Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great laugh from start to finish
This books sums up one of the universal truths about the British soldier and that is that he can find the humour in any circumstance.

When anyone who has served in the British Army is asked the question, "What do you miss about the forces?" the answer would surprise most civilians. It won't be about a particular rifle they fired or course they passed. It...
Published on 10 Mar 2010 by Eddy Nugent

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The book was in great condition. The content wasn't so good and there's ...
The book was in great condition. The content wasn't so good and there's not very much of it. However, a few of the stories are cracking.
Published 3 months ago by Peter Coulson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great laugh from start to finish, 10 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Pull Up a Sandbag: A Celebration of Squaddie Humour (Paperback)
This books sums up one of the universal truths about the British soldier and that is that he can find the humour in any circumstance.

When anyone who has served in the British Army is asked the question, "What do you miss about the forces?" the answer would surprise most civilians. It won't be about a particular rifle they fired or course they passed. It probably won't even be about the medals they earned or skills they learned. I and most ex-soldiers miss the laugh we used to have as carefree young men, when all that we had to worry about was how much beer money we had on the 10th of the month (and the IRA trying to blow up your car).

The anecdotes in Pull Up a Sandbag encapsulate that experience perfectly. There are some brilliant stories to be found in these pages. If you've ever sat on a train and looked at that Squaddie sat on his rucksack in between the buffet car and the toilet and wondered what makes him tick, look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best laugh you can have in the bog!, 28 May 2009
This review is from: Pull Up a Sandbag: A Celebration of Squaddie Humour (Paperback)
For those who have got out and for those thinking of joining up, This is a must read! my wife is confused with all the laughing coming from the smallest room in the house!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute must have!, 10 Jan 2010
By 
L. Howman-farmer (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pull Up a Sandbag: A Celebration of Squaddie Humour (Paperback)
Hilarious! Brilliant! Bought it as a gift for my boyfriend who's in the military, he had his nose in it every chance he got; now everyone's been trying to get their hands on it. Each time he put it down a colleague picked it up! Whether you're in the military or not this is an absolute must have...be silly not to buy it!

Thanks Jonathon Smiles! Cannot wait for the sequel!! Great work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put this book down!, 11 May 2010
By 
Mr. Jake R. N. Waddington (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pull Up a Sandbag: A Celebration of Squaddie Humour (Paperback)
This book has to be one of the funniest I've ever read! This book has funny stories from every corner of the world where the Brits have been deployed, and ranges from short one paragraph long pranks, to full on 5-6 page long running jokes! If you want a guaranteed laugh for a couple of days, then buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Primer to Squaddie Humour, 22 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Pull Up a Sandbag: A Celebration of Squaddie Humour (Paperback)
As promised, the book arrived before Christmas. Twas a nice treat.

The book shares a taste of how the members of our Armed Forces pokes fun at each other and various other things. I really lol'd at the bit where an officer cadet tells his OC c u next tuesday on his face in a well executed way. I imagine both of them ended up grinning at each other.

Suffice to say, I really enjoyed the book and would buy the sequel to it.

Thanks for a great fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant reading- excellent squaddie humour- just buying my 2nd copy, 5 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Pull Up a Sandbag: A Celebration of Squaddie Humour (Paperback)
Bought this just before Christmas and now ordering a second copy for a mate.
Well done to our brave lads for everything they are doing and keeping up their morale and sense of humour too.
Congrats to the authors too. keep up the great work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made me laugh out loud, 31 Dec 2009
This review is from: Pull Up a Sandbag: A Celebration of Squaddie Humour (Paperback)
I thought I had a good time in the mob and got up to some antics but reading about some of the tales in here made me look like a complete amateur. Some of them just made me laugh so much I had to leave the book for 10 minutes before I could start reading again.

It would make a great birthday present for an ex-forces relative or friend. You could even read it yourself but might need some translation for the forces lingo.Pull Up a Sandbag: A Celebration of Squaddie Humour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny!, 2 Jan 2010
This review is from: Pull Up a Sandbag: A Celebration of Squaddie Humour (Paperback)
Some of the stories in this book had me laughing so much i was literally crying, even when i went back to re-read the bits i had missed through crying, it had the same effect!
Definately worth a read, and contributes towards a good cause too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A glimpse into a world that civvies can only dream of and fear!, 30 Dec 2009
By 
Demac (Milton Keynes, Purgatory, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pull Up a Sandbag: A Celebration of Squaddie Humour (Paperback)
An excellent book I think, a collection of some of the funniest tales ever to be told over a small glass of sweet sherry or decaffeinated coffee
The compilers of this tome have taken some of the most legendary stories concerning the Armed Forces and put them all together in one place. Well written and laugh out loud funny it will bring back memories for anyone who has served, will be a bit of research for anyone thinking of serving and would give a bit of insight to anyone who has ever just thought that all squaddies are mindless yes sir no sir morons. After a few chapters of this you may start to understand the humour of our humble fighting men and women. After finishing the book you may be worried that you understand the humour all too well and find yourself laughing at the most innapropriate times.
Happy reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come one, come all!, 12 Nov 2009
By 
M. R. Quinn "Matthew" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pull Up a Sandbag: A Celebration of Squaddie Humour (Paperback)
Anyone even remotely attached to the armed forces will love this book, it's full of typical forces humour. I left the army 15 years ago and actually recognise some of the capers penned here, which made me laugh out loud. Interestingly though, as well as somewhat unexpectedly, my wife loved it too. I was the first forces person she ever met and she loved the book - she claims she now understands me better..... (Could this be a bad thing???)
Whether you are current, ex or future armed forces, this is for you. If you have never been near the forces, give it a bash as well, you cannot help but giggle all the way through, if nothing else, it spreads the word that our military is a great bunch of people with a brilliant sense of humour who are worth supporting - show it by buying this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pull Up a Sandbag: A Celebration of Squaddie Humour
Pull Up a Sandbag: A Celebration of Squaddie Humour by Jonathan Smiles (Paperback - 1 April 2009)
£9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews