Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it
I found this book just by chance and really believe that it's a treasure.

I got it for a student of mine who hates math. He's 12 years old, just like Robert in the story, really active, more interested in any computer game than anything having to have to do with school, generally doesn't understand a lot of mathematical concepts nor the need to study math...
Published on 22 Oct 2009 by Caspian Can Read

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so
Interesting at first but ultimately a little disappointing. The interaction between the child and the number devil gets stale and repetitive and the mathematics while beautiful is handled in an ordinary way despite the superficial bells and whistles.
Published on 22 May 1999


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm reading it to my 2 year old to help him get to sleep, but am finding it very enjoyable. A good read for mathematicians and non mathematicians alike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun book, at the same time teaching maths, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Number Devil: A Mathematical Adventure (Paperback)
Great book, fun adventures and stories, while at the same time also teaches you about maths and different theories and formulae. I'd recommend to anyone who is interested in number patterns, maths or science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best book ever, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Number Devil: A Mathematical Adventure (Paperback)
Appeals to kids who like reading, but not maths, and to those who prefer maths to reading. Loved the central characters and the mathematical topics handled. Maybe not every teacher would approve of the Glossary "translating" the devil's terms into the real mathematical ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing success, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Number Devil: A Mathematical Adventure (Paperback)
I bought this for a Grandson who likes maths but it always take second place to his electronic "toys".
He read this book in just over a week and loved it!
I could not believe that he was so taken by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Number Theory for Kids: Fun and Exciting, 4 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: The Number Devil: A Mathematical Adventure (Paperback)
Number theory is an exciting area of math that many schools do not teach, or do not teach enough, because they focus on basic math skills. And, quite often, basic can mean boring, especially for students who have mastered those basic skills.

This book (and the game with the same title) presents such concepts as Fibonacci numbers, Pascal's triangle, natural numbers, infinite series, factorials, permutations, and other fun concepts in an interactive and engaging way.

I bought this book for my son, and we both reading it and learning (or reviewing, in my case!) a lot of these concepts. The only issue I had with this book (and the game) is that the authors make up some of their own terms instead of using the terms accepted by mathematicians.

There are not too many books or games that present math as fun and exciting, and this is one of them. If you have any interest in math (or would like to develop such interest in yourself or your kids), try it! You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but..., 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Number Devil: A Mathematical Adventure (Paperback)
I liked the book, and it was very useful to use the book as teaching students fundamentals of mathematics.
However, there was some problem with the printing. There were some pages which seemed to be printed twice.
Please check the book before you send them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Number Devil, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Number Devil: A Mathematical Adventure (Paperback)
A great maths book that provides a wealth of maths puzzles and problems. I can't wait to use it in class. Speedy delivery and in mint condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Maths Made Fun, 23 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Number Devil: A Mathematical Adventure (Paperback)
A bit tricky to get into initially, but the reader enjoyed it in the end! Has some academic value, as well as entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Maths can be fun!, 17 May 2012
By 
Lance Mitchell (Hampshire, UK, Northern Hemisphere, Planet Earth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Number Devil: A Mathematical Adventure (Paperback)
This book makes maths fun, even for those little people who believe it to be a laborious trudge through treacle. In fact, that would describe Robert, the main character in this book. He has been struggling with maths for as long as he can remember. One night, he dreams that he meets a little devil, The Number Devil, who teaches him, as he sleeps, all sorts of useful tricks with numbers.

When you enjoy something, and gain immediate benefit, you obviously learn more.

My Dad made all aspects of mathematics enjoyable for me from a very early age, almost from when I could walk and talk, by relating what we were seeing in the real world to mathematics in some way. He didn't label the principles as geometry, algebra, arithmetic, and so on. He just mde it all part of my world. Consquently, I never scored less than 90% in any maths test or exam in my life. I just enjoy maths as much as living.

The same holds for Robert, and for readers of this lovely little book.

My grandson was hating maths, and couldn't see the point. When I took him through the first chapter of The Number Devil, he could suddenly, and effortlessly, multiply 11 by 11, 1111 by 1111, 1111111 by 1111111 and so on. He also learned, through self motivation inspired by his "new trick" to multiply any number you could throw at him by eleven.

This may seem a small step, but you can believe me when I tell you that it was a massive step for Alfie. Furthermore, he couldn't wait to get to school the next day to show his new skills to his class-mates and his teacher.

That wasn't all. There was much more magic to be revealed in this great little book, and I would encourage anyone to share it with their children, even if they are already very numerate. It just gives them, and you, a new spin on an ancient subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helps to inspire, 5 May 2010
My maths would have flourished earlier if I'd had this as a child. My ten-year old struggles with maths, but this got his interest up to the point where he was trying to explain aspects of the book to his teacher !

If it can make him interested, I think it can help anyone. I get a little frustrated by the goofy names- rutabagas for square roots, and so on, but it's not aimed at my age group. Next trick is to try some Martin Gardner on him.

Enzensberger covers a lot of interesting Maths concepts, and it is nice to have something that is not of English or American origin.

A very worthwhile read- and very reabable; well translated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Number Devil: A Mathematical Adventure
The Number Devil: A Mathematical Adventure by Hans Magnus Enzensberger (Paperback - 1 Sep 2008)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews