Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A scouse odyssey and a half!
Being both an avid Liverpool and general football fan, yet far from an avid reader it takes a lot to get and keep my interest in a book!

But this Scouse Odyssey captured my heart and mind from the outset. For anyone who has followed their club through the ups and downs, had hopes and dreams of titles and cups shattered, this book tells the story of what will...
Published on 24 Aug 2011 by Coops

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars GREAT NIGHT
Good read felt like I was really there with my dad.
thank you very much bring back such a good nite of footy
Published 3 months ago by R. H. Hil


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A scouse odyssey and a half!, 24 Aug 2011
Being both an avid Liverpool and general football fan, yet far from an avid reader it takes a lot to get and keep my interest in a book!

But this Scouse Odyssey captured my heart and mind from the outset. For anyone who has followed their club through the ups and downs, had hopes and dreams of titles and cups shattered, this book tells the story of what will possibly be the greatest footballing example of how, when any chance of victory seems to have gone, with a belief and togetherness, there is always hope.

Anyone who has followed their team 'on the road' be it to domestic or European game, will be able to relate to the comical tales of travelling to away games. The way the book is written can make you laugh out loud one minute, and evoke memories of your own experiences the next.

Not only does this book tell the story of that incredible night, it also tells the tale of the unique unity football brings to people who share a passion it what in my eyes will always be 'the beautiful game.'

Any football fan could relate to this book and the emotions it stirs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Liverpool fans, 3 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite not being a Liverpool fan I bought this book anyway. What I found was a very well written piece of work that caputures what it is like to not only to have a relationship with your football team but also comments effectively on the father/son relationship.
The book takes you on a very interesting journey and it should appeal to a wide audience outside of simply Liverpool fans. That said it's a must for all kopites and could well be seen as their 'Fever Pitch'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic couldn't put it down, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
well written thank you for sharing your journey to the final with your dad I have laughed and cried with you all the emotions of that night resurfaced again reading your words it's been emotional and now I'm off to watch the game again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars GREAT NIGHT, 5 May 2014
By 
R. H. Hil "sansa fan" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read felt like I was really there with my dad.
thank you very much bring back such a good nite of footy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book!, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A cracking wee read for all you liverpool fans out there! Takes u back to Istanbul on that glorious night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars from an evertonian, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
although im a blue i enjoyed it from start to finish, im from near the author so could relate to most of the items
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Istanbul but no Bull!, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A genuine guy telling a genuine story,no phaph no glory just honest words! Thank you! Glad being a red! YNWA!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From Liverpool to Istanbul, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book, had me hooked from start to finish.
Recommended to any Liverpool fan that couldn't get to the final in 2005!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FROM LIVERPOOL TO ISTANBUL, 10 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The most tumoultous night in the histoy of Liverpool football club is brought into focus of what it meant to an ordinary fan and his Dad.It describes with much feeling and humour the troubles and trevails of the journey up to and including the game itself.For anyone who is a Liverpool fan or more to the point someone who isn't it gives an incite into the humour and emotions of some of the characters and incidents of that never be forgotten night.A most enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle for Kopites (and armchair Reds), 13 Feb 2012
I downloaded this to my kindle as a holiday read and started it on the plane, i simply couldn't put it down and had to finish it before I hit the beach. It brought back all the emotions and memories of that Amazing night in 2005, the ups and downs of that night seemed to be magnified 10 times by the passionate writing, if the author hadn't revealed a the start that this was his first book I would never have known. After watching the game on TV I made my wife and kids come with me on a pilgrimage to Anfield to see the Trophy, after reading this book I think another visit is now long overdue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews