Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Civil Rights
This book is excellently written. It's full of interesting material and links to the pop culture of the period that other books of this type lack. The activities are really engaging too. The final section is all about the 1960s culture and counter culture and in this sense it fills a massive gap in the market as other A Level text books just don't cover this. The same is...
Published on 13 Nov 2009 by The Doctor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A level Equality in the USA
If you happen to be taking this course in your A level then this book might just be what brings you up a grade.
Published 2 months ago by Michael


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Civil Rights, 13 Nov 2009
This review is from: Edexcel AS History, Unit 1: Pursuing Life and Liberty: Equality in the USA, 1945-1968 (Paperback)
This book is excellently written. It's full of interesting material and links to the pop culture of the period that other books of this type lack. The activities are really engaging too. The final section is all about the 1960s culture and counter culture and in this sense it fills a massive gap in the market as other A Level text books just don't cover this. The same is true of the last chapters on the rights of Native Americans and Hispanic Americans. Students of all abilities get a lot out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is good, but buy in combination with the "access to history" one!, 28 May 2010
By 
Yackolas (Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Edexcel AS History, Unit 1: Pursuing Life and Liberty: Equality in the USA, 1945-1968 (Paperback)
Firstly, if you doing Civil Rights on the Edexcel exam board at AS level then you should consider buying this book. It's very useful because it's not loaded with detail unlike some other topic guides, as the format is nice and easy to break down and put into note form.

However, I would also strongly recommend buying the book "Civil Rights in the USA 1945-68 (Access to History) (Paperback)" as it contains and covers more things with more depth, it also is easy to break down with diagrams useful for revision on every other page. The "Study Guides" at the end of each chapter in the book are example questions that might come up in the exam (there example questions for OCR, AQA and Edexcel exam boards. Ive literally just come out of my history exam and this book was INCREDIBLY helpful in combination with the book I'm supposed to be reviewing! It can also be used as a cross-reference with it too.

So my recommendation is that you buy this book in combination with Civil Rights in the USA 1945-68 (Access to History)
and your knowledge will be as sound as a pound!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for use in the classroom, 28 Sep 2009
By 
N. Burnett "school teacher" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edexcel AS History, Unit 1: Pursuing Life and Liberty: Equality in the USA, 1945-1968 (Paperback)
I have used this book to help teach civil rights to my year 12 class. Its more interesting than its predecessor as its full of relevant evidence material and engaging pictures. The activities are helpful for students and the exam zone material will be useful for full preparation. The only downside is the lack of colour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A level Equality in the USA, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS History, Unit 1: Pursuing Life and Liberty: Equality in the USA, 1945-1968 (Paperback)
If you happen to be taking this course in your A level then this book might just be what brings you up a grade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A* here I come, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS History, Unit 1: Pursuing Life and Liberty: Equality in the USA, 1945-1968 (Paperback)
This book is just what I need to help me with my A-level with will detaliled pragraphs, pictures, an timeline to help me with my dates along with exam practise and advice I feel as if I am on my way to an A*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Edexcel GCE history, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS History, Unit 1: Pursuing Life and Liberty: Equality in the USA, 1945-1968 (Paperback)
This was great, just what is needed and recommended by schools. Really helps with getting through the exams,would really recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for revision, 21 April 2012
By 
A. Poulman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS History, Unit 1: Pursuing Life and Liberty: Equality in the USA, 1945-1968 (Paperback)
Bought this for my son to help him revise the topic. It seems to be useful, although it is not really a revision guide, but was recommended by his teachers. Let's hope it brings the results he needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Edexcel AS History, Unit 1: Pursuing Life and Liberty: Equality in the USA, 1945-1968
12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews