Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dream of life fulfilled
This book was given as a gift as a gift for a young teenager who loved its theme and the lovely design of the book. Upon reading it, I found the theme of the circle of life enormously touching and inspiring. The language is direct but is deceptive in its simplicity. This is a book which deserves a very wide audience in that it is at once a love story and a story of...
Published on 25 Jun. 2011 by D. Howells

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The pictures make the book
A strange story, with sinster undertones and a poets use of words "bees prayed for honey" "the query of an owl", making me wonder who this book is aimed at. It's too wordy and disturbing for a very young child and yet it has a picture book feel. The pictures however make it. Detailed, cutouts which interpret the story, but because they're in a book they are "flat" and the...
Published on 6 April 2012 by Book chatter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dream of life fulfilled, 25 Jun. 2011
By 
D. Howells "pontylass" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Gift (Hardcover)
This book was given as a gift as a gift for a young teenager who loved its theme and the lovely design of the book. Upon reading it, I found the theme of the circle of life enormously touching and inspiring. The language is direct but is deceptive in its simplicity. This is a book which deserves a very wide audience in that it is at once a love story and a story of faith in the future. This is not a book to be limited to a specific age group; it has universal appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The pictures make the book, 6 April 2012
This review is from: The Gift (Hardcover)
A strange story, with sinster undertones and a poets use of words "bees prayed for honey" "the query of an owl", making me wonder who this book is aimed at. It's too wordy and disturbing for a very young child and yet it has a picture book feel. The pictures however make it. Detailed, cutouts which interpret the story, but because they're in a book they are "flat" and the medium doesn't therefore do them justice. Rightly the book has been nominated for the 2012 Greenaway medal. Carol Ann would be better sticking to poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, 10 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift (Hardcover)
This is an exquisite book with beautiful pictures and carefully crafted text. It brought tears to my eyes. It's one of those books that stays with you long after you've read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gift., 16 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift (Hardcover)
A Beautiful publication. It is so suitably titled. I am amaized that it appears to be only available from book sellers in the USA.It will be a collectors item if not republished. C.A.Duffy and R. Ryan, the illustrator deserve awards for this book.
Wasn't C.A.Duffy the poet lauriate? Why doesn't a UK publisher or distributor adopt this publication and give it the publicity it warrants
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Gift - Carol Ann Duffy, 9 Mar. 2011
This review is from: The Gift (Hardcover)
Very nice book about the cycle of life. Not as long (I read it in about 10 minutes) or insightful as I thought it would be, but all the same I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and delightful., 22 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Gift (Hardcover)
I bought this for my daughter-in-law, and she was delighted by it. I can see why - quite apart from the poetry, the artwork is exquisitely imaginative and detailed. Something to savour on many levels, a joy for children and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful magic prose, 18 Nov. 2011
This review is from: The Gift (Hardcover)
My husband bought this for me as a gift, knowing how much I love Rob Ryan's illustrations. My greatest joy, however was reading this magical story and feeling the tears in my eyes as I read it. The next day I took it into school, to read to my class (Year 4) and they were all spellbound, many of them guessing the twist at the end. It has since been passed around school, and I've become an avid Carol Ann Duffy fan, with or without Rob Ryan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book, 18 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift (Hardcover)
I bought this as a present for a friend, and she loves it. The illustrations are just beautiful and the book makes a great gift for someone you care about. One to keep and pass on to your children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Circle of Life, 12 Mar. 2013
By 
C. Colley (Lincs) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Gift (Hardcover)
The Gift is a unique and beautiful book and suitable for all ages. The simple sentence structure means that it is accessible to younger readers, although I think a child would benefit by sharing and reading this book with an adult, in order for them to understand it. The story follows a young girl's journey through life and reveals what things in her life brought her happiness. It's a deep and meaningful story and explores the themes birth and death as well as focusing on the importance of love and family. The lovely descriptions of woodlands, nature and flowers, along with the stunning illustrations by Rob Ryan, gives the story a dream-like quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the gift, 16 Dec. 2011
This review is from: The Gift (Hardcover)
Thought the illustration was wonderful, as the story enfolded I was expecting a very different ending, it was quite a surprise, i didn't think it fitting giving it to certain people, friends who are very ill etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gift
The Gift by Carol Ann Duffy (Hardcover - 1 Oct. 2010)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews