Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative, 14 April 2009
By 
Darren Grant (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1930s House Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
Trevor Yorke clearly has a good understanding of the subject of housing design in the 1930's.

The book explains the various influences to the designs used and the social changes happening in the the 30's that prompted the new direction in house building. An interesting read for anyone interested in finding information about what features are original to a house of this period.

Seeing as how the choice of publications available on the subject is quite limited being such a specialist subject this publication is a fantastic effort, thank you Countryside books for publishing such an informative book.

The only reason I have given 4 stars instead of 5 is that the book is only 128 pages and I felt that Trevor Yorke probably has a lot more knowledge on the subject but has kept it a bit brief in places. So the only thing that would make the book better is a bit more of the same.

So in summary, this book is well worth buying if you are interested in the type of homes people lived in through the 1930's and during WW2 it provides an interesting history. Ideal for people restoring a house, trying to retain or replace original features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British house history, 29 Sep 2009
By 
B. C. Neale (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 1930s House Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
An excellent easy to read and understand description of the 1930's Uk housing stock. Why they are like they are and what was so good about their design. Their place in todays housing market and what attracts so many people to them.

A well documented book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars None better or more fun to read, 13 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1930s House Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
I cannot recommend this book series highly enough! Each volume contains a treasure trove of usefula and fascinating information about each type of architecture, and what's more, is fully illustated - not just a windbag of text. No, these books are fun! There are a wealth of diagrams, fully labelled, plus lots of photos to explain all those large and small features of a period house, much of which I hadn't noticed and very much wish I had. These books are an excellent first choice for any student of historical architecture, house renovators, and dolls house modellers, especially the latter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detailed book, 15 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1930s House Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
This book is packed full of detail to an extend it should have been a larger size. The book proved really good for my needs and if your interested in period buildings than I am sure you will like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting read, 20 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1930s House Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
I wanted to know a bit more about the house I live in, and this short book was packed with information. After skimming through it, I found myself looking at the house in a whole new light. From the shape of the porch to the curve of the bottom stair, many features of the house are explained with fascinating relation to social history. This really is a book that "explains" the house; where others just describe the characteristics of 1930s houses, this one opens your eyes to the reasons why 1930s houses were built the way they were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting AND helpful, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1930s House Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
This is one (Kindle) book I'm glad I bought. It's not very long, but has all the info you need to clarify how your 1930s house started out. Plus it has good illustrations and a social history which isn't worthy, but useful and fascinating. Take a look at your interwar house, then look at this - it will demystify those quirky 'original features' together with the ones covered up by later generations, and make you want to keep or reinstate them. I would like to get this as a paperback, too. A hugely useful reference book, which also provides a long list of other relevant books and internet links to similar subjects. Don't be without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1930s House Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
It's not to brain taxing and those give and insight to house building in the 30's. Some useful information but don't expect it to be the fountain of knowledge but a good read all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, short insight to 1930 house, 12 Aug 2013
By 
Peter Wurmsdobler (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1930s House Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
Short and concise book about a 1930ies house touching on most aspects such as style and architecture. Good in conjunction with similar books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most complete story of 1930's homes, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1930s House Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
If you love 1930's homes in the UK then this book gives you all the information you'll need with great black and white pictures and lots of cut away illustrations. I studied housing at university and this book could easily have been a great addition as a textbook on the subject. This and 'The 1930s Home' by Greg Stevenson gave me the best information I could find on 1930s housing stock with plenty of images of the homes and contents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars General interest book, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1930s House Explained (England's Living History) (Paperback)
A good book, but not much detail for the cost. I bought this to research the use of larders in kitchens; it does not go into any specifics but does give a good reference of general layouts for home in the 1930s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 1930s House Explained (England's Living History)
The 1930s House Explained (England's Living History) by Trevor Yorke (Paperback - 2 Nov 2006)
6.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews