Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
This is the first work by Hitchens I have read, but far from the first on the subject. The book is well laid out and the first chapter, his analysis in the differences between Churchill and Lady Dianas funerals is fantastic, it almost makes you ashamed to live in modern Britain and to not have stood up and said something at the time!
Possibly slightly in need of...
Published on 14 Sep 2010 by Mr. B. M. Fisher

versus
8 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worthy, but dull.
I was rather disappointed with this book from Peter Hitchens; who is normally such an erudite and interesting author. This book was written in 1999 and I think it has dated badly; even though some of his core arguments are still sound. I found Hitchens' statement "I'd rather leave a child, with a glass of neat gin; than let it sit in front of a TV unaccompanied" to be...
Published on 21 Jun 2009 by Mr. Np Chambers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. B. M. Fisher "Ben" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Abolition of Britain: From Winston Churchill to Princess Diana (Paperback)
This is the first work by Hitchens I have read, but far from the first on the subject. The book is well laid out and the first chapter, his analysis in the differences between Churchill and Lady Dianas funerals is fantastic, it almost makes you ashamed to live in modern Britain and to not have stood up and said something at the time!
Possibly slightly in need of updating, despite being the new version, hence the four stars; but then how often can you realistically update a book on a society that is experiencing such a rapidly accelerating downward spiral?
It demonstrates well why the things that people generally dismiss as small, irrelevant and picky are so crucially important to the overall degradation of our society and way of life. A recommended read, to be taken heed of before we end up as a state of Europe without a say in our matters and viewed by the world as a corrupt banana republic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great perspective for the modern day, 14 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abolition of Britain: From Winston Churchill to Princess Diana (Paperback)
For someone who is young like me (20s) this is a great book to get as it offers a completely different perspective on the last 50 years than the one which you'd be accustomed to (as pushed by the BBC & teachers etc). The shocking thing about message in this book is just how eerily true it all seems and just how sanctimonious and arrogant our ruling classes have been in their complete confidence in experimenting with my generation.

I recommend reading it to see just how.

A jeremiad indeed; powerful and depressing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Standby to emigate!, 28 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hitchens is always a good, if controversial read. His opinions are well founded and often well researched. This book tells you why UK society has been broken, why it might never recover and who did it. The devastation that has been waged while the UK has slept is truly shattering. I dont always agree with Hitchens and his opinions, but here he is dealing with hard edged fact. Fact that will enrage you and by the end of book will make you wonder what you have to do to change the social re engineering that the UK has suffered at the hands of the do gooders who have not always fully understood the ramifications of their handiwork. Hitchens covers everything from the Church of England to Law. Hitchens will admit that this book is out of date by 10 years as Blair was just coming to power as he closes the book. We all know what Blair has done to England since then. The vacuum created allows a much worse enemy to creep into our society. For American readers this book is s dire warning of what they must fight in their own society. Time to emigrate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An inforamtive read., 17 Nov 2012
By 
A. R. Jacubs (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abolition of Britain: From Winston Churchill to Princess Diana (Paperback)
Peter Hitchens has vast experience of the world especially it would seem the UK. Whilst I disagree with some of his views the overall picture he paints of Britain and how life has degenerated in nearly all aspects - especially education - is to my mind fairly accurate. I lived through World War 2 and the 1950's were to me exciting years. This is one area in which I disagree with Peter. I went to a grammar school, did National Service and then spent 30 years in the Civil Service. For ten years I worked in London and enjoyed myself (these were the 60's) immensely. However I have always looked on this period as the beginning of Britain's decline. I was disgusted with the false "mourning" after Diana's death, tragic though it was. How so many people totally unconnected with this gallivanting woman cried and placed flowers at Kensington Palace clearly shows how the media can whip up and determine public opinion whenever it wishes. I have always felt that Winston Churchill's funeral which displayed genuine public feelings towards the man who had helped save us all represented the end of the nearest we were to democracy. Peter covers the political methods employed by successive governments to reduce us to our present status which has caused other countries to write us off as having any influence in the world anymore. It is a dreadful but mostly accurate account of this country's descent into mediocrity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint of heart, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abolition of Britain: From Winston Churchill to Princess Diana (Paperback)
I have admired Hitchens for a long time, mainly through his blog and weekly column for 'The Daily Mail'. He is one of the very few authentically conservative social and political commentators writing in Britain today, having long since set his face against the prevaling liberal-fascist orthodoxy which thinks that it can legislate and spend its way to a utopia in which there will be the abolition of human suffering. Perhaps this is why the author wrote in 2008 of the enormous difficulty he had experienced in getting it published and into bookshops.

