Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4/5, Pros vs Cons
Pros:
- Clear presentation and layout,
- Concise and straight to the point,
- Covers a lot of the specification and basics,
- Good for the evening before an exam,
- Good pricing,
- Removes unnessecary information which is given to you in the textbook.

Cons:
- Lacks some detail on key biology principles,
- Little or no...
Published on 14 July 2011 by L. Warren

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little too concise for my liking
After finding the a2 biology textbook for edexcel was far too wordy in some places, i thought that a more concise alternative was needed to compliment the textbook.
I do realise that the whole point of it is just a basic outline of things that you should know, but little bits of detail that are necessary in order to acquire the best marks in the exam have been missed...
Published on 14 Dec. 2009 by Mr. E. Green


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little too concise for my liking, 14 Dec. 2009
By 
Mr. E. Green "GreenGiant" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edexcel A2 Biology Revision Guide (EDEXCEL A LEVEL SCIENCES) (Paperback)
After finding the a2 biology textbook for edexcel was far too wordy in some places, i thought that a more concise alternative was needed to compliment the textbook.
I do realise that the whole point of it is just a basic outline of things that you should know, but little bits of detail that are necessary in order to acquire the best marks in the exam have been missed out.

On the plus side, the practise questions are great and the check lists are very helpful.

I would have preferred a book which had a little more depth, this guide is only 104 pages long!

All in all get it but don't expect wonders
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4/5, Pros vs Cons, 14 July 2011
By 
L. Warren (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edexcel A2 Biology Revision Guide (EDEXCEL A LEVEL SCIENCES) (Paperback)
Pros:
- Clear presentation and layout,
- Concise and straight to the point,
- Covers a lot of the specification and basics,
- Good for the evening before an exam,
- Good pricing,
- Removes unnessecary information which is given to you in the textbook.

Cons:
- Lacks some detail on key biology principles,
- Little or no explanations of core practicals,
- Topic 7 is worryingly short,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every Word Counts, 18 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel A2 Biology Revision Guide (EDEXCEL A LEVEL SCIENCES) (Paperback)
This book was a life-saver when it came to revising for my unit 5 exam.
I haven't got the greatest attention span and so revising can sometimes be hard and frustrating. This is where this great book comes in!
Every word on every page is useful, unlike the textbook which has lots and lots of pointless knowledge, which can sometimes be hard to wade through to find key principles.
So this book is great at teaching you the key principles and exactly what they are looking for when asking questions about each topic (this is great because in biology exams sometimes it can be hard to know exactly what they are asking for).

The only thing it is lacking is some smaller details of the biological principles, the more in-depth points of some of the topics (but not anything central or key).

Still made me feel ready for the exam and got me through the exam spectacularly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 9 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel A2 Biology Revision Guide (EDEXCEL A LEVEL SCIENCES) (Paperback)
Brilliant accompliment to go with the work book for this exam board. It is simply and easy to read and use with key points and examiner comments which is always useful :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars If you study using this book you'll definitely fail., 4 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel A2 Biology Revision Guide (EDEXCEL A LEVEL SCIENCES) (Paperback)
I think this book gives an inaccurate picture of what you should actually learn in A levels, it's terribly brief and even if you know all the information in the book, you will never have gotten even a C. Reading this books wasted my precious revision time and also fools me into thinking that this brief information is all I need to get As in the exams. Do not buy this book! If you need a summary/guide to revise you'll be better off with just downloading the free specification and base your revision on it using another textbook (The Salters is okay in my opinion). A2 level Bio involves long explanation questions and this book will not prepare you for it at all. If you need something brief to cram you should just go on some free websites like biology mad or downloading other people's notes from studentroom. DO NOT BUY this book it's really not worth your money at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 2 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel A2 Biology Revision Guide (EDEXCEL A LEVEL SCIENCES) (Paperback)
I bought this guide the other week and upon reading through it, am a little dissapointed by its contents. Although it does clear up some loose ends and bits i was'nt too sure about, the guide is very much lacking real depth which surprised me. Having already purchased the AS guide, i was expecting better...

If you want something to touch up certain areas, buy it. If you're looking for a step-by-step run through of VITAL parts of the course, i would suggest reading through the main textbook (Orange) for the course, or even purchasing the Edexcel A2 Biology textbook (Green)which is very detailed and infinitely more helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel A2 Biology Revision Guide (EDEXCEL A LEVEL SCIENCES) (Paperback)
Essential for studying A2 biology!

Especially unit 6 coursework, the pages at the back of this book give you step by step help with the coursework it really helped me a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fairly Good Revision Guide, 29 Sept. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel A2 Biology Revision Guide (EDEXCEL A LEVEL SCIENCES) (Paperback)
I found that this revision guide was easy to use. The font is easily read and the diagrams are very useful when explaining how certain things work. The pages are colourful, but not too abstract which provides easy reading and less distraction.

There are practice exam questions at the end of each unit, which is great for trying out what you have revised.

My one complaint is that the paragraphs do sometimes get a bit wordy, and perhaps bullet points would be more useful in some cases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor guide, 11 April 2011
This review is from: Edexcel A2 Biology Revision Guide (EDEXCEL A LEVEL SCIENCES) (Paperback)
Overall, pretty poor. It has the basics, but it often explains them in confusing ways. Sometimes it makes statements that aren't easy to understand, but doesn't give them thorough explanation. Furthermore, it's got a few noticeable typos and grammatical errors! Seems as though it was a bit rushed out, at least to me.

On the positive side, it has plenty of questions and bits and bobs gleaned from past papers. But I don't think it's anything you couldn't find on the internet for free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not enough detail..., 7 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Edexcel A2 Biology Revision Guide (EDEXCEL A LEVEL SCIENCES) (Paperback)
This book is good because it explains some concepts in a good level of detail.
HOWEVER: IT DOES NOT EXPLAIN ALL THE CONCEPTS ON THE SYLLABUS! it only explains the major bits and leaves out quite a bit. The book is veryyyy thin.
I'd say its a good reference book for centain topics (e.g. the calvin cycle) but it should be used in conjuction with other books to get top marks. Also the book contains a small section on how to complete your coursework, which was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Edexcel A2 Biology Revision Guide (EDEXCEL A LEVEL SCIENCES)
Edexcel A2 Biology Revision Guide (EDEXCEL A LEVEL SCIENCES) by Mr Ed Lees (Paperback - 13 Aug. 2009)
£8.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews