Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Both this, and other architectural books from Countryside Books are excellent. I am an interior design student and found this book indispensable when studying the Georgian era (I also used 'British Architectural Styles' by Trevor Yorke - which I would also recommend highly). The illustrations are very good, and the text to the point and readable - although this is a...
Published on 10 Nov 2009 by S. Swanton

versus
13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I wanted
I thought this was going to go into detailed room layouts (like blue prints) of actual Georgian houses.
It did go into room layout, but I didn't like how they did it in a two dimensional drawings which I found
confusing and irritating. It wasn't what I wanted and I was disapointed. I wish Amazon would offer the ability to look into the first ten or twenty pages...
Published on 27 April 2010 by Cari Hislop


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Nov 2009
By 
S. Swanton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Georgian & Regency Houses Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
Both this, and other architectural books from Countryside Books are excellent. I am an interior design student and found this book indispensable when studying the Georgian era (I also used 'British Architectural Styles' by Trevor Yorke - which I would also recommend highly). The illustrations are very good, and the text to the point and readable - although this is a 'simple' book, it is by no means 'simplistic', and is a perfect introduction to the subject. Small enough to put in your bag (or a large pocket!)- it is invaluable for taking out and about with you if you are interested in historical architecture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative book with simplified blueprints of Georgian and Regency Houses, 20 July 2009
This review is from: Georgian & Regency Houses Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
I particulary enjoyed reviewing the blueprints of the houses along with the explanations of the logic behind them. Beauty, simplicity and symmetry were of primary importance with comfort lagging somewhat behind. Certainly a fireplace decorated by Robert Adams beats out a Swedish or German stove for beauty any day of the week even if it does mean adding a shawl or two or three. The book is a must for any lover of Georgian or Regency houses. Who could have guessed the horror of the Victorian house with its choppy over-filled rooms was coming around the corner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great information in a compact form, 29 Feb 2012
By 
G. Robison (Vancouver, WA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Georgian & Regency Houses Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
This book has been very helpful in researching the Georgian and Regency (Late Georgian) styles of London. It contains both illustrations of how rooms would look as well as black and white photographs of real details to assist in identifying buildings. It also has a few illustrations of interior details like fireplaces, mouldings, ironworking and stairs as well as how certain aspects of the house worked mechanically. It's 128 pages including the index.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Georgian & Regency Houses Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
it is small and convenient to bring. the content describes the history and details of the georgian house. deserve to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Georgian & Regency Houses, 6 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A concise and informative guide to houses of the 18th and early 19th centuries. Written in plain English, with Numerous photographs and drawings to illustrate points mentioned in the text. Recommended to anyone who wishes to ascertain the date of a building, or who is just interested in houses of this period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clear and concise reference book, 25 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Georgian & Regency Houses Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
Faced with the choice of several reference books on Georgian architecture I picked this as you could look at it via the 'preview'button so I knew roughly what to expect. It's a handy small size so it can be tucked in a bag or large pocket if you like getting out and about looking at various buildings. There's a huge amount of photos with many done as detailed close-ups and I found it good they are all back and white so your eye is not detracted by colour. The author takes individual components such as doors, windows, roofs etc and talks in detail about them but also goes through the compositon and architectural decor of various rooms.I puchased it specifically as a reference book to decorate my Georgian style dolls house but it's a must-have for anyone generally interested in architecture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I wanted, 27 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Georgian & Regency Houses Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
I thought this was going to go into detailed room layouts (like blue prints) of actual Georgian houses.
It did go into room layout, but I didn't like how they did it in a two dimensional drawings which I found
confusing and irritating. It wasn't what I wanted and I was disapointed. I wish Amazon would offer the ability to look into the first ten or twenty pages of every book. This will end up in the pile of books that I would never have bought had I been shopping in a real bookshop. To be faire it is a comprehensive little book, it's just written more for someone renovating a small or medium sized Georgian house or replacing fixtures than someone interested in historical information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Georgian & Regency Houses Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
Interesting information - though didn't quite give me what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars architecture easily explained, 11 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Georgian & Regency Houses Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
This paperpack book is really good, if you are interested in the topic. Combined with short history of the period it is good value for money. It is not a very long book but I found it very entertaining. Georgian & Regency Houses Explained (England's Living History)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks good from a quick flick through, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Georgian & Regency Houses Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
I purchased this book along with others on Georgian style/architecture for my sister as she's just purchased a Georgian flat. Had a quick flick through and scan read, and it seems to be an interesting book on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Georgian & Regency Houses Explained (England's Living History)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews