply too complicated to express entirely through a "tangible" example, but the author does a brilliant job of trying.

This book is wide and shallow rather than narrow and deep. The topics are not covered in great detail, but I think it's enough to whet the readers appetite and give them a stable groundwork on which more complicated texts can build. Books such as Think: A Compelling Introduction to Philosophy and The Philosophy Book, which I have found assume a little prior knowledge of the topic, would be my recommended next steps.

I would whole-heartedly recommend this book to anyone, philosopher or not, as it presents interesting and sometimes quite thorny philosophical arguments in an easy-to-understand format. It really makes you think about things too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food for thought - a Baggini baguete!, 24 Nov 2006
By 
Alan Urdaibay - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Baggini has collected an entertaining and eclectic list of 100 moral problems from many sources for us to ponder over. The problems have an everyday feel to them that adds to their discussion-worthiness. Short and sweet, each need occupy no larger chunk of time than the average tea break. Baggini follows each problem with a short commentary of his own intended to provoke further thought. He does point you in a certain direction in his usual common-sense way but does not beat you about the head and is perfectly happy to leave an issue wide open. In terms of readability and relevance to everyday life this collection knocks spots off '101 Philosophy Problems' by Martin Cohen, which is strained by comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, easy philosophy, 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Pig That Wants to be Eaten: And Ninety-Nine Other Thought Experiments (Paperback)
This is a great book, no doubt about it. It is a really interesting and easy way into many of the world's philosophical disciplines and arguments. Each section offers a good analogy or story to exemplify the different conundrums. A real book load of thought experiments.

What I like about this book, though, is it doesn't offer any answers, but more often than not, leaves you with more questions to ponder over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The arguments that don't want to be expanded, 11 Aug 2014
In principle, the book is great. 100 chapters with a scenario-based thought experiment in each. However, the undertaking is too great for such a short book. Each chapter has a great set-up where it puts forward a theoretical scenario. In the majority of cases, the page or so of discussion fails in most instances to effectively engage in enough depth with the key issues. Most chapters end on an ambiguous note - "it could be this, or it could be this". I would have liked a bit more of his own opinion. Overall, a nice idea and a good way of acquainting yourself with some moral issues, but superficial, pop-philosophy gets in the way of the book reaching its full potential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 13 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Kindle sample is, unusually, not taken from the beginning of the book, but is a carefully selected set. Unfortunately, they are the best. Buying the book and hoping for more of the same quality proved unsuccessful. Too many of these thought experiments were repetitions from elsewhere with no original contribution from the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pig That Wants to be Eaten: And Ninety-Nine Other Thought Experiments
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews