Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars98
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 July 2015
I did not expect to read this book - i expected a book about mountaineering. I got far more than just that; a tour de force into how Europeans have viewed mountains, the desolate and the unknown. Totally recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2015
A gripping piece of writing with intellectual bite
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
great book, great read. Arrived it promptly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2008
Mountains of the mind is a beautifully written thought provoking book.

Robert Macfarlanes writting flowed effortlessly throughout, highlighting key moments in the history of mountains and mountaineering.

A superb read! well done Robert!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
Very lovely for mountain geeks like me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
lovely book informative great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2015
Extremes of beauty and fear. Incomprehensible mind-set of pain-seeking thrill-loving frost-bitten cold-blinded ice-climbers. Arm-chair ride over layers and folds of geological space-time. Fleeting encounter with a snow-white hare. What a read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2015
His writing is good as always
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
A fascinating analysis of the motivation that drives humans to pursue the high places of the world, knowing that death accompanies every step.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
Very good, so was price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)