Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy times, 28 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Memories of the Lancashire Cotton Mills (Memories) (Paperback)
I was presented with this book for my recent birthday & as an old Blackburn girl & weaver have been enthralled by it. It is a wonderful read that covers the history of the cotton industry through the ages & evokes many happy memories for me. Like Pat Whiteley I worked at Ewood Mill for a time & recognised the picture of the " Nursery" for the trainee weavers. Thank you Ron Freethey for the pleasure of reading your book. from Maureen Woodward( nee Reucassel)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 29 Oct 2010
This review is from: Memories of the Lancashire Cotton Mills (Memories) (Paperback)
This is a brilliant history of the mills, providing the reader with a very evocative picture of what it was like to work in such places, under such conditions, as well as giving us a broader sense of how life was in that era. Well done indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 1 July 2009
This review is from: Memories of the Lancashire Cotton Mills (Memories) (Paperback)
If you want to know what it was like working in the Lancashire cotton mills, read this book. It's a mix of historical reflection and the voices of the weavers and spinners. A good read and very very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New data, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memories of the Lancashire Cotton Mills (Memories) (Paperback)
After reading this booklet, I felt better informed through the eyes of the workers. While the volume cannot provide the odours nor the definite sounds of a mill, the reminiscence memories supply the personal aspects of commonality within the ranks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories!, 1 Jan 2012
This review is from: Memories of the Lancashire Cotton Mills (Memories) (Paperback)
I bought this book for a relative who had worked in a textile museum and she was delighted with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read like living in the past where cotton miil were an every day thing, 2 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memories of the Lancashire Cotton Mills (Memories) (Paperback)
great read. good service and well written This book is ideal for any one who knew anyone who worked in the Lancashire cotton mills as my good friend did for many years.It was loke listening to all her tales of the happenings when every one was one big happy family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lancashire memories, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memories of the Lancashire Cotton Mills (Memories) (Paperback)
My origins are from Lancashire and I recall the cotton mills from my youth. This book is an excellent reminder from those days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Memories of the Lancashire Cotton Mills (Memories)
Memories of the Lancashire Cotton Mills (Memories) by Ron Freethy (Paperback - 9 Oct 2008)
Used & New from: 57.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews