Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fascinating insight!, 18 May 2008
As a parent, grandparent and teacher I am fascinated by this amazing book. We put our own interpretations on to what we think babies are thinking and feeling and this super book gives a completely different story. It is highly informative, funny and fascinating. It is also very accessible for lay people like me. If you have any involvement with babies and very young children, I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have guide for truly empathic parenting, 14 Jun 2009
By 
S. V. Laing (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Baby in the Mirror: A Child's World from Birth to Three (Paperback)
I absolutely love this book! As a clinical psychologist with a background in developmental psychology, I've had enough of the "How to" guides to parenting that suggest the 'wrong' and 'right' ways to bring up a child. What Charles Fernyhough does, through The Baby in the Mirror, is illuminate the much neglected concept of the child as an individual. The need to relate to and understand a child as a unique person in his/her own right quickly becomes clear, rendering the "one size fits all' approach to child rearing rightly obselete.

This book manages to demonstrate, in an accessible way, how some of the latest scientific research can be applied to help us make sense of and understand the world of a young child. This is enhanced by Fernyhough's tender and sensitive recollections of his daughter's early years. It really is a beautifully written book.

I have bought copies of this book for most of my friends and family members with young children and it has been a resounding success. I don't think there's anything else quite like it currently on the market and I really can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book, 12 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Baby in the Mirror: A Child's World from Birth to Three (Paperback)
I had been looking for a long time for a book which would give me some insight into congnative development rather than physical developement. I got a huge amount out of it and could read it again for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and Entertaining, 27 Nov 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this. It's intelligent, thoughtful and heartwarming. So much is written about mothers and their children that it's great to have a different perspective. There's lots of really interesting child development research that I knew nothing about, but it's far from being a dry text book read. This is a book that should be essential for anyone working with young children or interested in Psychology, but it's not just for students or practitioners, it's a good read.
I'd recommend it to anyone without children and everyone with them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written; very enjoyable read, 22 July 2008
By 
C. Donnelly (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book after an excellent Guardian Family section piece, with an interest in psychology (and psychotherapy) - I wasn't disappointed. It is beautifully written and interweaves scientific detail with a touching, at times funny and personal father's account of his own child's journey of discovery and mental growth. The level of understanding, as the previous reviewer states, is perfect for trained psychologist and layman alike and the text is written in a non-patronising and non-assuming manner. Charles Fernyhough's passion for this subject and his personal investment in this project shines through in this book and although there are times you know he wishes he could put the camera/notebook/tape recorder down and just enjoy the moment, his commitment to sharing his findings is to be applauded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 29 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Baby in the Mirror: A Child's World from Birth to Three (Paperback)
Anyone who's interested in the mind of a child will enjoy this book. I particularly enjoyed the first part about the development of a baby's brain, even from conception. A very original book full of scientific fact as well as a father's poignant observations of his little girl. A lovely read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very accessible, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book which charts the language development of babies. Very accessible to the non-expert and beautifully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Science and an engrossing story, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A skilfully related journey - weaving science and fascinating story. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Would like to read Athena's review sometime...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely look inside the mind of an infant/ toddler, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Baby in the Mirror: A Child's World from Birth to Three (Paperback)
I read this book through my first daughter's first year and loved comparing her progress to the baby in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful book, 3 Jun 2013
By 
Fnpig "kmccra15" (Glasgow, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Baby in the Mirror: A Child's World from Birth to Three (Paperback)
Excellent service delievered promptly for a useful book by a good author. Recommended if you require analysis of 0-3 child interactions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Baby in the Mirror: A Child's World from Birth to Three
The Baby in the Mirror: A Child's World from Birth to Three by Charles Fernyhough (Paperback - 6 April 2009)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews