Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Munro has set the bar high
A declaration of interest first of all: John Neil Munro is an old friend and colleague, so I was in any case disposed to like this book. That said, he didn't disappoint me.

Writing for "Scotland on Sunday" (Sept. 30, 2007), Munro explains that he decided to write the book after hearing conflicting reports about one of his musical heroes. The man responsible for...
Published on 28 Oct. 2007 by Albion

versus
33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reading between the lines
This isn't the definitive biography of Martyn, but it will have to do until one comes along.

I picked it up knowing that Martyn was an exceptionally gifted guitarist and songwriter, an alcoholic who consumed industrial quantities of booze and drugs, and (often as a result) an aggressive and perhaps unpleasant person to be around. And when I'd finished the book,...
Published on 16 Jun. 2009 by Bill


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reading between the lines, 16 Jun. 2009
By 
Bill (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
This isn't the definitive biography of Martyn, but it will have to do until one comes along.

I picked it up knowing that Martyn was an exceptionally gifted guitarist and songwriter, an alcoholic who consumed industrial quantities of booze and drugs, and (often as a result) an aggressive and perhaps unpleasant person to be around. And when I'd finished the book, I still didn't know much more than that.

This isn't necessarily Munro's fault; he's pretty open about saying who would (and wouldn't) be interviewed for the biography. But sometimes the lack of background personal detail is surprising. For instance, Martyn's five-year relationship with (Julianne) Daisy Flowers is dealt with in just two paragraphs (in which Flowers describes Martyn as 'unbearable', 'vicious' and 'violent'). Similarly, his marriage to Annie Furlong, which lasted nearly seven years, is again scarcely mentioned, except for a quote from Martyn in which she is summed up as 'permanently drunk' (Furlong's family maintain she only became an alcoholic after suffering years of abuse from Martyn).

And so we end up with a lopsided view of the man, in which his drunken antics on tour and on stage are the stuff of frequent and lengthy anecdotes, but the years of abuse which he meted out to his wives and partners is skated over or (sometimes) ignored altogether.

I would have liked to know more about his relationship with his children, too. Son Spenser is mentioned on page 96 (as a baby) and then again not until page 164, when he's 16 and playing with his father on stage! Presumably in the intervening years the two had some contact, and maybe Martyn was an adoring and supportive (absent) parent, but we're not told one way or the other.

Stylistically, the book is no great shakes. It's worthy but pedestrian, and rarely inspired. In fact, much of the book is taken up with long quotes from articles or interviewees, with Munro just providing the bridges. The albums are all represented, with an obligatory mention of outstanding tracks, the recording process, and some excerpts from critical reviews. All very useful if you want to make sure you're not missing anything essential from your collection, but it's only rarely that Munro conveys any unbridled enthusiam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Munro has set the bar high, 28 Oct. 2007
By 
Albion (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
A declaration of interest first of all: John Neil Munro is an old friend and colleague, so I was in any case disposed to like this book. That said, he didn't disappoint me.

Writing for "Scotland on Sunday" (Sept. 30, 2007), Munro explains that he decided to write the book after hearing conflicting reports about one of his musical heroes. The man responsible for some of the most romantic and mellow acoustic ballads, for classic albums such as "Solid Air" and "One World", apparently also had a darker side. So he set out to see "whether John Martyn was really a peace-loving good guy or was indeed something of a bampot."

The answer of course is he's a bit of both: Munro does a good of job of weaving together the twin threads of Martyn's remarkable musical career and the old rock-and-roll cliché of his self-destructive personal life. The book's great strength is that he has access to many of the key sources: not just Martyn himself but musical collaborators - and great musicians in their own right - such as Ralph McTell, Dave Pegg and the incomparable Danny Thompson.

Munro has also done his homework on key influences in Martyn's life and work, such as fellow musical prodigy and friend Nick Drake, who inspired "Solid Air". (The chapters on "lost souls" Drake and Paul Kossoff are sensitively handled.) And where he hasn't been able to interview important sources such as Beverley Martyn, thorough research ensures that her voice is heard.

Munro does a fair job sketching out Martyn's formative years in Scotland, though a few local references may escape some readers. He really gets into its stride when the young Martyn arrives in London. Munro does not pull his punches when it comes to assessing the limitations of some of Martyn's earlier work. But where the book really scores is in its detailed accounts of the making of the key albums: Solid Air, One World, Grace and Danger. As well as talking to the musicians involved, Munro puts the albums in the context of Martyn's personal life. And as well as offering his own assessments, he has taken the trouble to dig up some of the most perceptive reviews written at the time of their release.

I was interested, though perhaps not surprised, to discover that Martyn's slicker 1980s albums - when he put on a suit and went electric - are dismissed by many of the diehard fans hooked on his acoustic work. (Personally I love "Well Kept Secret" even if Martyn admits "to being so sozzled that he barely remembers anything about the recording".) But I would like to have read more about the merits or otherwise of Martyn's work from the 1990s onwards.

Martyn the man, as opposed the Martyn the musician, does not come out of the book terribly well. It is not just because of what some former friends, lovers and collaborators have to say. His own attempts to justify what has clearly on occasion been quite appalling behaviour are less than convincing. Martyn tells Munro how he doesn't suffer fools gladly. But one can't help thinking that the only reason so many people have suffered him is that hiding behind the bampot is a warmer, gentler man. And it is that gentler voice that comes through in a lot of his most beautiful work.

As Danny Thompson explains to Munro: "Someone who can write `You curl around me like a fern in the spring' - that's the man that is going to be missed, not the guy who is chucking beer all over you and poking you in the chest."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Factual and without embellishment, 4 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Some People are Crazy: The John Martyn Story (Paperback)
I liked the way the book was written - yes the author does quote from many previously published items but contrary to what others have said, I quite like this approach as it is factual and without embellishment.

I saw John Martyn live in 2000 and 2001 the last was in a small venue with him playing acoustic with Danny Thomson. It was an amazing evening - the chemistry between the two was very much obvious - as described in some detail in the book.

I enjoyed it very much and learned a quite a lot from it. The mystery of John's changing accent was solved as well. Small 'technical' matter of where John was brought up in Glasgow. Author has Tantallon road in Queens Park - I would have thought it more Shawlands, or at a push perhaps Langside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Glorious Fool, 11 April 2013
By 
Graeme Wright "book worm" (salford) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some People are Crazy: The John Martyn Story (Paperback)
Effortlessly bridging musical gaps and challenging preconceptions throughout his life John Martyn could amaze and frustrate in equal measure. From his early acoustic folk albums right through to the drum machine fuelled freestyle jazz of his more obscure works it became increasingly dangerous to pigeonhole him both as a musician and as a person. While John Neil Munro's biography is not totally comprehensive regarding Martyn's considerable output it does shed valuable light and insight on John Martyn the person. From his childhood in Glasgow to seeking fame and fortune in London through to his Irish sojourn and eventual return to Scotland Martyn's complex character, relationships and musical attachments are examined in fine detail with generous quotes from acquaintances associated with every stage of the guitarist's colourful but preciously too short life. I would have liked to have seen more detail in the appendices about Martyn's live shows and albums (recommending just one DVD of John Martyn in concert is akin to just recommending one Beatles song) but on the whole Munro has researched and written a warm and eminently readable memoir of one of Britain's most underrated songwriters of the past half century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He ain't no saint - but he was a musical genius, 8 Jan. 2015
By 
Paul Millington (Wirral, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some People are Crazy: The John Martyn Story (Paperback)
John Neil Munro has delivered an excellent biography on the life of John Martyn. I've read 'Grace & Danger' by Lee Barry, and 'Solid Air' by Chris Nickson, but this is the pick of the bunch. It's more comprehensive.
He was my musical hero, having owned all of his albums and seeing him in concert over 20 times. Certainly the sublime and emotional music contrasted with the turbulent life of the man making it, and John Neil Munro certainly does a fine job of unraveling the possible reasons for this. The book is particularly strong when covering his classic years up to 1980. Thereafter I felt that the chapters were a little too compressed, with the period around fine albums such as Sapphire, Piece by Piece & Glorious Fool given quite small amounts of print space.
The writer finds the right balance between respect for the quality of his work, and John's dysfunctional private life. The contributions of those who knew him best (with the exception of his first wife, Beverley) at all the points in his life, are quoted in significant chunks, giving the book credibility and insight. The John Martyn I see in these pages is a man who knew happiness and sadness in extreme proportions. Possibly the drink and drugs entering his early life in London thwarted his efforts to hold together marriages and develop stable relationships, and set in motion a destructive chain of events.
John Martyn may one day be revered as a true musical genius - he certainly deserves to be - but this book also offers a more complete picture of the man behind that legend. They say 'never meet your heroes' - I think I know why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He aint no saint!, 23 Aug. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This man's music has moved me for over 20 years and I was looking forward to this biography. It is a warts and all look at his career. It is well written and the author hits the nail right on the head when he concludes that the world would be a far better place if more people listened to John's music. Since reading it I have listened to loads of his old (and new) stuff again and again, and you can not fail but be moved by his majesty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too little, too late..., 5 Mar. 2010
By 
T. D. DICK "warthog373" (Moffat, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I hesitated before writing this...I would firstly like to thank John Munro for writing the biography of one of my very favourite musicians...it needed doing..

But....it is very obviously a valiant attempt by a latecomer to John's work who had to try to find the soul of a complicated man by looking through the wrong end of the telescope....interviews with the few people who opened up to him not long before the man himself died.

I know its wishful thinking but...I wish someone had got hold of John, hung about with him for a year or so...preferably in the 1970s and written a book about that...or that Beverley had written this book...or Danny Thompson...

I was left feeling unsatisfied...the collection of photos in the centre says it all...a patchwork from his early life with a big rush of photos of John as an old man at the end.

All John Martyn's fans should buy the book ...but youll need to listen to the music to get close to the man...hey, maybe thats how he would have preferred it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here he is... the man !, 28 Feb. 2013
By 
David C. Eastoe (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great and insightful biog of one of my favourite musicians of all time. I had the joy of playing support act in 76 and sharing dressing room etc, which left as strong impression. I love almost everything the guy ever recorded, although am not easily led musically. The biog offers a window of insight into recording sessions and personalities, and the overall way that JM refused to conform, )thank goodness). Dark and light are represented clearly.
I was gutted when he died, although not surprised, but this biog made me feel he was not too unhappy about what he had achieved himself, despite the various criticisms always levelled by others. That helped me to feel better about a lot of things, actually!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authoritative. A must for all JM fans, 21 Dec. 2007
By 
George Fisher (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is clear that a lot of work and thought has gone into producing this biography. It would have been easy to have produced a superficial production based on all the various anecdotes and other published works.
John Neil Munro should be congratulated on the way in which he covers the good , the bad & the ugly sides of Martyn as well of course as the beautiful and fantastic music which has captivated so many for the last 40 years. The book is well produced in hardback and a most enjoyable read.
Maybe John Neil Munro should have a go at Davy Graham as his next subject?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars However his ability to be musically comfortable with his friends and collaborators like Phil Collins, 16 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lets be clear. I am a HUGE John Martyn fan (not his real name). This book which is superbly written and narrated by someone who understands his music lists his rise from Glasgow to international star. How someone could and did live this type of life and live to reach 60 is beyond me. However his ability to be musically comfortable with his friends and collaborators like Phil Collins, Eric Clapton, et all confirms the reverance in which he is still held by his peers. A superbly written book and fantastic read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Some People are Crazy: The John Martyn Story
Some People are Crazy: The John Martyn Story by John Neil Munro (Paperback - 1 Jun. 2010)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews