Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars30
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
on 18 January 2004
There are books which pretend to be a reference point, and there are those which not only are, but also exceed readers' expectations. « The Reiki Sourcebook » is certainly one of the second category.
The book starts with a study of the origin of the word Reiki. Right at the beginning we then discover that no stone was left unturned. The history of Reiki is introduced with many details, including among others, a detailed diagram (p42-43) showing the links between the different lineages from the founder (Mikao Usui) up to now. A chronology is also there.
A chapter is dedicated to the original teaching of Mikao Usui. The basic precepts are introduced as well as their origin. Others subjects, like the relationship between the Reiki and the Waka poetry, or the hands positions, are also described. A section is devoted to the mantras - with an amazing chart of symbols.
There is a review of Reiki as it is practiced in Japan since the death of Mikao Usui. The contact and the transfer of his teaching to the west is also tackled. We even find some explanations on Japanese customs! Thus the reader will more easily understand in which cultural context the traditional Reiki evolves. A review of Reiki as it is practiced in the west has of course been done.
The characteristics of the different branches, Japanese and western are explored in details. A summary of each with their link to the founder, the number of levels taught and the approach taken are completed with contact details. This will most certainly be of interest for those who want to explore the Reiki at its Japanese source. Many other references are available, such as associations, newsletters and internet websites. Also, the complete translation of the memorial stone of Mikao Usui can be found.
But even more amazing, we can find a compendium of scientific studies undertaken on Reiki. Beware skepticals ! The references of the medical studies extracted from medical journals are provided.
A glossary as well as an index will delight the researchers. Similarly to an academic book, the footnotes abound across all chapters. This will ease any further study by the reader. And for the most perspicacious, the bibliography is rich of over a hundred references...
Whether you are serious about learning on Reiki, or you are just curious, this book will satisfy you. To the first ones it will provide the detailed knowledge they are seeking, and to the other ones it will provide the most appropriate ground to enter into the Reiki world - beyond the ongoing myths and prejudices which usually surround the Reiki in too many books. This one surpasses them easily, by the scale of its content as well as by the rigour in which such content is delivered. It was about time that such book be written!
I highly recommend this exceptional book which for sure will make its mark.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 9 January 2004
It seems that the authors left no stone unturned in researching this book. The book contains information from every corner of the Reiki community, and it is obvious that great care has been taken to present it in a somewhat unbiased fasion. With this in mind it is plain to see that the authors are purveyors of truth and integrity, and this clearly shows in their work.
The book is clearly set out into well defined categories. The information contained covers everything from the basic principles of Reiki energy, a detailed history of Reiki and Usui san, to many documented techniques practiced by many lineages of Reiki that exist today. It includes a lineage tree which shows the development and growth of the different Reiki schools, plus a time-line that enables the reader to follow the history of Reiki in direct comparison to the major historical events of Japan at the time. It also contains valuable contact information on many global Reiki organisations, schools, and references.
The authors humble writing style has made this book very accessible and easy to digest, and I would highly recommend it as a valuable resource to all, be it the would-be practitioner or the experienced teacher.
This book is an obvious culmination of passion, dedication, honesty, and integrity by the authors.
Congratulations Bronwen and Frans!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
on 5 February 2004
You will find EVERYTHING you would like to know about Reiki in this book, for this is the most updated and extensive work done by the enthusiastic Reiki Masters and researchers, Bronwen and Frans.
I do blieve this book will be highly appreciated and treasured by all Reiki people.
Personally I'm hoping that in the future a Japanese version of the book will be published for the Japanese readers.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on 11 November 2004
I have read many books about Reiki, many of them claiming to be groundbreaking. But the Reiki Sourcebook is the best yet.
The authors have delved into the 'true' history and made contact with Reiki people from Japan and across the world.
It gives an overall unbiased view of various schools of Reiki.
I just cannot recommend this book enough!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 20 October 2004
This book literally contains it all. Whatever question arises regarding the practice of reiki this book answers it in clear, concise English. In my opinion, one of the best available books on reiki.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on 10 January 2004
What a great book about reiki, its methodologies, history and different variations! It really is a refreshing read!
On and off over the last 15 years I have been doing a number of different activities in the area of energy work, including qui gong, tai chi and reiki. The one thing that would occasionally rub me the wrong way is claims to the ultimate and/ or final truth about any of these or other approaches. Bronwyn and Frans Stiene do not make any such claim but adopt a modest role to start the gargantuan task of mapping how reiki has developed since its origins. The book is really helpful to understand some of the conflicting stories you sometimes hear or read from different reiki practitioners. Different opinions are treated with respect rather than righteousness, reflecting an honest curiosity of the authors rather than cloaked preaching.
The book is the result of thorough primary research of any written material as well as notoriously unreliable sources, i.e. generations of word-of-mouth. No doubt that there will be some ambiguities left in the book, but at this point there is no reiki source that will provide you a more comprehensive and accurate picture. If you only buy one reiki book this year, get this one!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 22 January 2004
This book presents a very interesting history of Reiki, including a comprehensive list of the many Reiki variants. It also serves as a useful reference guide for Reiki Practioners. It is written to appeal to those who are new to Reiki as well as those who have been practising for years. I recommend it to anyone who wants a good overall view of Reiki.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
on 6 November 2005
I'm the sort of person who is reluctant to buy a book unless I know that I'm going to get my moneys worth! I've often looked at books on Reiki and despite initial impressions, I've come to the conclusion that there's nothing in them that I didn't know already, and nothing about them that was inspiring. The RS however was totally different! It really is the most comprehensive book on Reiki to date, and even if you've been practsing for many years, the detailed timeline and historical information would def. be of interest! It's suitable for everyone- total beginners and students of all levels- especially teachers who are looking for some material to add to their teaching, or even as a recommended book for their students.
I can say with utmost integrity and confidence- you will enjoy reading this book over and over!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 29 July 2012
Quite good for a reference book although there are some wrong information in it. For somebody that is familiar with Reiki (2nd level and on), it is very useful for it puts few things in the right place. However, it might be confusing for someone that is not a Reiki practitioner. On top of that, it treats Master Takata as if she is the source of huge propaganda and does not mention the fact that in order for Reiki to reach the West, various appropriations had to happen. (also the fact that the authors have included themselves in the lineage chart is not very flattering!) On the other hand, good job! Very well written; plain language; easy flow; nice appendix!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on 24 January 2005
I had been having real difficulty in finding a book that would be relevant to me throughout my development in Reiki training. Then
along came this book - a real inspiration!
The authors have explained so many processes and their meanings in Reiki, from attunement, to precepts, to hand positions. They have also explained the varied pratices and their historical development in an open way leaving the reader to take from it what feels right for them.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Inner Heart of Reiki: Rediscovering Your True Self
The Inner Heart of Reiki: Rediscovering Your True Self by Frans Stiene (Paperback - 30 Oct. 2015)

The Japanese Art of Reiki: A Practical Guide to Self-healing
The Japanese Art of Reiki: A Practical Guide to Self-healing by Bronwen Stiene (Paperback - 21 April 2005)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
Need a serious energy boost? Enjoy a rejuvenating Reiki session