Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spice Of Life
What a delightful book! Richard C. Morais' tale
spans two continents and three generations of a
family of foodmakers from the poor streets of West
Bombay (seen through the eyes of Hassan Haji, a boy
with the finest gatronomic and culinary sensibilities)
who, following the sectarian murder of "Mummy" Haji,
translocates briefly to Southall as a...
Published on 21 July 2010 by The Wolf

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starts off okay goes downhill I am afraid
I was very excited about this book to start with. It was a book club choice and we were all planning on bringing food to the book club as it was making us hungry. The problem is the book just turns at bit strange just as you are getting into it. I had to put it down as there were a few bits that I thought were not in keeping with the book. Then after that I lost...
Published on 29 Nov 2011 by Jazzy Art


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spice Of Life, 21 July 2010
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What a delightful book! Richard C. Morais' tale
spans two continents and three generations of a
family of foodmakers from the poor streets of West
Bombay (seen through the eyes of Hassan Haji, a boy
with the finest gatronomic and culinary sensibilities)
who, following the sectarian murder of "Mummy" Haji,
translocates briefly to Southall as a stepping stone to
their final resting place in a small town in the Jura
mountains of eastern France.

The story is both funny, moving and uplifting in equal
measure. Mr Morais breathes life into all his characters.
Even the small parts are beautifully drawn. His sense of
place is also admirably acute. The description of Lumiere's
market and its fickle traders is particularly enjoyable.

At the heart of the story we find a conflict between two
worlds vividly concentrated in the relationship between
Madame Mallory, Michelin-starred chef-proprietress of
Le Saule Pleureur, a local shrine to haute-cuisine and
the Hajis' mission to bring the delights of Indian cuisine
and culture to Lumiere in the gloriously unrestrained form
of their own restaurant, 'Maison Mumbai'.

The battle culminates in tragedy but moves on through
reconciliation, forgiveness and eventual redemption.
A bright future beckons and Hassan is a worthy hero throughout.

'The Hundred Foot Journey' will be loved by food and book
lovers of all persuasions. The sights and smells Mr Morais
conjures into being had me salivating on more than one occasion!

A cracking read!

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 26 Aug 2010
By 
Cath B - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I really enjoyed this book. It tells the story of Hassan - a boy from Mumbai, who discovers he has the equivalent of perfect pitch when it comes to food and cooking. The story documents his early, happy years in Mumbai, where his family run a restaurant business and the tragedies and adventures that lead him and his family through London, Lumiere and Paris on his journey to become a Michelin starred chef. The author clearly knows his food and what ensues is a touching story about triumph in adversity and about family, ambition and friendship.

A really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starts off okay goes downhill I am afraid, 29 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Hundred-Foot Journey (Paperback)
I was very excited about this book to start with. It was a book club choice and we were all planning on bringing food to the book club as it was making us hungry. The problem is the book just turns at bit strange just as you are getting into it. I had to put it down as there were a few bits that I thought were not in keeping with the book. Then after that I lost interest. It is a shame as it could have been a good book had it stuck to its roots. Not sure I would waste my time reading this. I didn't finish it but those that did were not impressed either. Sorry readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, 19 Jun 2011
By 
Lincs Reader (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hundred-Foot Journey (Paperback)
My passions in life are books and food, so foodie-lit is a great favourite of mine. I'm pleased to say that Richard C Morais' novel is a joy to read, a story to savour and lose yourself in.

The Haji family of Mumbai are a large, boisterous clan who come from a line of restauranteurs - back in the 1930s their grandparents started their business by delivering tiffin boxes (or lunchboxes here in the UK) to the office workers of Mumbai. Their business grew until they became well-respected members of the culinary scene.

The story revolves around Hassan - the gifted and talented chef of the family, but his extended family, especially his father are all wonderfully portrayed. Larger than life characters with an authentic voice and some laugh out loud funny antics. When Hassan's mother is tragically killed, his father decides that he will pack up his family and move to Europe. And so begins their hectic journey, first to London and then to a small village in France. It is in the village of Lumiere that Hassan fulfils his potential. When the highly respected Michelin starred chef Madame Mallory first realises that this rag-tag Indian family intend to open a restaurant opposite her own, she is mortified, and the battles between her and Papa are fierce - yet so funny at the same time. Eventually though, after some painful times, Madame Mallory realises that Hassan has the potential to be a world-class chef and so she sets him on his journey to his own Michelin star.

This really is a wonderful read - it will appeal to fans of Joanne Harris' 'Chocolat' and Anthony Capella's 'The Food of Love'. With vivid descriptions, not just of the delicious food, but of the characters too and a charming story, the reader is captured and transported into the world of haute-cuisine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE HUNDRED FOOT JOURNEY, 1 April 2011
By 
Klaus A. Irrgang (Manchester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
MORE INTERESTING THAN " MASTER CHEF " !

LOVELY STORY ABOUT ONE CHEF'S JOURNEY AROUND THE WORLD
OF FOOD.

EXPLAINED WITH GENUINE LOVE AND PASSION.

KLAUS IRRGANG
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a enjoyable read, 12 Sep 2010
By 
B. L. Johnson (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
To start, I'd like to say that I really enjoyed this book. The author painted very vivid images of India and rural France, and the characters were for the most part very well portrayed. The first half was fabulous. It did fall short in the second half, as the main character was not developed enough. Everything happened a little fast, with not enough understanding of how or why situations unfolded as they did - either the book should have been longer or shorter, I can't decide. But overall, I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Veritable Banquet Of A Book, 17 Aug 2010
By 
Graeme Wright "book worm" (salford) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Whatever you do it is advisable not to start reading Richard C Morais' hugely enjoyable debut novel on an empty stomach. To call it the ultimate in foodie literature does it an injustice even though food and the pleasure to be gained from preparing and eating it is a common theme throughout its two hundred and seventy plus pages. Morais succeeds in setting just the right stage for his characters to develop on - whether it be a restaurant on the border between the Hindus and the Muslims in Mumbai, a Shang-ri-las town in the Jura or the top eateries of Paris the Haji family and in particular Hassan, the story's narrator and central character become a larger than life advertisement for everything that is good and wholesome about Indian cuisine.
Morais has researched fairly exhaustively and his efforts are enough to make the reader actively salivate as he describes the multitude of meals that are cooked and consumed by the Haji's, their rival restaurants and their companions. This is definitely a book which activates most of the senses and leaves the reader hungry for more. My main gripe with this kind of fiction is that it doesn't quite cross that border into practical guidance - a few relatively easy recipes scattered throughout would have whetted the appetite a little and given the narrative a big shift above the sea of food inspired fiction which seems to keep more than one popular author permanently afloat these days. This, however is a minor criticism and Morais' understanding and, indeed, empathy with his subject matter makes this one of the warmest, light hearted and thoroughly enjoyable books I have read this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT - 6 STARS, 11 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. William Oxley "oxenblocks" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book was really fun to read, well written, and original.

I usually read action thrillers like Lee Child, but I was drawn to the interesting story of an Indian family that moves to Europe to re-establish their family restaurant. I suppose watching Master Chef has stimulated a small amount of knowledge in how difficult it is to cook top quality food, and watching Gordon Ramsey has shown how hard it can be at times to run a restaurant.

The story follows the trials and tribulations of Hassan Haji from childhood to adult chef. There are a large amount of vibrant and colourful characters that litter his life from his larger-than-life father to his surprising mentor.

Buy this now. Enjoy the read. You will not be disappointed as all the other 5 star reviews are testament to that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eat before Reading or forget the diet!, 11 Aug 2010
By 
Lovely Treez (Belfast, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
It has been a while since my taste buds have been tempted by a good foodie story but the starvation diet is officially over with the consumption of this delicious read.

Hassan Haji, the second of a a family of six from Mumbai, knows from an early age that his destiny lies in the realm of food. In this simultaneously comic and poignant tale, we trace Hasssan's culinary development from the tiffin business established by his grandparents, their roadside restaurant for servicemen to the present day prestige of the world of haute cuisine and much sought after Michelin stars.

After a winding trek across Europe in a caravan of 3 old Mercedes cars, the Hajis eventually settle in the isolated French village of Lumiere. It's a case of Bollywood versus Cordon Bleu as Hasssan's father competes with Madame Mallory, an acclaimed French chef whose refined restaurant is situated opposite their ever so slightly more lurid establishment.

This is a delightful tale peopled with a medley of vivid characters, from Hassan's larger than life, outspoken father who contrasts sharply with the polished, elegant Madame Mallory, defender of classic haute cuisine. You can hear, smell and taste the ambiance of the Indian and French kitchens - it's probably advisable to eat before reading! It's fascinating to read about French cuisine's own internal rival factions -

"Chef Verdun was a master of that lard-heavy school of French cuisine that was just starting, at that time, to fall from favour, overtaken by the molecular cooking established by the fast-rising Chef Matiffe down in Aix-en-Provence."

As Hassan scales the echelons of French Haute Cuisine, battling the inherent racism and snobbery en route, he also has to figure out a way to steer his enterprise through the impending recession and tax hikes which are decimating so many successful French restaurants. Thus, the author manages to creates a story which draws on both olde worlde charm and the harsh reality of modern economics. I would be surprised if we didn't soon see this story being adapted for the movie screen (perhaps with "odorama"??) - highly recommended for all foodies who enjoy good storytelling and multi-cultural settings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It seems a lot more than a hundred feet............, 5 Aug 2010
By 
T. Walker (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the story of Hassan Haji, a boy from Mumbai. It traces his journey from there, after his mother's death, through Britain and into France. Hassan's place in the world is to cook, and he has a rare talent for it. This is a great book. I know very little about the fine detail of cooking, but it doesn't matter. The book is well written and the characters are finely drawn. The book involves the reader wonderfully. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hundred-Foot Journey
The Hundred-Foot Journey by Richard C. Morais (Paperback - 16 May 2011)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews