Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting penultimate volume, 28 Mar 2013
By 
Lionel Sacks "Lionel Sacks" (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As within the first two books, this really brings alive the people, the processes as well as the material of physics - and, in an exemplary way, the relations between science and religion.
I consider my self reasonably familiar with the physics and basics of the histories; and recommend these volumes strongly for anyone who wants a very readable, engaging, correct and insightful introduction... Not least of all for those who want to think about science & religion in a more considered way than as presented by the ranting, radical atheists - and u say that as an atheists!

Why penultimate?
One can only hope that Stuart will find more material for this kind if book. It's a service to science and the public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sky's Dark Labyrinth, 21 Feb 2013
By 
Marie (Blackpool, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very enjoyable trilogy of science historical fictional read. Well done Dr Clark worth the wait for the three books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the previous two, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I felt this book was a little vague compared to the previous two and actually seemed to focus more on the first world war and circumstances in Germany, rather than the science. As I would have preferred the science, it lost a star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The background to E=MC2, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with all three Stuart Clark's books In this series.
They and the others are well written in easy to understand and entertaining language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very readable, scientifically accurate, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with the previous books in the trilogy, Dr Clark has produced a very well-written account of the people and the science. I devoured this in two sittings. I teach astronomy to adults and have recommended this trilogy to my students; those who have followed up on this recommendation have reported that they have found the books to be accessible and informative. This means that I can say, with confidence, that the books are suitable for anyone with an interest in the subject matter and that it is not necessary to have prior knowledge or understanding of it.

I have to say that I did not find this third book quite as compelling as the first two. That it is still worthy of 5 stars is indicative of the excellent quality of the trilogy as a whole. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great tale of scientific discovery, 8 April 2013
By 
Dr. S. A. Mitton "Simon Mitton" (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an academic historian of science specialising in astronomy in the twentieth century, I was already familiar with the factual elements of this historical novel. Therefore I am delighted to say that the historical narrative and the well-observed details are correct, with one exception that I'll come to in a moment. The narrative is splendidly done, and the tale about the discovery of the expanding universe is nicely paced. The personal details are important in this book, where you will learn a great many facts about the personal life of Einstein and the many scientists with whom he interacting without having to labour through one of the many giant tomes of biography of Einstein.

In this account I am greatly impressed by the handling of Lemaître's science: his finding of expanding solutions of Einstein's equations, his relationship with Eddington, and above all treading the dividing line between science and religion. This latter challenge is beautifully handled by the author.

The one point on which I am doubtful, but I stand to be corrected is this. I do not think Hubble and his assistants measured redshifts at the 100-inch. Hubble used Slipher's redshifts as tabulated by Stromberg. Nor do I think Hubble did very much hands on observing -- much of that was left to the former mule driver Milton Humason -- Hubble defined, Humason was the dutiful observer, Hubble reduced the observations. But these are minor quibbles. This book is a significant contribution to popular science, and a great account of how we discovered the universe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The day without yesterday, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This 3rd and final books was as enjoyable as the previous two. The book in written in a simple but informative way helping to clarify a complex topic and making philosophy & science accessible in an entertaining way. I would recommend the trilogy to beginners wanting a better understanding of how modern day life has developed from these classic theories and the cultures that surrounded them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting trilogy, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting end to the trilogy. Perhaps a little disappointing in the lack of detail about relativity but a relaxing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Trilogy Completed., 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The trilogy of books by Stuart are well worth reading. However, I found the first half of the final book rather less entertaining than the first two. It is perhaps the subject of the events of the First World War in continental Europe and Einstein's life through it. It is much more a social history rather than scientific history, which is totally valid but perhaps not my cup of tea. The second half which deals with the resumption of scientific advancement after the war, particularly in the USA is much more to my liking. Thw whole trilogy is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars final piece: good effort, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was difficult to keep up the level of intensity of the first two of the trilogy. I would still recommend it. Good balance between science, characters and history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Day without Yesterday (Skys Dark Labyrinth Trilogy 3)
The Day without Yesterday (Skys Dark Labyrinth Trilogy 3) by Stuart Clark (Paperback - 3 April 2014)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews