Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Singular Adventures of Mr Sherlock Holmes
This is an excellent collection of new Sherlock Holmes tales. Alan Stockwell has nailed the style and period superbly and his theatrical knowledge is used to great effect - especially on 'The Bride of the Moon' which features Maskelyne the magician and 'The Oppressed Tragedian' with Sir Henry Irving no less.
The stories are imaginative and well constructed and will...
Published on 30 Jan. 2004 by Keith Simmons

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Inspired by the reviews of others, I bought this book, and felt sadly let down by it. I have read other Holmes pastiches before - the finest were those produced by Adrian Conan-Doyle, a relative of Arthur. The stories in this books feature less well drawn characters, and was it really true that Holmes would have encountered ("20 years earlier") amateur photography and a...
Published on 16 Sept. 2007 by Hoyus

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Singular Adventures of Mr Sherlock Holmes, 30 Jan. 2004
This is an excellent collection of new Sherlock Holmes tales. Alan Stockwell has nailed the style and period superbly and his theatrical knowledge is used to great effect - especially on 'The Bride of the Moon' which features Maskelyne the magician and 'The Oppressed Tragedian' with Sir Henry Irving no less.
The stories are imaginative and well constructed and will not dissapoint Sherlock Holmes fans, lovers of all types of detective stories or those new to the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Collection of Holmesian Pastiches, 16 Jan. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Singular Adventures of Mr Sherlock Holmes (Paperback)
After a long time a perfect collection of amazing cases of Sherlock Holmes again.

The plots of these pastiches are consistent with the famous Detective. And stories look like being from the pen of John H Watson himself. Mr Stockwell proves to be his worthy successor knowing the original Holmesian Canon as well as life and institutions of Victorian England. I spent wonderful Christmas time when reading this singular book.

Ales Kolodrubec, president of the Czech Society of Sherlock Holmes,

Prague, Bohemia, Czech Republic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serendipity, 27 July 2005
What a lovely collection of stories - written in a lovely style and easy to read whether you are a Holmes fan or not. Could the author be a re-incarnation? "The Absent Professor" is excellent as is "The Abandoned Bicycle" - but the whole book is a joy and now has pride of place in my study. I hope this author will put together some more stories soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stockwell's Sherlock..Just Brillient!, 3 Feb. 2007
This review is from: The Singular Adventures of Mr Sherlock Holmes (Paperback)
I bought this book a couple of years ago and thought the stories very strong. This new edition is twice as good as there are three additional new stories and an arresting new cover to go with it. What I particularly like about it is that the stories are ingenious yet by no means far-fetched and you could easily believe they had been written by Conan Doyle himself. The three new stories are probably the best in the book - it's hard to decide with so many good ones to pick from - which indicates that the author has by no means run out of steam. I eagerly await Stockwell's future writings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Singularly excellent!, 12 Nov. 2005
By 
Mr. M. M. Ralph (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are fifteen excellent stories here, most of them very inventive and several with really ingenious plots. There may be one or two infelicities of language but I think the author captures the Arthur Conan Doyle style very well. Even the great man was responsible for using “disillusionize” in one of the canon stories! I bought the book because “Sherlock” magazine recommended it saying it was one of the best collections of Holmes pastiches for some time. I heartily agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 16 Sept. 2007
By 
Hoyus (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Singular Adventures of Mr Sherlock Holmes (Paperback)
Inspired by the reviews of others, I bought this book, and felt sadly let down by it. I have read other Holmes pastiches before - the finest were those produced by Adrian Conan-Doyle, a relative of Arthur. The stories in this books feature less well drawn characters, and was it really true that Holmes would have encountered ("20 years earlier") amateur photography and a rural telephone service? And what chance Mycroft leaving the confines of his club? Not great stories either - sorry, Mr Stockwell - my summation is tries hard, could do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Holmes Pastiches, 16 Dec. 2006
By 
R. Biddle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Singular Adventures of Mr Sherlock Holmes (Paperback)
So many Sherlock Holmes pastiches verge on the ridiculous - Holmes meeting Dracula, going back in time, into space and so on - that it is very refreshing to find this collection of adventures firmly anchored in Holmes' own time and place. It is planned as an extension to the Canon and written in an authentic fashion as narrated by Watson. The blurbs on the cover quote critics calling it one of the best collections of pastiches in recent times. I beg to differ - it is THE best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on Holmes pastiche, 13 Dec. 2006
By 
This review is from: The Singular Adventures of Mr Sherlock Holmes (Paperback)
This collection of original stories will appeal to any Holmes devotee. Highly recommended - I look forward to further releases from this author, who succeeds in accurately capturing the style of Doyle. 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Sherlock Holmes stories, 22 Aug. 2013
I can appreciate why this work received several favorable reviews in Sherlockian circles such as the Newsletter of the Sherlock Holmes Society of London. This current work is a revised and expanded edition of the first edition that was published in 2003. It contains an additional 3 stories, making a total of 17. While some of these short stories are better than others, the plots are original and imaginative and they are all enjoyable to read, including the last story where some can justifiably claim that Holmes and Watson may not have acted totally true to character.

Here are brief notes on some of the stories so you can get a general idea of the book contents.

THE ADVENTURE OF THE INTERMITTENT JIGSAW PUZZLE - Victoria Dysart has been receiving 1 piece of a jigsaw puzzle per week at her door. She is terrified because the pieces appear to be forming a picture of her tombstone. She has no idea why this is happening or who might be behind this, so she asks Holmes for help.

THE SINGULAR ADVENTURE OF THE ABANDONED BICYCLE - There have been several burglaries of homes belonging to the aristocracy, and Holmes is called in when an abandoned bicycle is found in the snow in front of the latest house to be robbed. Part of the mystery is that footprints in the snow lead to the abandoned bike, but there are no prints walking away from it, as if the thief vanished into thin air on the spot.

THE SINGULAR ADVENTURE OF THE ABSENT PROFESSOR - Professor Burling has been missing for several weeks. His wife consults Holmes because she thinks she is being watched and followed by two men. A body is found in the Thames and the police allege that it is the professor, but Holmes immediately realizes that this cannot be so.

THE SINGULAR ADVENTURE OF THE BRIDE OF THE MOON - This story centers around the famous Egyptian Hall theatre in London. THE BRIDE OF THE MOON is the name of the play that was running when lead performer Emily Donkin mysteriously vanishes a few minutes before the end of the show. The cast and crew are entirely baffled as to how this could have happened and why, so theatre owner John Maskelyne asks Holmes to take the case and try to find Emily.

THE SINGULAR ADVENTURE OF THE ECCENTRIC GENTLEMAN - A cabbie approaches Holmes with a strange story. He had a passenger wearing a yellow top hat who disappeared into his house to get his umbrella and he never returned, leaving a suitcase in the cab. When the cabbie called at the house he was told that the man did not live there. He brings the suitcase to Holmes, and upon opening it they see that it contains bricks and newspapers. Soon there are other reports of strange behavior that may be related to this same individual, and Holmes suspects that a sinister plot is behind all of these events.

THE SINGULAR ADVENTURE OF THE FLAT-TOP DESK - Inspector Baynes summons Holmes to Astley Grange to investigate the murder of Jack Mills, a retired teacher who has been shot in the back at his desk while his wife was away for the weekend. Strangely, his wife Florence does not seem overly upset at her husband's death. This story has a surprising resolution.

THE SINGULAR ADVENTURE OF THE RAMBLING DETECTIVE - Holmes and Watson are on holiday in Norfolk. Someone is mysteriously digging up the village cricket pitch at night, and an elderly woman is brutally murdered nearby. Holmes uncovers the links between these events and a crime committed twenty years earlier.

This book was later followed by another excellent collection of short stories titled THE SINGULAR EXPLOITS OF MR SHERLOCK HOLMES. I highly recommend this also, and if you are interested you can see my review here:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/review/RQK3E3IJ0UMXB/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm

I enjoyed both books and actually read them several times over the years. Hopefully they will soon be available as ebooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Set of Holmes Pastiches, 25 Mar. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Singular Adventures of Mr Sherlock Holmes (Paperback)
In this very enjoyable book Alan Stockwell has provided us with a sparkling collection of pastiche Holmes Adventures, well worthy to be considered in the lineage of the tales penned by Dr. Watson. The stories, which I read with enthusiasm, not only extend our Baker Street experience in a way that once taken up is difficult to put down again, but solve at least one famously unresolved mystery - what really happened to James Phillimore?

These very ingenious and carefully crafted plots, with the unsuspected twists and consequences expected of the genre, hold the reader's attention until the final page. Their construction and the layout of the ongoing action is absolutely in the mould so familiar to devoted Holmesians. We meet an exciting new range of well-drawn, colourful characters, and we can revel again in that indefinable ambience, that elusive Victorian atmosphere which properly surrounded the activities of the Master sleuth. As with Doyle, the more serious nature of the narrative is leavened from time to time with sprightly, impish shafts of homour.

In short, I can only echo the Master's words, spoken about another volume; Holmes, for all his brilliance, suffered the grave disadvantage of not being able to read this one: "Let me recommend this book ...remarkable..."

(Auberon Redfearn, of the Sherlock Holmes Society of London.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Singular Adventures of Mr Sherlock Holmes
The Singular Adventures of Mr Sherlock Holmes by Alan, Stockwell (Paperback - 14 Nov. 2006)
Used & New from: £9.41
Add to wishlist See buying options
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Mammoth Book of New Sherlock Holmes Adventures (Mammoth Books)
The Mammoth Book of New Sherlock Holmes Adventures (Mammoth Books) by Michael Ashley (Paperback - 25 Sept. 1997)
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8)   

The Singular Exploits of Mr Sherlock Holmes
The Singular Exploits of Mr Sherlock Holmes by Alan Stockwell (Paperback - 27 Sept. 2012)
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3)   
Buy new£7.95
In stock

Sherlock Holmes - The Spirit Box
Sherlock Holmes - The Spirit Box by George Mann (Paperback - 22 Aug. 2014)
3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8)   
Buy new£7.99
In stock