This book makes for interesting but chastening reading as its author charts the profound social, economic and political decline of a once great people over the space of a single generation. It is to be considered essential reading for those of a conservative outlook because it reveals just how far to the left the traditional political parties have drifted, to the point where is de facto no conservative party left. No where is this more evident, in my view, than in the field of education in which successive Conservative governments failed to redress the Labour 'reforms' of the Seventies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very concise, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abolition of Britain: From Winston Churchill to Princess Diana (Paperback)
Hitchens is a favourite commentator of mine, in that he is unafraid to speak out against the Political correct madness in the UK. His analysis of how Britain has declined over the last 5 decades is an honest and truthful reflection. I salute him for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for anyone interested in British History, 17 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love him or hate him Peter Hitchens hits the nail on the head.

A disturbing history of how the political class has systematically dismantled a nation.
Career politicians, for short term, selfish gains ignore the hard working silent tax paying majority.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the state of britain, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. M. Macrae (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Abolition of Britain: From Winston Churchill to Princess Diana (Paperback)
This book is excellent, and recognizable by anyone over 50. though now somewhat dated ,
The criteria used in the book to describe Britain's downfall are not likely to be those that the 'modern' generations would recognize, though, as so many foreigners have broken into the country, The conduct of these intruders reveal Britsh-ness in even sharper relief. It would be interesting if the author brought this book right up to date, with how the authorities go further as they embrace and 'celebrate' multicultural "honor killings' brown-on-brown race hate, forced marriages, child marriages, child-sex, underage marriage, murder, multiple wives, enforced female genital cutting, female incarceration, marginalizing of women and their treatment as chattels, the growing number of slaves. What would the author also say about the censorship on such matters?, and how the police are expected to be 'sensitive' to the criminals 'culture' ? The accusation of 'racist' being worse than 'murderer' An enormous number of people have got in, who do not have the British standards of decency, so that when they achieve positions of power, they have no compunction of using them for their own ends, -then get angry when they are found out -more accusations of racism. . -yet the liberals tell us they are 'just like us'. Establishment people adopt the foreign perfidy as a model for their own conduct : Banking scandals, scams and hucksterism. On and on it goes. Older people do not recognize their own country, the abolition Peter Hitchens wrote about , is complete. No wonder half a million people each year, move aboard. The population is being gradually replaced by those who embrace the liberal fascism, they need it needing to prevent their prosecution or deportation.

The author prefaced the 2nd edition with a description of how hard it was to get a publisher. I think that, if he tried to include any kind of additions that accurately described the current state of Britain,(see above) the establishment liberal fascism would make publication impossible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, amazing analyses into the decline of Britain, 19 July 2010
By 
Mr. T. Murphy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Abolition of Britain: From Winston Churchill to Princess Diana (Paperback)
This book is simply a must read for everyone. I couldn't leave this book down until I finished it. Do yourself and the country a favour and buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strangely compelling, 20 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abolition of Britain: From Winston Churchill to Princess Diana (Paperback)
I'm in two minds about this book. On one hand I don't agree with a lot of Hitchen's traditionalism, but then on the other I can see his point about a lot of what has happened culturally over the last 50-60 years in the UK.

I feel a lot of the cultural changes that have occurred over this period are double edged swords. For example, the `60s ethos of "liberation" and individual self expression has had a lot of positive benefits for most of us especially women, gays, ethnic minorities; it has given us much more variety and choice as individuals. But for some, with less self control or ability to deal with choice, it's been a disaster, drug abuse, family breakdown, crime etc etc.

As this quick review has shown, I'm mixed about this book. I certainly don't want the UK to go back to the 1950s, with its overt class distinctions and prejudices, but on the other hand there are some values that we need to reassert, such as hard work, self control, respect. And admit that we are not all equal in ability or aspirations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Abolition of Britain: From Winston Churchill to Princess Diana
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews