Customer Reviews


5 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uncommon..., 1 Aug. 2011
By 
Lucy Ambrose (Hove, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Uncommon (Paperback)
Uncommon by Owen Hatherley is a strange little book. It reminds me of a dissertation, written very much in an analytic style by someone who clearly loves the music and lyrics of the band Pulp, but is fair and appraising of their work. It isn't a gushing fan book, it is far better than that, an intelligent account of the musical and lyrical progress of the band from their earliest days through to their last album. There is much food for thought in this slim volume, and much of interest to the average Pulp fan, but is let down by at least three mis-quotes of the lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Walk Through Pulp's Songs, 27 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncommon (Paperback)
Any Pulp fan will relish this book if only for the conversation it provides about the lyrics- where else can you get to hear your thoughts echoed back or put in good prose about the wonderful lyrics of Pulp. The introduction is excellent, explaining why/how Pulp was different from other BritPop bands, Hatherley is quite astute in pointing out that they were the only band that had believable female characters and narratives in their songs. It contains the names of various influences in music and film and so opens many other venues to explore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perceptive and Thoughtful - Just like Pulp, 4 April 2013
By 
M. Dunford (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncommon (Paperback)
As the previous reviewers point out, this is a book for fans but then again this doesn't diminish it's overall strength. In many respects it has much in common with the author's previous works - a vaguely academic tone that takes itself too seriously at times, but showcases an insatiable curiosity that goes to the less popular, more esoteric parts of Pulp's output. It reads like someone with a 1983 copy of the NME in their backpocket grumbling about the world through the prism of some rather excellent, idiosyncratic music. A book for fans of both Pulp and Hatherley, yet certainly not poorer for either. It is just a shame that I can't imagine anyone else reading it. However, I'll still be reading his next book - in paperback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uncommonly Good: To the heart of Pulp, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncommon (Paperback)
A fascinating, insightful and very different take on Pulp; looking more deeply at what Jarvis, his band and their astonishing songs really meant to a whole swathe of people and a whole lost era of pop. Addictive reading if you ever sat on a bus or wandered the streets of your city with Jarvis' simmering, lustful, tragic pop on your Walkman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncommon (Paperback)
A great item, fast delivery, thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Uncommon
Uncommon by Owen Hatherley (Paperback - 24 Jun. 2011)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews