Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars19
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2013
To the point and only revealing a little of her personality. This biography of Angela Merkel is perhaps a little like the person herself. Although it describes her early years in the DDR, the book reaches Merkel's confirmation as Chancellor of Germany perhaps a little too soon, and I'd have liked to read a little more about Merkel herself. That said, Stefan Kornelius paints a picture of a strategist who I have little doubt would make a better Prime Minister than either our present incumbent, or his potential successors. And I think he offers plenty of insight into what makes the non-political politician in a success in these days when the terms 'left' and 'right' mean so little as most political parties continue to lean towards a centrist position. An enjoyable read which is informative without becoming too heavy
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
When this book was released in English, it was much heralded in the British media as giving particular insight into Europe’s most powerful politician. On the cover there are recommendations from German reviews ‘most interesting’ Die Zeit, ‘Thrillingly written’ Neue Zurcher Zeitung; ‘meticulous’ Die Welt. I agree with the last, but not the first two, maybe something got lost in translation
As Germany is the largest economy in Europe, its leaders actions and opinions are very important. It is also a fact that Germany takes almost no part in difficult international diplomacy – it abstained on Libya, its position on Ukraine seemed equivocal. There is also the Oz suspicion about the German economy, powerful as it is, it may be less financially powerful than we think. The combined debts of Italy and Spain might be too great to be offset by German backing (even if it was forthcoming).
So all in all, a book that explained what Angela Merkel’s views on economics, Gemanys’ financial and political place in the world, would be very interesting.

With this book I didn’t get more than you might know or guess already. She’s no big fan of Putin, but doesn’t want to rock the boat with Russia. She will do only what is required to save the Euro, no grand sweeping gestures, each country must rescue itself, and only when the whole system is threatened will she consider some compromise. Each diplomatic action must be considered by itself, not part of a grand strategy – the vote to abstain on the Libyan action is now considered an embarrassment. So, piecemeal stuff. On a personal level, same deal, she if reserved, cautious, restrained. She can speak Russian, loves the US west coast, is very supportive of Israel (one thing I didn’t know) and could retire mid-way through her current term, if she feels the Euro is stable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Did find it informative and have recommend it for German political studies. However it is not critical enough, the author is probably too close to her.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
Not nearly as dry (dare I say as boring?) as I had feared it might be. As it turns out this, the official biography of Germany's first female Chancellor, was actually an interesting and illuminating read though I personally would have preferred to read a little more about Angela Merkel the woman as opposed to Angela Merkal the politician.

A well written, and what I felt was a fairly unbiased read that, not too heavy going, combines the story of Merkel's life as a child and student to what is described as her 'meteoric ascent to the senior ranks in German politics' to her time as Chancellor with a look as to what might follow post-chancellorship.

Copyright: Tracy Terry @ Pen and Paper.
Disclaimer: Read and reviewed on behalf of publishers, Alma Books, I was merely asked for my honest opinion, no financial compensation was asked for nor given.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
This seems to be rather informative but there is always something that you either do not like or cannot find in such a book. This could well be useful to a student of politics but only to a limited level. It is, however; perfectly suitable to the average "man/woman in the street".
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
If we in Europe all live now in a greater-German economic empire-it is important that we in the UK should know more about the ruler of that empire.This little book ,translated into English for the first time , will give you an excellent summary of the life of our new ruler and the influences which shaped her.The book is particularly good on the importance of Mrs. Merkel growing up in the old East.The new chapter added for the English translation on Mrs. Merkels relatioship with British governments is also good.The author is clearly a Merkel supporter but his account is reasonably unbiased.Highly recommende!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
Half way through and it is okay but I have admired Merkel and was intrigued how she emerged from East Germany, but the telling is a bit stilted. Lacks the colour and feel of biographers such as Aitken.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
Whilst you don't learn that much about Angela Merkel the person, Angela the politician is brought to life extremely well giving a good insight into her domestic and international political life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2015
Based on facts, that one could probably find out if a little time was spent searching the internet. Missing a personal touch, but then again Ms. Merkel is very private.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
I guess for me it helped improve my knowledge of the euro zone and Merkel's strategies within it. It is certainly a worthwhile book to read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.13
£12.08

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)