Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it
I found this book just by chance and really believe that it's a treasure.

I got it for a student of mine who hates math. He's 12 years old, just like Robert in the story, really active, more interested in any computer game than anything having to have to do with school, generally doesn't understand a lot of mathematical concepts nor the need to study math...
Published on 22 Oct 2009 by Caspian Can Read

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so
Interesting at first but ultimately a little disappointing. The interaction between the child and the number devil gets stale and repetitive and the mathematics while beautiful is handled in an ordinary way despite the superficial bells and whistles.
Published on 22 May 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it, 22 Oct 2009
I found this book just by chance and really believe that it's a treasure.

I got it for a student of mine who hates math. He's 12 years old, just like Robert in the story, really active, more interested in any computer game than anything having to have to do with school, generally doesn't understand a lot of mathematical concepts nor the need to study math.

We have begun to read the book together, chapter by chapter, each of us taking one of the parts - sometimes he's the devil and sometimes he's Robert, depending on the mood he's in. We have a lot of fun making up voices for the two characters, and he really pays attention and tries to follow the math concepts. We have a lot of fun screaming out the dialogue and bringing the scenes to life.

He's also fascinated by the illustrations which are captivating and original.

This boy, who would rather play soccer or video games than have anything to do with his studies, now asks to read the book, and is a bit more patient with his homework. I can't tell you what that means as a teacher - to have found something that works so well with a student. The original approach to basic math concepts is also a gem and he's being introduced to sophisticated math skills in a very nonchalant manner.

I strongly recommend trying the book and seeing if your child reacts well to it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for bright kids, 13 Jun 2001
By A Customer
My 8 year old loves this - she has always had a knack for seeing patterns and methods in numbers. The book has a lot of humour and some good illustrations. However, it is only likely to appeal to a child (or adult) who revels in numbers; it could be useful for teaching or illustrating one or two concepts (e.g. Fibonacci sequences) to classrooms or individual kids who might otherwise struggle to grasp the concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for those struggling with maths, 11 Jan 2007
We were recommended this book for our son, who is gifted in maths and loves number problems and puzzles. I started reading it to him as a bedtime story a year or so ago and he would volunteer to go to bed just so we could get onto the next chapter! He's just finished re-reading it for himself and it remains a favourite.

It's quirky, introduces many mathematical concepts that I struggled to understand, and appeals to his sense of humour.

If you have a mathematically gifted young child, this book should have pride of place on his or her bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maths as a story, 20 April 2006
An outstanding book for adults and children who think they hate maths. Teachers of arts subjects will find this a good way of getting into the subject. A brilliant idea, well executed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must have, 23 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Number Devil: A Mathematical Adventure (Paperback)
From year 5 and above this is an absolute golden nugett. It totally engages the young reader while improving reading AND numeracy skills. Originally recommended by a retiring head teacher this book has been under my sons pillow for the last three years as he reads and rereads it. I have recomended it to all my pupils and often bought it as a present - Last one was just today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definite hit, 7 May 2011
By 
J. Cheshire "catalunya" (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Number Devil: A Mathematical Adventure (Paperback)
My six year old who lives for maths loves this book. It has illustrations and would be great for a child who loves maths, or for a child who is less keen to get their imagination going. I think it is aimed at older children than my son, so don't let his age put you off. An older child would probably get more out of it and understand the story better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so, 22 May 1999
By A Customer
Interesting at first but ultimately a little disappointing. The interaction between the child and the number devil gets stale and repetitive and the mathematics while beautiful is handled in an ordinary way despite the superficial bells and whistles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 10 July 2001
By A Customer
This is an excellent book full of ideas and interesting ways to think about maths that children, teachers and parents will all enjoy and learn from. I did! In fact it rewakened an old interest in number theories, and pure maths. Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm reading it to my 2 year old to help him get to sleep, but am finding it very enjoyable. A good read for mathematicians and non mathematicians alike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun book, at the same time teaching maths, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Number Devil: A Mathematical Adventure (Paperback)
Great book, fun adventures and stories, while at the same time also teaches you about maths and different theories and formulae. I'd recommend to anyone who is interested in number patterns, maths or science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Number Devil: A Mathematical Adventure
The Number Devil: A Mathematical Adventure by Hans Magnus Enzensberger (Paperback - 1 Sep 2008)
7.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews