Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars154
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2013
yes i got it for a gift but had to read it after a glance inside, poetic descriptions and transporting in its imagination
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
A good read. Though maybe not as good as some of his other books. He does write well, and has some interesting insights.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2012
This guy is brilliant. Wish i could write as well as this. In depth a really interesting. Has anecdotes well worth keeping in mind. Read this along with his other book and look out for a book to be published shortly.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
fascinating book. All sorts of information about the countryside and a good follow on from The Old Ways. thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
I really love this book and would and have recommended it to friends and family, beautifully written warm and funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
A Robert Macfarlane book, new to me and well up to his usual standard of intriguing and interesting writing style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2009
This is a beautifully written, lyrical book, it has to be said. Great phrasing and descriptions and with an almost mystical feel. But I was disappointed having seen some many citations of the book in The Guardian and other press. I was hoping for a more easily accessible, dip-into-able travelogue.

A scene-setting introduction is notably absent [who is this guy, where's he going and why?] as are pics. Even the chapter headings don't provide signposts, just consisting of one word eg Forest, Moor, Valley. A tad self-indulgent.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2007
I have been listening to this book on Radio 4, where it has been featured as their Book of the Week, and have been spellbound by the author's descriptions of nature in the British Isles. The writing is poetical, bringing to mind the lyrical writings of Laurie Lee. As the words flowed I found I could qite easily become absorbed in the scenes being described, as though sitting alongside the author. I am now going to buy the book on Amazon, and look forward to mentally revisiting many of the magical places among its pages. That is why I rate this book as a five star read.
patrickwise@waitrose.com
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2009
this is one of the most delightful books i have read: and his creative use of language a joy to read. one of those books that you wish wouldn't end!
full of images, experiences and interest.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2015
A well written journey, I will be buying others by this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.