Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great amount of detail
This book is one of the chunkiest textbooks I have ever seen but the content is extremely helpful. the detail is perfect for those who are looking to achieve a high grade.

Compared to other text books, like Giliker and Beckwith, the amount of detail and the explanation of law was extremely useful. Giliker gave a more basic understanding of law and that is why i...
Published on 1 Feb 2011 by Miss S A

versus
12 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too cumbersome
This is the typical cumbersome, doorstopper, text book that although is authorative, but sadly is inpeneratable due to the style and the weight of information relayed. This book is fine as a reference book for those with two or three years legal experience, but is definitely not recommended for those coming new to law. Instead, I would recommend the Oxford Textbook on...
Published on 12 Oct 2004 by Recoil


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great amount of detail, 1 Feb 2011
By 
Miss S A (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winfield and Jolowicz on Tort (Paperback)
This book is one of the chunkiest textbooks I have ever seen but the content is extremely helpful. the detail is perfect for those who are looking to achieve a high grade.

Compared to other text books, like Giliker and Beckwith, the amount of detail and the explanation of law was extremely useful. Giliker gave a more basic understanding of law and that is why i decided to buy Winfield.

My only criticism is that the book is so big that it just doesn't stay open! That can be pretty annoying.... but i brought the book for its contents and not how it looks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Necessary for those serious about the subject., 14 Feb 2010
By 
A. Sweeney "NO40" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yes it is a "door stopper" as the last reviewer said but law cannot be understood from Nutshells or Nutcases - although these do have their place. The level of detail provided in this book is necessary for a thorough understanding of the subject and for those aiming at a 2.1 or 1st. The law has to be absorbed slowly and not crammed in from Easter onwards. It is on its 17th edition for a reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Law of Tort, 26 July 2013
By 
D R TWEEDIE "Derek Roy" (Belfast. Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ver intense review of the LAW of TORT. Wish a kindle version was available. Not a good read but very essential partner for all studying LAW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Please continue such a service! The quality is also very good.
Its a very effective item and important to my study.
Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does well to cover what is an incredibly vast subject area, 5 Dec 2012
This review is from: Winfield and Jolowicz on Tort (Paperback)
Winfield and Jolowicz has long been the book of choice for the majority of leading UK universities when setting their law reading lists and with this edition I imagine this will continue to be the case. Though lacking the useful case summaries that many of the competitor textbooks offer, this edition excels in providing a thorough overview of the subject which can then be built upon by a combination of reading the cases and use of a casebook. What this means is that though not a 'one stop' solution for those studying Tort, Winfield is perfect for providing an initial background which is critical for gaining a solid grasp of the subject. The temptation of the increasingly common 'cases and materials' books is obvious and definitely less time consuming, but for those serious about doing as well as possible in their studies (and for whom time is not the over-riding priority) then they can do no better than Winfield and Jolowicz even after so many editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book for law students!, 3 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winfield and Jolowicz on Tort (Paperback)
It's a great book for those studying law at undergraduate level and looking to get good grades. It goes into a lot of detail, it might be a bit difficult at times, but it's well worth the effort. I've tried other tort law textbooks but so far this one has been the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Winfield & Jolowicz is essential, 3 July 2012
By 
Mr. M. Tapakoudes (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Winfield and Jolowicz on Tort (Paperback)
Winfield & Jolowicz on Tort is an exceptional treatment of the law of torts. Not only a superb elucidation of the law, but also clear-cut and critical appraisal of law, policy and principles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 16 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winfield and Jolowicz on Tort (Paperback)
A bit big but very complete. Easy to understand and to read. Each topic is treated in an exhaustive way, with lots of references and example. I used it as a student in Tort in the University of Oxford, very useful for both essays and exams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Serious study, 9 Jan 2012
By 
Jason Miller (South Shields, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Winfield and Jolowicz on Tort (Paperback)
As previous reviewers have indicated, Law is vast and complex subject of study, particularly the Law of Tort. It therefore requires a vast textbook to explain the mammoth case law involved and the many different permutations that can occur. For serious students who are interested in the subject and keen to gain to understand the nuances involved then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A reasonably good choice, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winfield and Jolowicz on Tort (Paperback)
This book has so much coverage that one would either say it's very comprehensive and thus useful OR, a waste of time for those who need to cram for exams.
Anyway, now that John Murphy's Street on Torts is out, that'd be the better choice in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Winfield and Jolowicz on Tort
Winfield and Jolowicz on Tort by W V H Rogers (Paperback - 27 July 2010)
32.86
Usually dispatched within 7 to 12 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews